Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Patriarchs by Call Number: HM821 .S1537 2023
After Misogyny by Call Number: K644 .S85 2023
Equal Partners by Call Number: HQ1237 .M26 2022
Career and Family by Call Number: HD6061.2.U6 G65 2021
Invisible Women by
Winner of the 2019 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Winner of the 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this bias, in time, money, and often with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates the shocking root cause of gender inequality and research in Invisible Women​, diving into women's lives at home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more. Built on hundreds of studies in the US, the UK, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, unforgettable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
Call Number: HQ1237 .C75 2019
Online Articles
- Gender Equity Starts in the Home
Harvard Business Review, May 4, 2020
Streaming Video
- Women's Rights as Human Rights: Rights & Wrongs—Human Rights Television More than half a million women die each year from pregnancy and childbirth. Gender-based violence kills and disables as many women between the ages of 15 and 45 as cancer does. Women are twice a likely as men to be illiterate. These were some of the issues that were discussed at the Beijing Women’s Conference. This episode looks at the progress that has been made in the struggle for women’s rights, and how far there still is to go. Feminist activist Bella Abzug discusses the growing empowerment of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and the strategies that made the Beijing conference so successful. Also featured are reports on three grassroots organizers from Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, and the United States, and how women’s issues are linked globally, plus an interview with Vandana Shiva, an Indian environmentalist and women’s activist. Part of the series Rights & Wrongs: Human Rights Television. Original broadcast title: Women’s Rights and Human Rights, Show #406. (26 minutes)
Online From CCBC Libraries
A Community of Practice Approach to Improving Gender Equality in Research by Publication Date: 2023
The American Women's Almanac by
Celebrate the vital roles and vibrant experiences of women in America! The most complete and affordable single-volume reference on women's history available today, The American Women's Almanac: 500 Years of Vitality, Triumph and Excellence is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating the moving and often lost history of women in America. It is a fascinating mix of biographies, little-known or misunderstood historical facts, enlightening essays on significant legislation and movements, and numerous photographs and illustrations. Honoring and celebrating achievements from the First Nations women and the French Huguenot Women of Fort Caroline to the unprecedented number of ethnically diverse women running for modern office, it provides insights on the long-ignored influence, inspiration, and impact of women on U.S. society and culture. From the first indigenous women in North America and the dangers and hardships of the 15th, 16th, and 17th century journeys to the New World to the continual push against patriarchal political, military, corporate, and societal systems and expectations, this essential book illustrates the important events and figures surrounding the suffrage movement; literature, art, and music; business leaders and breakthroughs; political history and office holders; advances in science and medicine; and other vital topics. Learn about the Nineteenth Amendment; Title IX; the legalization of birth control in 1966; the dramatic increase in women attending colleges and universities in the United States; the limitations of 19th-century women's fashion on athletes; and so much more. The most illustrious figures, as well as less-known stars, are revealed in The American Women's Almanac, including Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Maya Angelou, Susan B. Anthony, Ruth Asawa, Clara Barton, Sara Blakely, Nellie Bly, Tarana Burke, Annie Jump Cannon, Hattie Wyatt Caraway, Carrie Chapman Catt, Bessie Coleman, Rebecca Harding Davis, Maya Deren, Amelia Earhart, Sarah Emma Edmonds, Carly Fiorina, Dian Fossey, Helen Frankenthaler, Aretha Franklin, Temple Grandin, Mia Hamm, Anna Mae Hays, Grace Hopper, Mary Harris "Mother" Jones, Barbara Jordan, Helen Keller, Julie Krone, Juliette Gordon Low, Dolley Madison, Maria Montoya Martinez, Lucretia Mott, Sara Nelson, Lynn Nottage, Sandra Day O'Connor, Pocahontas, Letty Cotton Pogrebin, E. Annie Proulx, Sally Ride, Sacagawea, Bernice Sandler, Margaret Sanger, Elizabeth Ann Seton, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Gloria Steinem, Lucy Stone, Pat Summitt, Amy Tan, Martha Washington, Randi Weingarten, Gladys West, Susan Wojcicki, Kristi Yamaguchi, and approximately 350 others. This important reference also has a helpful bibliography, an extensive index, a timeline, and 550 photos, adding to its usefulness. Commemorating and honoring the achievements, people, and essential influence of women in American history, The American Women's Almanac brings to light all there is to admire and discover about these incredible women.
Publication Date: 2020
After the Rise and Stall of American Feminism by
It is more than fifty years since Betty Friedan diagnosed malaise among suburban housewives and the National Organization of Women was founded. Across the decades, the feminist movement brought about significant progress on workplace discrimination, reproductive rights, and sexual assault. Yet, the proverbial million-dollar question remains: why is there still so much to be done? With this book, Lynn S. Chancer takes stock of the American feminist movement and engages with a new burst of feminist activism. She articulates four common causes--advancing political and economic equality, allowing intimate and sexual freedom, ending violence against women, and expanding the cultural representation of women--considering each in turn to assess what has been gained (or not). It is around these shared concerns, Chancer argues, that we can continue to build a vibrant and expansive feminist movement. After the Rise and Stall of American Feminism takes the long view of the successes and shortcomings of feminism(s). Chancer articulates a broad agenda developed through advancing intersectional concerns about class, race, and sexuality. She advocates ways to reduce the divisiveness that too frequently emphasizes points of disagreement over shared aims. And she offers a vision of individual and social life that does not separate the "personal" from the "political." Ultimately, this book is about not only redressing problems, but also reasserting a future for feminism and its enduring ability to change the world.
Publication Date: 2019
Gender Inequality by
Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook discusses the role women have played throughout human history and play in the modern day, including both advances that have been made in the fight for equality and problems remaining to be solved. Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook is divided into two parts. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background to the topic and a review of current issues and problems. The remaining chapters aid readers in continuing their own research on the topic, through an extended annotated bibliography, chronology, glossary, noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. This book covers the topic of gender inequality from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. It differs from other works in the field primarily because of the variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays on the topic, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic. Provides readers with a history of the effects of patriarchy on women, one of the longest lasting and most consequential debates in human history Summarizes the status of gender inequality in the modern world, with regard to its presence and effects in a variety of aspects of human life Supplies abundant resources for further research on the topic by readers of all ages Rounds out the author's expertise through perspective essays, giving readers a diversity of viewpoints on the topic
Publication Date: 2019
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.