Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
McKnight's Physical Geography by
Continuing Tom L. McKnight's well-known thematic focus on landscape appreciation, Darrel Hess offers a broad survey of all of the physical processes and spatial patterns that create Earth's physical landscape. McKnight's Physical Geography: A Landscape Appreciation provides a clear writing style, superior art program, and abundant pedagogy to appeal to a wide variety of students. This new edition offers a truly meaningful integration of visualization, technology, the latest applied science, and new pedagogy, providingessential tools and opportunities to teach and engage students in these processes and patterns.
Call Number: GB54.5 .H47 2014
Introducing Physical Geography by
Introducing Physical Geography, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive text that builds upon the decades of success of Strahler, who is one of the foremost geographers in the world. This new fifth edition includes all new sections with the capabilities of connecting to multimedia and covers new updates to the subject area. The text also includes current examples of environmental phenomena relating to the global changes. The readability of the text has been enhanced with new placements of boxed features and supplementary material.
Call Number: GB54.5 .S77 2011
Visualizing Physical Geography by
This debut edition of Visualizing Physical Geography encompasses the science of physical geography from local to global scales, using a uniquely visual approach to take students on a journey from the top layers of the Earth's atmosphere to the rocks underlying the ocean basins to the forests of the farthest continents. As students explore the critical topics of physical geography, their study of the climate, surface features, and habitats around the world uses basic concepts of ecology, geology, chemistry, environmental science, biology, and physics and many other disciplines. Visualizing Physical Geography reinforces these interacting components and, with its premier art program, vividly illustrates the interconnectedness of physical processes that weave together to create our planet's dynamic surface and atmosphere. Visualizing Geography relies heavily on other visuals with text to elucidate concepts for students and solidify their understanding of them. The goal is to help students understand the world around them and interpret what they see in a meaningful, accurate and exciting way. The content, design and layout of the text takes advantage of the full capacity in which students process information - visual as well as verbal. Visualizing Geography also helps students examine their own personal studying and learning styles with several new pedagogical aids -- encouraging students to apply what they are learning to their everyday lives. Visualizing Geography continues to offer ongoing study tips and psychological techniques for mastering the material. Most importantly students are provided with numerous opportunities to immediately access their understanding.
Call Number: GB54.5 .S7845 2008
Websites
- Topographic Map Symbols
from U.S. Geological Survey
Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Earth's Landscape by
This unusual encyclopedia brings together in-depth information on more than 450 natural geographic features from around the world and offers an array of creative tools to promote critical thinking and classroom discussion.With Earth undergoing rapid environmental change, students and the general public alike should be knowledgeable about the world's geographic features. This authoritative, two-volume reference enables readers do just that. It describes continents and oceans; individual mountains, islands, caves, and rivers; and ecological entities such as wildlife refuges and national parks. Each entry provides a geographic overview of the feature's significance, location, description, geologic history, biota, protected areas, and environmental issues. But the coverage goes even deeper so that entries also discuss the cultural importance of each natural place, covering everything from indigenous beliefs to traditional folklore to contemporary legends.The encyclopedia stands apart from other works not only in the depth of its coverage but also in its range. It discusses lesser known as well as prominent geographical features and offers critical thinking aids that will help students see how the natural world relates to their daily lives. Teaching and learning tools include an appendix called "Opposing Viewpoints" that allows students to understand landforms involved in current conflicts and disputes as well as an "Activities/Discussion Questions" appendix.
Publication Date: 2015
Physical Geography by
Physical Geography: The Basics is a concise and engaging introduction to the interactions, systems and processes that have shaped, and continue to shape, the physical world around us. This book introduces five key aspects of the study of physical geography: atmosphere, weather and climate systems the carbon cycle and historic and contemporary climate change plate tectonics, weathering, erosion and soils the role of water and ice in shaping the landscape and impacting human activity the patterns of plant and animal life and human impacts upon them. The book features diagrams, maps and a glossary to aid understanding of key ideas and suggestions for further reading to allow readers to develop their interest in the subject ¿ making Physical Geography: The Basics the ideal starting point for anyone new to the study of geography and the environment.
Publication Date: 2011
UXL Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features by
Explores the physical structure of the Earth's landforms, including what they are, how they look, how they were created and change over time, and major geological events associated with each.
Publication Date: 2004
