Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Wild Urban Plants of the Northeast by Peter Del Tredici's lushly illustrated field guide to wild urban plants of the northeastern United States is the first of its kind. While it covers the area bounded by Montreal, Boston, Washington, D.C. and Detroit, it is broadly applicable to temperate urban environments across North America. The book covers 222 species that flourish without human assistance or approval. From Publisher
Call Number: QK 118.D45 2010
Plants of the Chesapeake Bay by Written by wetland scientists with decades of experience in the Bay's waterways, this guide includes detailed descriptions and beautiful photographs of the plants most commonly found in the Chesapeake Bay. Grasses, trees, wildflowers, aquatic vegetation--if it grows in the tidal or nearshore regions of the Bay, chances are it is in this book. From Publisher
Call Number: QK122.8 .M87 2012
Principles and Practice of Soil Science by Principles and Practice of Soil Science, FourthEditionprovides a current and comprehensive introduction to soilscience for students in the fields of environmental andagricultural science, ecology, soil and land management, naturalresource management and environmental engineering. Covers all aspects of soil science including soil habitat,processes in the soil environment and soil management. Emphasizes the applications of soil science to the solution ofpractical problems in soil and land management. Highlights real world examples drawn from the author?sinternational experience in the field. Includes an expanded colour section of soil profiles and otherfeatures, and greater coverage of international soilclassification Features new problem sets and questions at the end of eachchapter, designed to reinforce important principles. An answer keyis provided at the end of the text. Artwork from the book is available to instructors online atwww.blackwellpublishing.com/white
Call Number: S591.W49 2006
Healthy Soils for Sustainable Gardens by The key to growing healthy, beautiful plants is good soil. This practical all-region guide helps you understand the unique characteristics of your garden’s soil and build its natural fertility using organic and sustainable methods. Written by soil and horticulture experts from across North America, it emphasizes the importance of nurturing a diverse ecosystem of beneficial soil organisms, using recycled and renewable organic amendments and mulches, planting nutrient-enhancing cover crops and ornamentals, and selecting plants that adapt with ease to your site conditions. nbsp;
Call Number: S596.75 .H43 2009
The Greenhouse and Nursery Handbook by A goldmine of practical information for the professional or serious amateur -- Ornamental Horticulture from A to Z. Dr Francis Jozwik has personally operated a successful greenhouse and nursery business for over 30 years. This practical experience especially qualifies him to help others learn the ins and outs of horticultural crop production and marketing. Dr. Jozwik is recognised by Who's Who in the World for his accomplishments as a educator, scientist, businessman, and author.
Call Number: SB415 J68 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The Encyclopedia of Grasses for Livable Landscapes by All the true grasses, sedges, rushes, restios, and cattails that possess ornamental merit or that can contribute to ecological plantings are described, and practical matters of propagation, growth, and maintenance are also covered. More than 1000 stunning photographs show details of individual plants and hundreds of gardens and landscapes in which grasses play a prominent part..From Publisher.
Call Number: SB431.7 D366 2011
Publication Date: 2007
Practical Woody Plant Propagation for Nursery Growers by An exhaustive exposition of propagating methods, from growing from seed to cuttings, grafting, layering, and tissue culture. It is based on the actual working methods of successful propagators worldwide and presents detailed explanations and illustrations of the procedures used.
Call Number: SB 435.7 M33
Planting by "Indispensable." --The New York Times Book Review Piet Oudolf's gardens--unique combinations of long-lived perennials and woody plants that are rich in texture and sophisticated in color--are breathtaking and have deep emotional resonance. With Planting, designers and home gardeners can recreate these plant-rich, beautiful gardens that support biodiversity and nourish the human spirit. An intimate knowledge of plants is essential to the success of modern landscape design, and Planting shares Oudolf's considerable understanding of plant ecology, explaining how plants behave in different situations, what goes on underground, and which species make good neighbors. Extensive plant charts and planting plans will help you choose plants for their structure, color, and texture. A detailed directory shares details like each plant's life expectancy, the persistence of its seedheads, and its propensity to self-seed.
Call Number: SB472.45 .O92 2013 Catonsville
Publication Date: 2013
Online From CCBC Libraries
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology of Plants by This book is meticulously organized and richly illustrated, having over 1,000 full-color illustrations and 500 photographs. It is divided into five parts covering: Compartments, Cell Reproduction, Energy Flow, Metabolic and Developmental Integration, and Plant Environment and Agriculture. Adapted from Publisher
Publication Date: 2015
Pollination and Floral Ecology by Pollination and Floral Ecology is the most comprehensive single-volume reference to all aspects of pollination biology--and the first fully up-to-date resource of its kind to appear in decades. This beautifully illustrated book describes how flowers use colors, shapes, and scents to advertise themselves; how they offer pollen and nectar as rewards; and how they share complex interactions with beetles, birds, bats, bees, and other creatures. The ecology of these interactions is covered in depth, including the timing and patterning of flowering, competition among flowering plants to attract certain visitors and deter others, and the many ways plants and animals can cheat each other. Pollination and Floral Ecology pays special attention to the prevalence of specialization and generalization in animal-flower interactions, and examines how a lack of distinction between casual visitors and true pollinators can produce misleading conclusions about flower evolution and animal-flower mutualism. This one-of-a-kind reference also gives insights into the vital pollination services that animals provide to crops and native flora, and sets these issues in the context of today's global pollination crisis. Provides the most up-to-date resource on pollination and floral ecology Describes flower advertising features and rewards, foraging and learning by flower-visiting animals, behaviors of generalist and specialist pollinators--and more Examines the ecology and evolution of animal-flower interactions, from the molecular to macroevolutionary scale Features hundreds of color and black-and-white illustrations
Publication Date: 2011
Biological Science Database
Articles on biology topics.
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
Articles on environmental topics.
ProQuest Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like computers, transportation, and biology.
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.
Science Full Text Select
Articles on science topics.