African American Women's Life Issues Today by Catherine Fisher Collins (Editor)After decades of research devoted to women's health, a federal agency focused on women's health, and millions of dollars allocated to address women's health disparities, African American women are still the sickest American citizens. This book examines why. Written by an all-female, all-African American team of health experts that include nurse practitioners, registered nurses, educators, and psychologists, this book focuses on the diseases and related social issues that cause the greatest harm and pose the greatest threat to African American women today. Its chapters address topics as varied as heart disease, cancer, sexually transmitted diseases, domestic violence, cervical and breast cancers, obesity, depression, mental illness, dementia/Alzheimer's, and incarcerated women's health care. A chapter is dedicated to identifying the social, cultural, and environmental barriers that block African American women from experiencing the best possible lives. Providing comprehensive coverage of the topic from an Afrocentric perspective, this text will be of great interest to medical and psychological health professionals and professors; social workers, counselors, and students in these fields; as well as African American women seeking current and expert information on these health threats.
Call Number: RA778.4.A36 A325 2013
Criminal Justice and Moral Issues by Robert F. Meier; Gilbert GeisThis text addresses the following two questions: "What kinds of problems can the law solve?" and "What kinds of problems does the law create?"Using these questions as starting points, Meier and Geis evenhandedly explore the role and function of law relating to six major issues that often divide Americans today: prostitution, drug use, homosexuality, abortion, pornography, and gambling. Statutes and public opinion have shifteddramatically over recent decades in regard to these behaviors. The book details these developments and offers explanations of why they have occurred.Some people view all or some of these behaviors as acts that ought to be permitted, as part of individual freedom. Others find one, some, or all of them to be genuine threats to the country's social and moral fiber and believe that they ought to be criminalized. Still others maintain that actionought to be taken to limit some of the behaviors, but that using the criminal justice system is not the best way to proceed.Meier and Geis' provocative book offers sophisticated, in-depth discussions of these issues, then reviews the conflicting opinions about the proper role of criminal law in dealing with them. It is written in straightforward, jargon-free language, providing an ideal background for exploring thefacts and views regarding what are often contentious concerns.Criminal Justice and Moral Issues increases student understanding through the abundant use of relevant illustrations, examples, and case studies.
Call Number: HV7419 .M43 2006
How Can Teen Pregnancy Be Reduced? by Barbara SheenThe In Controversy series examines the complex, controversial issues of the day by breaking them into smaller pieces. By studying a specific issue, for example the ethics of embryonic stem cell research, rather than the entire stem cell research debate, students gain a more solid and focused understanding of a topic as a whole. Each book in the series provides a clear, insightful discussion of the issues, integrating facts and a variety of contrasting opinions for a solid, balanced perspective. Personal accounts and direct quotes from academic and professional experts, advocacy groups, politicians, and other enhance the narrative. Sidebars add depth to the discussion by expanding on important ideas and events. For quick reference, a list of key facts concludes every chapter. Source notes, an annotated organizations list, bibliography, and index provide student researchers with additional tools for papers and class discussion. Book jacket.
Call Number: HQ759.4 .S525 2014
Immigration by Cari Lee Skogberg EastmanWhat are the myths and truths regarding immigration in the United States? This book provides readers with an impartial understanding of the true state of immigration and immigration policy in the United States by refuting falsehoods, misinformation, and exaggerations surrounding this topic--and confirming the validity of other assertions. Immigration: Examining the Facts provides a one-stop resource for straight answers on the impact--both positive and negative--of immigration trends on the United States. Its coverage of key issues serves students as well as members of the general public who want to better understand immigration trends and their effect on various aspects of American society. By utilizing quantifiable information from objective, authoritative sources, readers will be able to make informed judgments about immigration claims made by both liberals and conservatives. The book analyzes specific claims about immigration that are perpetuated through media or public discourse, identifies the origins of these claims, and then offers empirical data from impartial research sources to consider the veracity of those claims. Organized into subject chapters, each of which addresses assertions about specific immigration topics, this resource gives students and other users the tools to gain a more accurate understanding of the issue, improve their critical thinking skills, and increase their awareness of the views and strategies of political parties, lawmakers, news organizations, and advocacy groups on this important subject. Addresses contemporary rhetoric about immigration with factual information based on reliable, objective empirical data Presents immigration-related statistics in an easy-to-read format that allows readers to quickly find answers to specific questions Fosters a more accurate understanding of the immigration issue and provides readers with opportunities to apply critical thinking skills
Call Number: JV6465 .E25 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
Interference in Elections by Kristina Lyn Heitkamp (Editor)Allegations of Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential election have brought the issue of election interference to the fore, but is it actually a significant issue in the United States? This volume explores the history of election interference in the United States and beyond, as well as the various methods of interference. It also discusses whether interference can be effectively combatted and what attempts are being made to do so. Election interference has been declared a threat to the electoral process and democracy as a whole, and it is more important than ever to understand the various factors at play.
