Personal finance is personal. There is no one way to win.
Websites
- MYMONEY.GOV
This site from the U.S. Government "is dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education." - 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy
This is provided by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants to provide information and tools "to help Americans to "understand their personal finances through any stage of life." - Consumer Information
Consumer Information from the Federal Trade Commission includes "Money & Credit," "Homes & Mortgages," "Jobs & Making Money," as well as links to free credit reports.
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries ×
100% Financial Literacy by
100% FINANCIAL LITERACY SUCCESS helps students develop the basic knowledge and skills necessary to manage their personal finances during college and beyond. Topics including personal banking, financial aid, budgeting, credit cards, and taxes are introduced through case studies to help students understand the real-world applications and begin to think critically about the role of these concepts in their own lives. Throughout the text, individual, group, and online exercises encourage students to explore and apply skills from the text, helping them create a pathway for long-term financial success.
Call Number: HG179 .W53518 2014
Focus on Personal Finance by
Focus on Personal Finance is a brief, 14-chapter book, covering the critical topics in Personal Finance courses. This 4-color, paperback text is designed and written to appeal to a range of ages, life situations, and levels of financial literacy. A unique aspect of this text is its active approach. This text will not only get your students thinking about their current situation and financial goals, but also encourage them to put these in writing to use as a guide and revise over the course of their lives. The more a student involves themselves in the assessments, exercises and worksheets provided, the more they will discover about their current habits and how to improve them for greater financial freedom. Students have many different financial goals, but none are more important than having a basic understanding of financial issues and peace of mind with regard to their decisions. The ultimate goal of Focus on Personal Finance is to get students to this point as a first step to achieving the many financial goals they have set for themselves.
Call Number: HG179 .K368 2013
Personal Finance by
Understand personal finance and put your money to work! Is your money working to increase your wealth? If not, it's time to take stock of your financial situation. Personal Finance For Dummies, 8th Edition offers time-tested financial tips and advice on how to continue to grow your financial assets in light of the changing market and economic conditions. A new breed of fiscal consciousness has arisen'and it's high time for you to join the movement by taking control over your financial life. This relevant text guides you through major financial subject areas, such as budgeting, saving, getting out of debt, making timely investment choices, and planning for the future. By looking at all aspects of your financial wellbeing, you can pinpoint the areas in which you need to change your strategy, and can identify how you can use the assets you have to continue to grow and protect your wealth. Personal finance is an important topic, as your financial wellbeing has an integral impact on so many aspects of your life. Taking the pulse of your finances every now and then is critical to ensuring that you're on the right track'and to identifying the areas in which you can improve your financial strategies. Explore time-tested financial tips and advice that help improve your financial wellbeing Consider how different aspects of your financial life work with and against one another, and how to bring them into alignment to enhance your overall financial situation Discover updated recommendations and strategies that account for changing market and economic conditions Look at your financial situation from a new perspective, and understand what you can do to improve it Personal Finance For Dummies, 8th Edition shows you how to take stock of your financial situation and put your money to work.
Call Number: HG179 .T97 2016
Personal Finance 101 by
Get your financial life in order--from saving and investing to taxes and loans--with this comprehensive, accessible guide to everything you need to know about finance. Managing your finances can be overwhelming at times. But it doesn't have to be! Personal Finance 101 will provide you with all the skills you need to make good financial decisions and grow your personal wealth. Full of must-have advice and organized in an easy-to-read format, this book provides a wealth of knowledge on personal finance basics including: -Choosing your bank (and why it matters) -Building an emergency fund -Salary and benefit packages -Where your money is going (and how to keep more of it) -Refinancing or consolidating student loans -Health and property insurance -Building credit responsibly -How to get a mortgage Use this guide and make the most of the money you have, plan for future purchases like a house or a vacation, save for retirement, or simply become more financially responsible. Perfect for finance beginners or those looking to refresh their knowledge, Personal Finance 101 is the one-stop shop for all of your personal finance questions!
Call Number: HG179 .M4596 2020Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Personal Finance in Your 20s and 30s for Dummies by
Create a solid pathway for financial success Millennials often confront greater difficulties--including economic uncertainty and student debt--than those who came before them. This new financial responsibility can be intimidating, and many people are unsure where to begin. Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies will help Millennials to be confident about managing their finances and get on a clear path toward financial security. Inside, trusted financial advisor Eric Tyson shows students and recent grads how to make smart financial decisions in order to pay off student loans, avoid any additional debt, and create a solid plan to ensure their financial success. From avoiding common money mistakes to making informed investment choices, Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies covers it all! Build a foundation through smart spending and saving Rent, buy, or sell a house File taxes the right way Protect your finances and identity in the digital world Get ready to forge your own path to financial security!
Call Number: HG179 .T982 2018
The Emotions Behind Your Money Habits
Podcasts
- The Dave Ramsey Podcast Network
Dave Ramsey started on one station in Nashville back in 1992,. Today, the show reaches 14 million combined weekly listeners. - So Money
Candid conversations for a richer, happier life. - Stacking Benjamins
Welcome to the only Academy award-winning podcast broadcasting live from Joe's mom's basement.
- Preflight Checklist: It's Your Money-Financial Flight SchoolAs students get ready to move away from home, “How will I pay for all this?” may not be at the front of their minds. This video features interviews with young adults who have made the transition and beneficial tips on budgeting, credit cards, debit cards, loans, and more. Help your students get the financial smarts they need so they can “fly solo” with confidence! Viewable/printable educational resources are available online.
