On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by
Native American wars and warfare were a fact of life in North America for thousands of years. This A-to-Z volume concentrates on the conflicts that arose after the arrival of Christopher Columbus in the New World in 1492. From then until the late 1800s, the number of armed conflicts among Native American groups and between Indians and their non-Indian opponents reached significant proportions. Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare looks past the legends, misconceptions, biased reports, and myths to present an accurate and objective view of these hard-fought engagements. The book reflects the perspective of both sides, whether the opponents were from different tribes or different cultures, whether Apache or Lakota, American or Russian. More than 600 extensively cross-referenced entries detail: Wars and battles Treaties Tribes Individuals and places Weaponry Important concepts. Enhanced by 80 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations and 35 maps, Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare gives readers a richer understanding of the people, places, and conflicts that helped shape North America.
Call Number: E81 .E98 2005
Encyclopedia of Native American Artists by
Indigenous North Americans have continuously made important contributions to the field of art in the U.S. and Canada, yet have been severely under-recognized and under-represented. Native artists work in diverse media, some of which are considered art (sculpture, painting, photography), while others have been considered craft (works on cloth, basketry, ceramics).Some artists feel strongly about working from a position as a Native artist, while others prefer to produce art not connected to a particular cultural tradition.
Call Number: N6538.A4 E94 2008
50 Events That Shaped American Indian History by
This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples. * Allows readers to understand the history of Indian communities and tribal governments in the United States and to consider complex and controversial questions on how to begin improving conditions for Indian communities in the 21st century * Highlights American Indian contributions to U.S. culture, economy, and politics * Includes first-person accounts and narratives as well as excerpts from official documents, letters, and other primary sources that help bring American Indian history to life and present a more personal look into the experiences of tribes * Addresses the historical and legal misconceptions as well as stereotypes affecting American Indians that continue to persist today
Call Number: eBook E77 .A125 2017
Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about humanities topics like arts, history, language, law, literature, philosophy, and politics.
- U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States.
Baltimore American Indian Center
CCBC's Land Acknowledgement
Land Acknowledgement
A land acknowledgement is a statement that formally recognizes the historical and continuing connection between indigenous peoples and their native lands.
In this spirit, we humbly make this land acknowledgement.
We gather here today on Turtle Island, the Indigenous term for the North American continent.
We are convening on the ancestral land of the Paskestikweya (Pist-ka-tanh-wah) people in Baltimore City. We humbly offer our respects to the elders, past and present citizens, of the Cedarville Band of the Piscataway Conoy, the Piscataway Indian Nation, and the Piscataway Conoy Tribe, all Algonquian (Al- Gon-Qwe-An) Peoples.
We have come together today on the western shore of the Chesapeake Bay. The word Chesapeake is also an Algonquian word named after a nation of people who once lived near the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay, in an area now called Hampton Roads, Virginia.
While a land acknowledgement is not enough, it is an important social justice and decolonial practice that promotes Indigenous visibility and a reminder that we are on sacred land. Let this land acknowledgement be an opening for all of us to contemplate the ongoing struggles to resist colonial indoctrination through various Indigenous movements for identity, sovereignty, and self-determination.
Created in partnership between the University of Maryland, Baltimore, Writing Center and Mario Harley, Member of the Piscataway Nation Council ©2019
- Our Fires Still BurnThis exciting and compelling one hour documentary invites viewers into the lives of contemporary Native American role models living in the U.S. Midwest. It dispels the myth that American Indians have disappeared from the American horizon, and reveals how they continue to persist, heal from the past, confront the challenges of today, keep their culture alive, and make great contributions to society. Their experiences will deeply touch both Natives and non-Natives and help build bridges of understanding, respect, and communication. The tragic history of Native Americans is considered by many to be our 'American Holocaust.'
- Canada's Lost Girlshis emotional, hard-hitting film takes Stacey Dooley to a remote part of Canada to investigate why the regular disappearance or murder of hundreds of young women from indigenous communities has largely been ignored. She discovers that in the last 30 years, an estimated 4,000 women from these First Nation communities have gone missing or been killed. And the vast majority were aged under 30. Why were so many of their killers never brought to justice—and why have incidents like the brutal murders of two 15-year-old girls failed to make the headlines? Stacey uncovers a tale of shocking racism and sexism by police, as well as prejudice from government services.
Online from CCBC Libraries
- 50 Events That Shaped American Indian History by
This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples. This comprehensive, two-volume resource on American Indian history covers events from the time of ancient Indian civilizations in North America to recent happenings in American Indian life in the 21st century, providing readers with an understanding of not only what happened to shape the American Indian experience but also how these events--some of which occurred long ago--continue to affect people's lives today. The first section of the book focuses on history in the pre-European contact period, documenting the tens of thousands of years that American Indians have resided on the continent in ancient civilizations, in contrast with the very short history of a few hundred years following contact with Europeans--during which time tremendous changes to American Indian culture occurred. The event coverage continues chronologically, addressing the early Colonial period and beginning of trade with Europeans and the consequential destruction of native economies, to the period of Western expansion and Indian removal in the 1800s, to events of forced assimilation and later self-determination in the 20th century and beyond. Readers will appreciate how American Indians continue to live rich cultural, social, and religious lives thanks to the activism of communities, organizations, and individuals, and perceive how their inspiring collective story of self-determination and sovereignty is far from over. Allows readers to understand the history of Indian communities and tribal governments in the United States and to consider complex and controversial questions on how to begin improving conditions for Indian communities in the 21st century Highlights American Indian contributions to U.S. culture, economy, and politics Includes first-person accounts and narratives as well as excerpts from official documents, letters, and other primary sources that help bring American Indian history to life and present a more personal look into the experiences of tribes Addresses the historical and legal misconceptions as well as stereotypes affecting American Indians that continue to persist today
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
As We Are Now by
The thirteen contributors to As We Are Now invite readers to explore with them the untamed territory of race and mixblood identity in North America. A "mixblood," according to editor W.S. Penn, recognizes that his or her identity comes not from distinct and separable strains of ancestry but from the sum of the tension and interplay of all his or her ancestral relationships. These first-person narratives cross racial, national, and disciplinary boundaries in a refreshingly experimental approach to writing culture. Their authors call on similar but varied cultural and aesthetic traditions?mostly oral?in order to address some aspect of race and identity about which they feel passionate, and all resist the essentialist point of view. Mixblood Native American, Mestizo/a, and African-American writers focus their discussion on the questions indigenous and minority people ask and the way in which they ask them, clearly merging the singular "I" with the communal "we." These are new voices in the dialogue of ethnic writers, and they offer a highly original treatment of an important subject.
