Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Contemporary Human Geography by
This innovative new book explores current human geography in the bold visual style that distinguishes Dorling Kindersley (DK) publications. Thinking Geographically; Population; Migration; Culture; Language; Religion; Ethnicity; Political Geography; Development; Agriculture; Industry; Settlements and Services; Urban Patterns; Resource Issues. An interesting reference for anyone interested in learning more about human geography.
Call Number: GF41 .R8 2010
Geographies of Globalization by
Exploring a wide range of issues, from the integration of the worldeconomy to how contemporary processes are shaping and shaped bynation-states and how workers are organizing transnationally inresponse to transformations in the planet?s economicgeography, Geographies of Globalization is a criticalexamination of what has become the leitmotif of our contemporaryworld. Challenges neoliberal assumptions on the nature ofglobalization Provides a conceptual overview of how globalization is aspatial process and of its relation to capitalism Explores whether we are in fact living in a more?globalized? world or only in a more?internationalized? one Considers arguments concerning whether?globalization? is a new phenomenon or simply thelatest manifestation of processes many hundreds of years in themaking Focuses on how nation-states have shaped, and been shaped by,contemporary processes of ?globalization?, how?globalization? has been imagined discursively, and howworkers are responding to such processes Explores how workers are creating new organizing strategies inresponse to ?globalization?
Call Number: JZ1318 .H477 2009
Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
Online From CCBC Libraries
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. This updated edition will assist readers in their research by providing factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking. Presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage on the topic of human geographyContains extensive scope and depth of coverageEmphasizes how geographers interact with, understand and contribute to problem-solving in the contemporary worldPlaces an emphasis on how geography is relevant in a social and interdisciplinary context
Publication Date: 2019
Human Geography by Publication Date: 2013
Human Biogeography by
In this innovative, wide-ranging synthesis of anthropology and biogeography, Alexander Harcourt tells how and why our species came to be distributed around the world. He explains our current understanding of human origins, tells how climate determined our spread, and describes the barriers that delayed and directed migrating peoples. He explores the rich and complex ways in which our anatomy, physiology, cultural diversity, and population density vary from region to region in the areas we inhabit. The book closes with chapters on how human cultures have affected each other's geographic distributions, how non-human species have influenced human distribution, and how humans have reduced the ranges of many other species while increasing the ranges of others. Throughout, Harcourt compares what we understand of human biogeography to non-human primate biogeography.
Publication Date: 2012
Geographies of Children, Youth and Families by
This edited collection brings together international experts from the vibrant and growing field of geographies of children, youth and families. Designed as an introduction to the topic, this book provides an overview of current conceptual and theoretical debates surrounding geographies of children, youth and families, and gives a wide range of examples of cutting-edge research from a variety of national contexts across the globe. The theme of ¿disentangling the socio-spatial contexts of young people and/or their families¿ advances debates in the field by emphasising the context of young people¿s social agency. Geographies of Children, Youth and Families is an invaluable course text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of geography and the social sciences, as well as being of interest to students and practitioners of education, youth work, social policy, and social work.
Publication Date: 2011