Call Number: JK1994 .I67 2019
Moral Issues in Business by William H. Shaw; Vincent BarryMORAL ISSUES IN BUSINESS is one of the most widely adopted business ethics texts in the field The prose guides readers in thinking deeply about important moral issues that frequently arise in business situations and helps them develop the reasoning and analytical skills to resolve those issues. Combining insightful and accessible textbook chapters by the authors, cases that highlight the real-world importance of key ethical concepts, and reading selections from the most influential voices in contemporary ethical debates, this book provides a comprehensive, flexible, and pedagogically proven course of study exploring the intersections of commerce and ethics. William H. Shaw and Vincent Barry offer a uniquely thorough and practical guide to the nature of morality, individual integrity and responsibility, economic justice, concepts of capitalism, and the role of corporations in our society (including their responsibilities to consumers and to the environment), and the real-life moral issues that arise in the workplace.
Call Number: HF5387 .S473 2013
Poverty and Homelessness by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Noël Merino (Editor)The National Alliance to End Homelessness states that there are 564,708 people experiencing homelessness on any given night in the U.S. The primary source writings in this anthology have been selected to provide your readers with a broad range of viewpoints on poverty and homelessness, including what role minimum wage plays. The essays in each chapter of this book represent contrasting viewpoints on government social assistance programs and income inequality. Students are encouraged to see the validity of divergent opinions, crucial to the development of critical thinking skills. An important question about the topic is presented in each chapter, and the viewpoints that follow are organized based on their response to the question. Fact boxes summarize important information for researchers, and an extensive bibliography is included.
Newpapers include: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and Baltimore Sun.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Gender Inequality by David E. NewtonGender Inequality: A Reference Handbook discusses the role women have played throughout human history and play in the modern day, including both advances that have been made in the fight for equality and problems remaining to be solved. Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook is divided into two parts. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background to the topic and a review of current issues and problems. The remaining chapters aid readers in continuing their own research on the topic, through an extended annotated bibliography, chronology, glossary, noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. This book covers the topic of gender inequality from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. It differs from other works in the field primarily because of the variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays on the topic, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic. Provides readers with a history of the effects of patriarchy on women, one of the longest lasting and most consequential debates in human history Summarizes the status of gender inequality in the modern world, with regard to its presence and effects in a variety of aspects of human life Supplies abundant resources for further research on the topic by readers of all ages Rounds out the author's expertise through perspective essays, giving readers a diversity of viewpoints on the topic
Science and Politics by Brent S. Steel (Editor)Recent partisan squabbles over science in the news are indicative of a larger tendency for scientific research and practice to get entangled in major ideological divisions in the public arena. This politicization of science is deepened by the key role government funding plays in scientific research and development, the market leading position of U.S.-based science and technology firms, and controversial U.S. exports (such as genetically modified foods or hormone-injected livestock). This groundbreaking, one-volume, A-to-Z reference features 120-150 entries that explore the nexus of politics and science, both in the United States and in U.S. interactions with other nations. The essays, each by experts in their fields, examine: Health, environmental, and social/cultural issues relating to science and politics Concerns relating to government regulation and its impact on the practice of science Key historical and contemporary events that have shaped our contemporary view of how science and politics intersect Science and Politics: An A to Z Guide to Issues and Controversies is a must-have resource for researchers and students who seek to deepen their understanding of the connection between science and politics.
