Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Mindful Marijuana Smoking by
Learn how to smoke cannabis in a way that reduces the health risks of smoking. As an herbal remedy, cannabis can lift your mood and can treat a long list of ailments. But the way that most of us take a hit of pot needlessly takes a hit on our health. It is high time for health-conscious cannabis consumers to learn a new way of smoking that reduces its risks. In Mindful Marijuana Smoking, Mark Mathew Braunstein offers sound advice on every phase of the cannabis smoking experience, presenting health tips based on solid science. Whether with rolling papers, hand pipes, waterpipes, or herbal vaporizers, each method of cannabinoid delivery has both risks and rewards. Chapters are devoted to each method so that you can learn how to maximize their benefits and reduce their hazards, as well as how to protect your health even before you take a puff. And once you've inhaled the smoke, this book assures you that you don't need to hold your breath to reap all the benefits of cannabis. Additionally, this book teaches readers how to assure an herb's purity, as both black market and corporate cannabis keep dirty secrets about how they were grown, and readers will learn about the potential impurities in rolling papers and vaping oils. The stronger the dose, the less you need to toke, so you'll find instructions on how to properly store cannabis to retain its potency. Finally, after you've smoked, you'll find guidance on why and how to relieve your parched mouth and to replenish nutrients that are depleted by smoking. Potheads and patients, tenderfoot tokers and seasoned stoners, dabbling dilettantes and cannabis connoisseurs, all need to read this book. By following its many health tips, when you light up, you can lighten up.
Call Number: RC568.C2 B73 2022
Marijuana in America by
This A-Z encyclopedia provides a broad and evenhanded overview of America's complex relationship with marijuana, examining political, recreational, cultural, medical, and economic aspects of marijuana use both historically and in the present day. Marijuana in America is an accessible and comprehensive exploration of the many changes in medical, legal, and cultural issues surrounding cannabis in the United States. This multidisciplinary volume features contributions from several different fields to explain all facets of marijuana, including its chemical composition, evolving depictions in popular culture, and historical, legal, and social settings in which marijuana use occurs. A mix of coverage provides readers with a full and accurate understanding of the spectrum of issues and controversies swirling around marijuana today, including: the changing legal landscape pertaining to the sale, possession, and use of marijuana, both at the state and federal levels; the factual basis for arguments for and against so-called "medical marijuana"; claims that marijuana is a gateway drug to harder drugs; changing cultural attitudes about marijuana and "potheads"; economic arguments for and against marijuana legalization; and the impact of marijuana on families, communities, the economy, and the criminal justice system. Detailed, authoritative, and evenhanded coverage of all medical, legal, cultural, and economic aspects of legal and illegal marijuana in America. Information sources for further research included in each entry. Timeline of legal, cultural, and social events and trends concerning marijuana and its use in the United States. Contributions from several different fields giving the volume a multidisciplinary focus.
Call Number: HV5822.M3 M2925 2022
Going to Pot by
William J. Bennett, former director of the National Drug Control policy under President George H.W. Bush and bestselling author of The Book of Virtues, and co-author Robert White provide strong societal and scientific arguments against the legalization of marijuana. Marijuana, once considered worthy of condemnation, has in recent years become a "medicine," legalized fully in four states, with others expected to follow. But the dangers are clear. According to Bennett's research, more Americans are admitted to treatment facilities for marijuana use than for any other illegal drug. Studies have shown a link between marijuana use and abnormal brain structure and development. From William Bennett comes a call-to-action for the 46 states that know better than to support full legalization, and a voice of reason for millions who have jumped on the legalization bandwagon because they haven't had access to the facts.
Call Number: HV5822.M3 B447 2015
Online Articles
- Studies Tie Marijuana Use to Lasting Cortical Changes, Schizophrenia
Psychiatry Online, May 31, 2024 - High-potency marijuana highlights the risk of cannabis-induced psychiatric disorders
NBC News, April 4, 2024 - Study highlights cannabis use linked to mental health risks in youth
Medical Life Sciences News, March 18, 2024 - What to know about cannabis and bipolar disorder
Medical News Today, March 6, 2024 - UM School of Medicine Review Highlights Rise in Psychiatric Disorders Linked to Increased Cannabis Use
University of Maryland School of Medicine, December 19, 2023 - Marijuana Could Help Reduce Depression and Anxiety
Discover, September 15, 2022 - Cannabis and Mental Illness: A Review
Eur Arch Psychiatry Clin Neurosci. 2019 Feb
Online From CCBC Libraries
Marijuana in America by
This A-Z encyclopedia provides a broad and evenhanded overview of America's complex relationship with marijuana, examining political, recreational, cultural, medical, and economic aspects of marijuana use both historically and in the present day. Marijuana in America is an accessible and comprehensive exploration of the many changes in medical, legal, and cultural issues surrounding cannabis in the United States. This multidisciplinary volume features contributions from several different fields to explain all facets of marijuana, including its chemical composition, evolving depictions in popular culture, and historical, legal, and social settings in which marijuana use occurs. A mix of coverage provides readers with a full and accurate understanding of the spectrum of issues and controversies swirling around marijuana today, including: the changing legal landscape pertaining to the sale, possession, and use of marijuana, both at the state and federal levels; the factual basis for arguments for and against so-called "medical marijuana"; claims that marijuana is a gateway drug to harder drugs; changing cultural attitudes about marijuana and "potheads"; economic arguments for and against marijuana legalization; and the impact of marijuana on families, communities, the economy, and the criminal justice system.
Publication Date: 2022
Cannabis by
This new book addresses the ongoing debate on cannabis policy and provides guidance on how to regulate its sale and distribution. Instead of taking a stance for or against cannabis use, the book: Suggests we employ strategies similar to those used in alcohol control to create a solid foundation of policy and best practices. Focuses on how we can best regulate a complex substance.
Publication Date: 2021
Drug Information for Teens, 5th Ed by
Information for teens about drug use, abuse, and addiction, including facts about illegal drugs and the abuse of legally available substances found in over-the-counter medications; describes drug-related health risks and treatment for addiction. Includes index and resource information.
Publication Date: 2018
Databases
- PsycARTICLES
Articles on psychology topics.