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Before the Revolution by
America began, we are often told, with the Founding Fathers, the men who waged a revolution and created a unique place called the United States. We may acknowledge the early Jamestown and Puritan colonists and mourn the dispossession of Native Americans, but we rarely grapple with the complexity of the nation's pre-revolutionary past. In this pathbreaking revision, Daniel Richter shows that the United States has a much deeper history than is apparent--that far from beginning with a clean slate, it is a nation with multiple pasts that stretch back as far as the Middle Ages, pasts whose legacies continue to shape the present. Exploring a vast range of original sources, Before the Revolution spans more than seven centuries and ranges across North America, Europe, and Africa. Richter recovers the lives of a stunning array of peoples--Indians, Spaniards, French, Dutch, Africans, English--as they struggled with one another and with their own people for control of land and resources. Their struggles occurred in a global context and built upon the remains of what came before. Gradually and unpredictably, distinctive patterns of North American culture took shape on a continent where no one yet imagined there would be nations called the United States, Canada, or Mexico. By seeing these trajectories on their own dynamic terms, rather than merely as a prelude to independence, Richter's epic vision reveals the deepest origins of American history.
Publication Date: 2011-04-25
Blood Will Tell by
Blood Will Tell reveals the underlying centrality of "blood" that shaped official ideas about who was eligible to be defined as Indian by the General Allotment Act in the United States. Katherine Ellinghaus traces the idea of blood quantum and how the concept came to dominate Native identity and national status between 1887 and 1934 and how related exclusionary policies functioned to dispossess Native people of their land. The U.S. government's unspoken assumption at the time was that Natives of mixed descent were undeserving of tribal status and benefits, notwithstanding that Native Americans of mixed descent played crucial roles in the national implementation of allotment policy. Ellinghaus explores on-the-ground case studies of Anishinaabeg, Arapahos, Cherokees, Eastern Cherokees, Cheyennes, Chickasaws, Choctaws, Creeks, Lakotas, Lumbees, Ojibwes, Seminoles, and Virginia tribes. Documented in these cases, the history of blood quantum as a policy reveals assimilation's implications and legacy. The role of blood quantum is integral to understanding how Native Americans came to be one of the most disadvantaged groups in the United States, and it remains a significant part of present-day debates about Indian identity and tribal membership. Blood Will Tell is an important and timely contribution to current political and scholarly debates.
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by
This essential reference examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America. Despite the fact that 565 federally recognized tribes exist on the continent of North America, non-Native Americans typically know very little about the modern world of American Indians. In a few instances, the uneasy coexistence of the two cultures has served to create controversy, such as fake Indians fraudulently leveraging ethnicity-based benefits, U.S. officials disposing of nuclear waste near reservations, and sports clubs basing mascots on cultural stereotypes. This unique survey scrutinizes the historical background as well as the contemporary issues of American Indian societies as both part of--and completely separate from--the world around them. Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today features subjects commonly discussed, including reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty. Sidebars with additional information, resources, and primary source excerpts Contributions from top scholars in the field Bibliographies at the end of each essay for additional research
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Indian Voices by
In Indian Voices, Alison Owings takes readers on a fresh journey across America, east to west, north to south, and around again. Owings's most recent oral history--engagingly written in a style that entertains and informs--documents what Native Americans say about themselves, their daily lives, and the world around them. Young and old from many tribal nations speak with candor, insight, and (unknown to many non-Natives) humor about what it is like to be a Native American in the twenty-first century. Through intimate interviews many also express their thoughts about the sometimes staggeringly ignorant, if often well-meaning, non-Natives they encounter--some who do not realize Native Americans still exist, much less that they speak English, have cell phones, use the Internet, and might attend powwows and power lunches. Indian Voices, an inspiring and important contribution to the literature about the original Americans, will make every reader rethink the past--and present--of the United States.
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
The Magic Children by
One day at the end of the twentieth century, Roger Echo-Hawk decided to give up being an Indian. After becoming an American Indian historian, he started to question our widespread reliance on a concept of race that the academy had long-since discredited, and embarked on a personal and professional journey to giving up race himself. This passionate book offers a powerful meditation on racialism and a manifesto for creating a world without it. Echo-Hawk examines personal identity, social movements, and policy--NAGPRA, Indian law, Red Pride, indigenous archaeology--showing how they rely on race and how they should move beyond it.
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Native Peoples - A to Z by Publication Date: 2009-10-01