Publication Date: 2014-05-14
Today's Environmental Issues by Teri J. WalkerAn accessible and impartial survey of the positions of the Republican and Democratic parties on the most pressing environmental issues of our time, from climate change and wilderness preservation to air and water pollution. Today's Environmental Issues: Democrats and Republicans presents a unique perspective on party politics--one that impartially identifies similarities and differences regarding an array of topics ranging from fracking, sustainability, and pesticides to logging and noise pollution. Essays provide both historical information and up-to-date coverage of partisan opinions on today's environmental concerns. Written for upper level high school students, undergraduates, and general audiences interested in environmental issues and partisan viewpoints, this book enables readers to better understand the origins, details, differences, and commonalities of partisan opinions surrounding today's environmental concerns. Each environmental issue is unique with its own set of concerns and impacts, particularly when viewed from a party perspective. By examining a breadth of issues from the party viewpoint, readers can understand how the parties could work together or in opposition, depending on the environmental issue--and that the parties may not always be polar opposites on every issue, a characterization that is often portrayed in the media. Each essay includes a sidebar that presents a quick look at the party line, individuals who have shaped opinion or policy, or key court decisions. Offers a comprehensive collection of essays that explain how party politics affect perspectives on current environmental issues and policies Provides readers with basic definitions and historical background for understanding the debate on each environmental issue Supplies an up-to-date and unbiased overview of Democrat and Republican views on a variety of issues
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Transgender by Aaron Devor; Ardel Haefele-ThomasThis book provides a crucial resource for readers who are investigating trans issues. It takes a diverse and historic approach, focusing on more than one idea or one experience of trans identity or trans history. Transgender: A Reference Handbook is a go-to resource about the transgender experience. The book takes contemporary as well as historic aspects into consideration. It looks at ancient indigenous cultures that honored third, fourth, and fifth gender identities as well as more contemporary ideas of what "transgender" means. Notably, it focuses not only on Western medical ideas of gender affirmation but on cultural diversity surrounding the topic. This book will primarily serve as a reference guide and jumping off point for further research for those seeking information about what it means to be transgender. While a reference book, it contains original work that may be cited in addition to the encyclopedia itself. In particular, the perspectives section of the book includes writings from some of the world's foremost trans writers, activists, artists, and historians. Provides students with outstanding source material and historic material on trans issues Includes writing from some of the most recognized names in trans writing, history, and activism in the world Approaches its subject from a deeply historical background, acknowledging the intersection of identities throughout time Provides resources for further study, including profiles, data and documents, and a chronology of transgender history
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
The Youth Unemployment Crisis by Christina G. VillegasSurveys the history of youth unemployment and identifies key issues underlying the current crisis. The Youth Unemployment Crisis: A Reference Handbook examines the recent phenomenon in the United States wherein young workers ages 16 to 24 are unemployed or disconnected from the labor force at disproportionate rates. It describes in detail what led to the crisis, who it affects, and what can be and is being done about it. The book opens with a chapter that addresses the nature and scope of the crisis, which is followed by a discussion of the inherent problems, controversies, and possible solutions. It includes essays from a diverse range of contributors, providing useful perspectives to round out the author's expertise, as well as a collection of data and documents; an overview of important people, organizations, and resources relating to the crisis; a chronology listing important events in the youth unemployment timeline; and a glossary of key terms. Explains the nature, scope, and consequences of the youth unemployment crisis in a way that is accessible for general readers Includes a perspectives chapter that allows for the voices of many individuals to be heard, including those of policy experts and advocates for disenfranchised youth Gives general readers a better of understanding of who is involved in combating the youth unemployment crisis and provides a foundation for further research in profile and references chapters, respectively Explores the role that politics played in causing the crisis and how policy could better address it
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Other Guides that Discuss Current Issues and Controversies