- Personal Finance: When Am I Ever Going To Use This?The skills and examples in this video help students realize that using personal finance skills will impact their lives today and in the future. Real professionals explain how and why learning personal finance was a key to their current and future success. Topics Included: spending & budgeting, saving & investing, managing debt, financial planning and more.
E-books from CCBC Libraries
Financial Literacy for Millennials by
A modern primer on consumer finance and personal money management intended for readers aged 15 to 30, this guide can also serve as a primary text for high school, college, or adult education courses on personal finance. There is growing awareness that teaching consumers more about finance is an urgent national priority--and that their education should begin early. Combining practical advice with targeted information on virtually every aspect of personal finance and money management, this book is the ideal resource for young people who want to start off their financial lives properly. The guide updates traditional personal finance topics, such as budgeting, credit, debt, savings, and investment, and goes beyond those fundamentals to furnish important life lessons on such concerns as career planning, starting a business, Internet fraud, and avoiding financial scams. It even provides useful background on the tax system, how to avoid bankruptcy, legal issues young adults often face, and the plethora of government benefits they can access. In fact, young readers will come away from this book with basic knowledge of every important area of personal finance. Ideal for teens and young adults, the volume will prove useful to parents who want to educate their children about the wise use of money, preparing them to make independent financial decisions. In addition, this book can be used to meet the standards enacted in every state for developing a curriculum guide for teaching financial literacy to high school students. It can also serve as a primary or supplementary resource in personal finance or consumer economics courses for college students and adults. Provides an understanding of the structure and institutions constituting the U.S. economic system Shares knowledge about consumer finance and financial planning to enable young people to make better choices in their lives Shows how to save and invest prudently and use debt wisely and effectively Prepares millennials for the financial impact of life events so they will be empowered to take control of their financial futures Includes a series of tips that summarize the important lessons from the book
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Live It up Without Outliving Your Money! by
Completely expanded and updated, Live it Up Without Outliving Your Money! Second Edition is the financial roadmap that people are looking for. Based on the author's experience in the financial services sector since the mid-1960s, including more than 30 years as an investment advisor and money manager, this plain-talking book gives readers simple strategies to add between $1,000 and $10,000 to their monthly income in retirement, and without taking any of the dumb risks of the past. This reliable resource motivates readers to take the first steps to change their financial situation; presents multiple strategies for withdrawing money during retirement; and exposes the marketing tricks perpetrated by financial institutions. This book also includes added focus on newer issues such as ETFs, REITs, estate planning, IRA withdrawals, and updated allocation strategies. Live it Up Without Outliving Your Money! : * Allows readers to tailor a financial plan for retirement that takes into account the amount of risk they're willing to tolerate * Provides multiple strategies for withdrawing money once in retirement while also building an estate for children and other survivors * Exposes the marketing tricks and emotional ploys perpetrated by financial institutions and the personal finance media that keep investors from making the best decisions - and provide real-world examples of these deceptions * Motivates readers to take the first steps to change their financial situation, which is the most difficult part of the strategy * Includes a dozen worksheets to help readers grapple with retirement planning
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Student Debt by
Offering answers to essential questions about student debt and many connected issues, this book examines student debt in the United States at every stage of the process--from the banks that issue the loans to the colleges and universities that collect the payments. Student lending in the United States is one of the most controversial issues in contemporary American discourse. Are these loans the only option for Americans who want to attend college and university in order to attain the best careers and have a productive, enjoyable life? Should the predatory lending practices of for-profit colleges and universities be stopped? How can limits be imposed on student lending amounts without preventing students from getting the education they need to succeed? The book explains why so many students are borrowing large amounts of money to attend college; considers whether the cost of higher education is simply too high, and if there should be a cap on how much money students can borrow; explains what is contributing to the rising rate of borrowers defaulting on their loans; and predicts whether the so-called student loan bubble is in danger of popping. The Data and Documents chapter analyzes data gathered from discussions about student debt. This information enables readers to better understand who is borrowing student loans, what the money from the student loans is going toward, what individuals have the authority to decide who qualifies for these loans, and what is being done to curb wasteful student spending. Provides a thorough and accessible treatment of student loans that fills a large gap in the reference literature Presents arguments both for and against student lending, making this an excellent resource for students writing persuasive essays on either side of the topic Supplies highly useful, easy-to-understand information for students as well as general readers who want to learn more about student loans and grasp the key issues of this important socioeconomic issue
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Your Money and Your Life by
Your financial health is more than a mere collection of debits and credits on a balance sheet. In fact, the numbers on a financial statement represent a series of decisions that, if made strategically, can ensure that each of us maintains our desired standard of living at every age and stage of life. Many people think that key financial choices are too complicated to make on their own. However, with the right information and guidance, we can all secure our own financial future. Your Money and Your Life is more than your average guide to financial planning and retirement. Acclaimed author and speaker Robert Z. Aliber helps readers to make efficient and effective financial decisions at key moments throughout their lives, such as where to go to college; if and when to buy a home; how much insurance, if any, to buy; how to manage savings and retirement; when the time is right to approach a professional advisor; and how to proceed with estate planning. With an eye toward the issues that are most pressing in today's economy, Aliber clearly explains the sophisticated concepts that underpin everyday money management--with the goal of making this guide the go-to reference in your financial planning library, regardless of your age or wealth. Readers of this book will come away with the sense that Aliber is their own financial planner, offering strategies that will help to guide them toward security in the present and the future. Your Money and Your Life is filled with examples to which readers will be able to relate, as well as checklists of "actionables" to help make their plans realities.
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
