Books on Human Experimentation
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Adverse Events by
Winner, 2022 Donald W. Light Award for Applied Medical Sociology, given by the Medical Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association Winner, 2021 Robert K. Merton Book Award, given by the Science, Knowledge, and Technology Section of the American Sociological Association 2021 Outstanding Academic Title, Choice Magazine Explores the social inequality of clinical drug testing and its effects on scientific results Imagine that you volunteer for the clinical trial of an experimental drug. The only direct benefit of participating is that you will receive up to $5,175. You must spend twenty nights literally locked in a research facility. You will be told what to eat, when to eat, and when to sleep. You will share a bedroom with several strangers. Who are you, and why would you choose to take part in this kind of study? This book explores the hidden world of pharmaceutical testing on healthy volunteers. Drawing on two years of fieldwork in clinics across the country and 268 interviews with participants and staff, it illustrates how decisions to take part in such studies are often influenced by poverty and lack of employment opportunities. It shows that healthy participants are typically recruited from African American and Latino/a communities, and that they are often serial participants, who obtain a significant portion of their income from these trials. This book reveals not only how social inequality fundamentally shapes these drug trials, but it also depicts the important validity concerns inherent in this mode of testing new pharmaceuticals. These highly controlled studies bear little resemblance to real-world conditions, and everyone involved is incentivized to game the system, ultimately making new drugs appear safer than they really are. Adverse Events provides an unprecedented view of the intersection of racial inequalities with pharmaceutical testing, signaling the dangers of this research enterprise to both social justice and public health.
Call Number: RM301.27 .F56 2020
For the Good of Mankind? by
Discusses the several medical advances that were achieved through unethical medical experimentation on humans.
Call Number: R853.H8 W58 2014
The Ethics of Medical Testing by Call Number: R724 .E247 2012
The Professional Guinea Pig by Call Number: RM301.27 .A22 2010
Books on Cancer and the History of Medicine
Online From CCBC Libraries
A Global History of Medicine by
In recent decades, there has been considerable interest in writing histories of medicine that capture local, regional, and global dimensions of health and health care in the same frame. Exploring changing patterns of disease and different systems of medicine across continents and countries, A Global History of Medicine provides a rich introduction to this emergent field. This book contains revised chapters from The Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine with a new introduction and updated reading lists.The introductory chapter addresses the challenges of writing the history of medicine across space and time and suggests ways in which tracing the entangled histories of the patchworks of practice that have constituted medicine allow us to understand how healing traditions are always plural, permeable, and shaped by power and privilege. Written by scholars from around the world and accompanied by suggestions for further reading, individual chapters explore historical developments in health, medicine, and disease in China, the Islamic World, North and Latin America, Africa, South-east Asia, Western and Eastern Europe, and Australia and New Zealand. The final chapter focuses on smallpox eradication and reflects on the sources and methods necessary to integrate local and global dimensions of medicine more effectively. Collectively, the contributions to A Global History of Medicine will not only be invaluable to undergraduate and postgraduate students seeking to expand their knowledge of health and medicine across time, but will also provide a constructive theoretical and empirical platform for future scholarship.
Publication Date: 2018
A Short History of Medicine by Publication Date: 2015
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
How Cancer Crossed the Color Line by
"Examining a century of twists and turns in anti-cancer campaigns, this path-breaking study shows how American cancer awareness, prevention, treatment, and survival have been refracted through the lens of race. As cancer went from being a white woman's nemesis to a "democratic disease" to a fearsome threat in communities of color, experts and the lay public interpreted these trends as lessons about women, men, and the color line. Drawing on film and fiction, on medical and epidemiological evidence, and on patients' accounts, Keith Wailoo tracks cancer's transformation--how theories of risk evolved with changes in women's roles and African-American and new immigrant migration trends, with the growth of federal cancer surveillance, economic depression and world war, and with diagnostic advances, racial protest, and contemporary health activism. A pioneering study of health communication in America, the book skillfully documents how race and gender became central motifs in the birth of cancer awareness, how patterns and perceptions changed, and how the "war on cancer" continues to be waged along the color line"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RC276 .W35 2011
The Emperor of All Maladies by
A "biography" of cancer from its origins to the epic battle to cure, control, and conquer it. A combination of medical history, cutting-edge science, and narrative journalism that transforms the listener's understanding of cancer and much of the world around them. The author provides a glimpse into the future of cancer treatments and offers a bold new perspective on the way doctors, scientists, philosophers, and lay people have observed and understood the human body for millennia.
Call Number: RC275 .M85 2010
History of Medicine by Call Number: R131 .D83 2010
Books on Turners Station and Sparrows Point
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Turner Station by
"In 1888, a passenger freight station was built by the Baltimore and Sparrows Point Railroad on land owned by Joshua J. Turner, a local businessman. The train stop was called Turner Station, and as the nearby community grew, it took on that name. The community's first church, St. Matthews Methodist Church, was founded in 1900, while the first public school, Turner Elementary School, was built in 1925. Adams Bar and Cocktail Lounge, an important entertainment establishment, came into being in 1933. It attracted top acts in African American music and comedy during the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s, including Red Foxx, Pearl Bailey, and Fats Domino. Turner Station was home to individuals who made lasting contributions to the state and nation, including Dr. Joseph Thomas, physician, businessman, and diplomat; Kweisi Mfume, NAACP president; Calvin Hill, former NFL star; and Kevin Clash, puppeteer."--publisher's description.
