On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Marijuana on My Mind by
Marijuana is on everyone's mind. Why do so many people enjoy it? What is it doing in our brains? Is it safe for everyone to use? What should we be telling our children? What are the benefits of medical marijuana? How does CBD live up to its hype? Does marijuana have spiritual power? And with so much conflicting information out there, how do we begin to make up our own minds about cannabis? Marijuana on My Mind is for anyone who has ever experienced the mystique of cannabis or wondered exactly how cannabis works. With over 40 years of clinical experience, Dr Timmen Cermak uses science to make sense of the endless debate between advocates and opponents of cannabis and provides answers to some of the greatest mysteries surrounding marijuana.
Call Number: RM666.C266 C47 2022
Marijuana in America by
This A-Z encyclopedia provides a broad and evenhanded overview of America's complex relationship with marijuana, examining political, recreational, cultural, medical, and economic aspects of marijuana use both historically and in the present day. Marijuana in America is an accessible and comprehensive exploration of the many changes in medical, legal, and cultural issues surrounding cannabis in the United States. This multidisciplinary volume features contributions from several different fields to explain all facets of marijuana, including its chemical composition, evolving depictions in popular culture, and historical, legal, and social settings in which marijuana use occurs. A mix of coverage provides readers with a full and accurate understanding of the spectrum of issues and controversies swirling around marijuana today, including: the changing legal landscape pertaining to the sale, possession, and use of marijuana, both at the state and federal levels; the factual basis for arguments for and against so-called "medical marijuana"; claims that marijuana is a gateway drug to harder drugs; changing cultural attitudes about marijuana and "potheads"; economic arguments for and against marijuana legalization; and the impact of marijuana on families, communities, the economy, and the criminal justice system.
Call Number: HV5822.M3 M2925 2022
A Psychiatrist's View of Marijuana by
The trend toward liberalizing medical and recreational marijuana use is increasing the obligation on clinicians to provide useful information to the public. This book summarizes the science all healthcare professionals need to know in order to provide objective and relevant information to a variety of patients, from recreational and medicinal users to those who use regularly, and to adolescents and worried parents. The author brings two and a half decades of studying cannabinoid research, and over forty years' experience in psychiatric and addiction medicine practice, to shed light on the interaction between marijuana and the brain. Topics range from how marijuana produces pleasurable sensations, relaxation and novelty (the 'high'), to emerging medical uses, effects of regular use, addiction, and policy. Principles of motivational interviewing are outlined to help clinicians engage patients in meaningful, non-judgmental conversations about their experiences with marijuana. An invaluable guide for physicians, nurses, psychologists, therapists, and counsellors.
Call Number: BF209.C3 C47 2020
Grass Roots by Call Number: HV5822.M3 D874 2017
Is Legalized Marijuana Good for Society? by Call Number: HV5822.M3 N47 2015
Websites
- How does marijuana use affect school, work, and social life?
from National Institute on Drug Abuse
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
Online From CCBC Libraries
- Marijuana in America by
This A-Z encyclopedia provides a broad and evenhanded overview of America's complex relationship with marijuana, examining political, recreational, cultural, medical, and economic aspects of marijuana use both historically and in the present day. Marijuana in America is an accessible and comprehensive exploration of the many changes in medical, legal, and cultural issues surrounding cannabis in the United States. This multidisciplinary volume features contributions from several different fields to explain all facets of marijuana, including its chemical composition, evolving depictions in popular culture, and historical, legal, and social settings in which marijuana use occurs. A mix of coverage provides readers with a full and accurate understanding of the spectrum of issues and controversies swirling around marijuana today, including: the changing legal landscape pertaining to the sale, possession, and use of marijuana, both at the state and federal levels; the factual basis for arguments for and against so-called "medical marijuana"; claims that marijuana is a gateway drug to harder drugs; changing cultural attitudes about marijuana and "potheads"; economic arguments for and against marijuana legalization; and the impact of marijuana on families, communities, the economy, and the criminal justice system.
Publication Date: 2022
Marijuana by Publication Date: 2017
Online Articles
- New Study Highlights The Social Impacts Of Cannabis Legalization In California
Forbes, May 17, 2018 - What's the big deal with legal pot? No one knows yet
USA Today, August 1, 2017 - The Marijuana Effect
CBS News 60 Minutes, January 11, 2015