Research Guides: Working Poor: Invisible in America . : Articles

Library Databases

Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.

Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.

The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.

The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.

To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases

Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:

Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425

Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720

You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.

To find articles in databases off-campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of view essays, topic overviews, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the United States.
Newpapers include: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and Baltimore Sun.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology topics including criminal justice, gender studies, racial studies, social services, and social work.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.