The CCBC databases listed below include primary sources that may be relevant for your research. Instructions on how to find primary sources are included when applicable. Locating primary sources can be difficult, so you may need to search in many places before finding exactly what you want!
CCBC Databases
- U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search
Enter search terms.
Scroll down and click the Primary Sources box.
Click Search
- World History This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search
Enter search terms.
Scroll down and click the Primary Sources box.
Click Search
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and click on "Browse by Collection" in order to explore collections of images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world on JSTOR or copy the following link in a new browser
https://www-jstor-org.ccbcmd.idm.oclc.org/site/collection-list/ - ARTSTOR (now in JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.
After that date, use the following link
https://www-jstor-org.ccbcmd.idm.oclc.org/site/artstor/
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search in upper right.
Enter search terms and check the Primary Source box.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books on topics including literature, health and medicine, science, careers, and history to start your research. You can use an essay from a book on your topic.
Newspapers and Special Collections
- CCBC Special Collections and ArchivesCCBC primary sources in the form of objects and artifacts
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Primary source articles covering the politics, society and events of the time period 1837 - 1992.
Library Databases: Full list
For a full list of our library databases, please visit the CCBC Library Website and click on Databases. From there you can search for specific databases by subject, type or name.