Call Number: F189.T69 W38 2008
Wives of Steel by Call Number: HQ1439.S63 O46 2005
From the Meadows to the Point by Call Number: F189 .T87 D54 2003
Books on Medical Ethics
Online From CCBC Libraries
Medical Ethics: a Very Short Introduction by
The issue of medical ethics, from thorny moral questions such as euthanasia and the morality of killing to political questions such as the fair distribution of health care resources, is rarely out of today's media. This area of ethics covers a wide range of issues, from mental health to reproductive medicine, as well as including management issues such as resource allocation, and has proven to hold enduring interest for the general public as well as the medical practitioner. This Very Short Introduction provides an invaluable tool with which to think about the ethical values that lie at the heart of medicine. This new edition explores the ethical reasoning we can use to approach medical ethics, introducing the most important 'tools' of ethical reasoning, and discussing how argument, thought experiments, and intuition can be combined in the consideration of medical ethics. Considering its practical application, Tony Hope and Michael Dunn explore how medical ethics supports health professionals through the growing use of ethics expertise in clinical settings. They also contemplate the increasingly important place of medical ethics in the wider social context, particularly in this age of globalization, not only in healthcare practice, but also policy, discussions in the media, pressure group and activism settings, and in legal judgments.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Publication Date: 2019
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Medical Ethics by
As technology makes the world more accessible, it is increasingly important to develop a wide perspective on social issues as well as political, environmental, and health issues of global significance. This book offers readers a global viewpoint about medical ethics, from a variety of international perspectives. Readers will learn about how medical ethics are established, and how they interplay with the end of life. They will evaluate medical ethics and organ transplantation, and the relationship of ethics and medical research. Essay sources include The World Medical Association, UNESCO, Behzad Hassani, Koji Masuda, and Debarati Mukherjee.
Call Number: R724 .M29263 2011
Medical Ethics by
Now in its twentieth year of publication, this rich collection, popular among teachers and students alike, provides an in-depth look at major cases that have shaped the field of medical ethics. The book presents each famous (or infamous) case using extensive historical and contextual background, and then proceeds to illuminate it by careful discussion of pertinent philosophical theories and legal and ethical issues.
Call Number: R724 .P36 2011
Medical Apartheid by
The first comprehensive history of medical experimentation on African Americans. Starting with the earliest encounters between Africans and Western medical researchers and the racist pseudoscience that resulted, it details the way both slaves and freedmen were used in hospitals for experiments conducted without a hint of informed consent--a tradition that continues today within some black populations. It shows how the pseudoscience of eugenics and social Darwinism was used to justify experimental exploitation and shoddy medical treatment of blacks, and a view that they were biologically inferior, oversexed, and unfit for adult responsibilities. New details about the government's Tuskegee experiment are revealed, as are similar, less well-known medical atrocities conducted by the government, the armed forces, and private institutions. This book reveals the hidden underbelly of scientific research and makes possible, for the first time, an understanding of the roots of the African American health deficit.--From publisher description.
Call Number: R853.H8 W37 2008
A Conspiracy of Cells by Call Number: RC267 .G64 1986
Books on Cell Culture
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Culturing Life by
Examines the history of cultured cells; discussing the autonomy of a cell in relation to the body, their immortality, mass reproduction, the HeLa cell line, and hybridity.
Call Number: QH585.2 .L36 2007
The Immortal Cell by
Describes the miraculous breakthroughs scientists have made in the past decade and dispels the many myths and misunderstandings surrounding stem cell research and therapeutic cloning, offering a window into the astonishing potential of regenerative medicine to extend the human life span and cure disease. The author describes research in the field of "regenerative medicine", explaining how therapeutic cloning is intended to repair damaged and diseased human organs and tissues. The potential for therapeutic cloning to treat afflictions caused by the loss or dysfunction of cells - from spinal cord injury and skin burns to kidney failures and cancer - is enormous. This book chronicles the work of Dr. West and others in the field of biotechnology - and the astonishing potential they offer us to cure diseases and improve the quality of human life.
Call Number: QH442.2 .W47 2003
Genome Duplication by Call Number: QP624.5.R48 D47 2011
Books on the Tuskegee Syphilis Study
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Search for the Legacy of the USPHS Syphilis Study at Tuskegee by Call Number: R853.H8 S43 2011
Examining Tuskegee by
The forty year "Tuskegee" Syphilis Study has become the American metaphor for medical racism, government malfeasance, and physician arrogance. The subject of histories, films, rumors, and political slogans, it received an official federal apology from President Bill Clinton in a White House ceremony. The author offers an analysis of the notorious study of untreated syphilis, which took place in and around Tuskegee, Alabama, from the 1930s through the 1970s. The study involved hundreds of African American men, most of whom were told by doctors from the U.S. Public Health Service that they were being treated, not just watched, for their late stage syphilis. She examines the study and its aftermath from multiple perspectives to explain what happened and why the study has such power in our collective memory. She follows the study's repercussions in facts and fictions. She highlights the many uncertainties that dogged the study during its four decades and explores the newly available medical records. She uncovers the different ways it was understood by the men, their families, and health care professionals, ultimately revising conventional wisdom on the study. This work illuminates the events and aftermath of the study and sheds light on the complex knot of trust, betrayal, and belief that keeps this study alive in our cultural and political lives.
