Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Weather Observer's Handbook by
This handbook provides a comprehensive, practical, and independent guide to all aspects of making weather observations. The second edition has been fully updated throughout with new material, new instruments and technologies, and the latest reference and research materials. Traditional and modern weather instruments are covered, including how best to choose and to site a weather station, how to get the best out of your equipment, how to store and analyse your records and how to share your observations. The book's emphasis is on modern electronic instruments and automatic weather stations. It provides advice on replacing 'traditional' mercury-based thermometers and barometers with modern digital sensors, following implementation of the UN Minamata Convention outlawing mercury in the environment. The Weather Observer's Handbook will again prove to be an invaluable resource for both amateur observers choosing their first weather instruments and professional observers looking for a comprehensive and up-to-date guide.
Call Number: QC876 .B87 2024
Weather Prediction by
Weather has always affected human life. Understanding how weather events form and predicting what kind of weather is coming can help enormously to manage weather-risk and will become even more important as we shift towards strongly weather-dependent energy sources.Some big steps forward in numerical weather prediction have been made in the past 40 years, thanks to advances in four key areas: the way we observe the Earth, the scientific understanding of the phenomena, advances in high-performance computing (that have allowed the use of increasingly complexmodels), and improved modelling techniques. Today we are capable of predicting extreme events such as hurricanes and extra-tropical windstorms very accurately up to 7 to 10 days ahead. We can predict the most likely path and intensity of storms before they hit a community, estimate the confidencelevel of the forecast, and can give very valuable indications of their probable impact. Larger-scale phenomena that affect entire countries, such as heat or cold waves, periods with extremely high or low temperatures lasting for days, can be forecast up to 2-to-3 weeks before the events occur.Phenomena that affect a big portion of the oceans or of a continent and that evolve slowly, such as the warming of the sea-surface temperature in the Pacific Ocean when an El Nino event occurs, can be predicted months ahead, and in some cases even longer.Weather Prediction: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG discusses some of the key topics linked to weather prediction and explains how we got here. It discusses questions that are often asked, such as: how are weather forecasts generated? How complex are the models used in numerical weather prediction, andhow to solve them? Was this event predictable? Why was this forecast wrong? How did you manage to predict this hurricane path 10 days before the event? Will weather forecast continue to improve, or is there a predictability limit?
Call Number: QC995.4 .B85 2023
Weather: an Illustrated History by
"Beautifully illustrated . . . Think of this book like dining on tapas, boasting savory flavors, some unexpected, that constitute a satisfying whole." --Washington Post Andrew Revkin, strategic adviser for environmental and science journalism at the National Geographic Society and former senior climate reporter at ProPublica, presents an intriguing illustrated history of humanity's evolving relationship with Earth's dynamic climate system and the wondrous weather it generates. Colorful and captivating, Weather: An Illustrated History hopscotches through 100 meteorological milestones and insights, from prehistory to today's headlines and tomorrow's forecasts. Bite-sized narratives, accompanied by exciting illustrations, touch on such varied topics as Earth's first atmosphere, the physics of rainbows, the deadliest hailstorm, Groundhog Day, the invention of air conditioning, London's Great Smog, the Year Without Summer, our increasingly strong hurricanes, and the Paris Agreement on climate change. Written by a prominent and award-winning environmental author and journalist, this is a groundbreaking illustrated book that traces the evolution of weather forecasting and climate science.
Call Number: QC981.2 .R483 2018
Making Sense of Weather and Climate by
How do meteorologists design forecasts for the next day's, the next week's, or the next month's weather? Are some forecasts more likely to be accurate than others, and why? Making Sense of Weather and Climate takes readers through key topics in atmospheric physics and presents a cogent view of how weather relates to climate, particularly climate-change science. It is the perfect book for amateur meteorologists and weather enthusiasts, and for anyone whose livelihood depends on navigating the weather's twists and turns. Making Sense of Weather and Climate begins by explaining the essential mechanics and characteristics of this fascinating science. The noted physics author Mark Denny also defines the crucial differences between weather and climate, and then develops from this basic knowledge a sophisticated yet clear portrait of their relation. Throughout, Denny elaborates on the role of weather forecasting in guiding politics and other aspects of human civilization. He also follows forecasting's effect on the economy. Denny's exploration of the science and history of a phenomenon we have long tried to master makes this book a unique companion for anyone who wants a complete picture of the environment's individual, societal, and planetary impact.
Call Number: QC995 .D42 2017
Streaming Video
- Meteorology: The Science of WeatherThis Science Screen Report looks at the causes of climatic conditions and their influence on human activity. Outlining principles of topography and atmospheric pressure, the program identifies specific types of weather and how they form global patterns—sometimes with damaging and deadly results. The role of ocean currents, and their relation to massive storm systems such as hurricanes and El Niño, is made clear. This program is a valuable source of information on meteorological studies, including the use of satellite technology. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. Produced in association with the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology and the Junior Engineering Technical Society. (14 minutes)
Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
Open Access Periodicals
Online From CCBC Libraries
The Handbook of Meteorology by
The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom.
Publication Date: 2012
Online Article Archives
- Meteorology
from Science Daily - Articles on Meteorology
from The Conversation - Meteorology
from The Guardian