Call Number: R853.H8 R48 2009
Tuskegee's Truths by Call Number: R853.H8 T87 2000
Books on Treatment of the Mentally Ill and Epilepsy
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Madness by
New York Times Bestseller Amazon Editor's Pick for Best Books of January In the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, a page-turning 93-year history of Crownsville Hospital, one of the nation's last segregated asylums, that the New York Times described as "fascinating...meticulous research" and bestselling author Clint Smith endorsed it as "a book that left me breathless." On a cold day in March of 1911, officials marched twelve Black men into the heart of a forest in Maryland. Under the supervision of a doctor, the men were forced to clear the land, pour cement, lay bricks, and harvest tobacco. When construction finished, they became the first twelve patients of the state's Hospital for the Negro Insane. For centuries, Black patients have been absent from our history books. Madness transports readers behind the brick walls of a Jim Crow asylum. In Madness, Peabody and Emmy award-winning journalist Antonia Hylton tells the 93-year-old history of Crownsville Hospital, one of the last segregated asylums with surviving records and a campus that still stands to this day in Anne Arundel County, Maryland. She blends the intimate tales of patients and employees whose lives were shaped by Crownsville with a decade-worth of investigative research and archival documents. Madness chronicles the stories of Black families whose mental health suffered as they tried, and sometimes failed, to find safety and dignity. Hylton also grapples with her own family's experiences with mental illness, and the secrecy and shame that it reproduced for generations. As Crownsville Hospital grew from an antebellum-style work camp to a tiny city sitting on 1,500 acres, the institution became a microcosm of America's evolving battles over slavery, racial integration, and civil rights. During its peak years, the hospital's wards were overflowing with almost 2,700 patients. By the end of the 20th-century, the asylum faded from view as prisons and jails became America's new focus. In Madness, Hylton traces the legacy of slavery to the treatment of Black people's bodies and minds in our current mental healthcare system. It is a captivating and heartbreaking meditation on how America decides who is sick or criminal, and who is worthy of our care or irredeemable. National Indie Bestseller ELLE Magazine's Best (and Most Anticipated) Nonfiction Books of 2024 Entertainment Weekly's Best Books to Read 2024
Call Number: RC445.M28 H95 2024
Mad in America by
"Schizophrenics in the United States currently fare worse than patients in the world's poorest countries. In Mad in America, medical journalist Robert Whitaker argues that modern treatments for the severely mentally ill are just old medicine in new bottles, and that we as a society are deeply deluded about their efficacy. The widespread use of lobotomies in the 1920s and 1930s gave way in the 1950s to electroshock and a wave of new drugs. In what is perhaps Whitaker's most damning revelation, Mad in America examines how drug companies in the 1980s and 1990s skewed their studies to prove that new antipsychotic drugs were more effective than the old, while keeping patients in the dark about dangerous side effects. A haunting, deeply compassionate book -- now revised to reflect the latest research -- Mad in America raises important questions about our obligations to the mad, the meaning of "insanity," and what we value most about the human mind."--book cove
Call Number: RA790.6 .W49 2010Asylum [videorecording] : a history of the mental institution in America This classic, award-winning program brings to light the complex and controversial history of the mental institution in the U.S. through a detailed study of St. Elizabeths Hospital in Washington, D.C.
Call Number: MEDIA RC443 .A875 2003
Della Raye by Call Number: RC570.5.U6 P464 2002
Books on the History of Johns Hopkins Hospital
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Ghosts of Johns Hopkins by
Johns Hopkins destroyed his private papers so thoroughly that no credible biography exists of the Baltimore Quaker titan. One of America's richest men and the largest single shareholder of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, Hopkins was also one of the city's defining developers. In The Ghosts of Johns Hopkins, Antero Pietila weaves together a biography of the man with a portrait of how the institutions he founded have shaped the racial legacy of an industrial city from its heyday to its decline and revitalization. From the destruction of neighborhoods to make way for the mercantile buildings that dominated Baltimore's downtown through much of the 19th century to the role that the president of Johns Hopkins University played in government sponsored "Negro Removal" that unleashed the migration patterns that created Baltimore's existing racial patchwork, Pietila tells the story of how one man's wealth shaped and reshaped the life of a city long after his lifetime.
Call Number: LD2625.8.H6 P44 2018
Leading the Way by Call Number: R747.J62 G73 2012 OVERSIZED
It happened at Hopkins, a teaching hospital by Call Number: RA982 .B2 J89 1973
