Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Personal Finance by
Directed primarily toward undergraduate finance majors, this text also provides practical content to current and aspiring industry professionals, or anyone interested in learning how to manage their personal finances. Personal Finance takes a hands-on approach to building a financial plan. The text's seven parts each cover one section of a financial plan; Chapter 21 is the capstone. A running example throughout the book and a variety of end-of-chapter cases reinforce the practical aspects of planning.
Call Number: HG179 .M252 2014
Personal Finance in Your 20s and 30s for Dummies by
Create a solid pathway for financial success Millennials often confront greater difficulties--including economic uncertainty and student debt--than those who came before them. This new financial responsibility can be intimidating, and many people are unsure where to begin. Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies will help Millennials to be confident about managing their finances and get on a clear path toward financial security. Inside, trusted financial advisor Eric Tyson shows students and recent grads how to make smart financial decisions in order to pay off student loans, avoid any additional debt, and create a solid plan to ensure their financial success. From avoiding common money mistakes to making informed investment choices, Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies covers it all! Build a foundation through smart spending and saving Rent, buy, or sell a house File taxes the right way Protect your finances and identity in the digital world Get ready to forge your own path to financial security!
Call Number: HG179 .T982 2018
You Need a Budget by
Wall Street Journal Bestseller Experience a life free of financial stress and transform your relationship to money with this indispensable guide--the first book based on You Need A Budget's proven method that has helped hundreds of thousands of people break the paycheck to paycheck cycle, get out of debt, and live the life they want to live. No one should tell you what to do with your money--only you know what's most important to you. Always guiding you back to your true priorities, Jesse Mecham will fundamentally change the way you think about your money and what it can do for you. His proven method--four, simple rules--will transform money management from a paralyzing burden to a powerful tool, putting you in total control of your life: Give Every Dollar A Job. Be intentional about what you want your money to do before you spend it. Embrace Your True Expenses. Break up larger, less frequent expenses into smaller, more manageable amounts. By saving monthly for insurance premiums, holidays, or car repairs, when the time comes, your money is ready and waiting to do its job. Roll With The Punches. When life changes, so must your budget. Make adjustments and move along. Flexible budgets succeed because they're guilt-free, realistic, and sustainable. Age Your Money. As you repeat the first three rules, you'll increase the time between the moment you earn a dollar and the moment you need to spend it. When your money is at least a month old, you'll have finally broken the paycheck to paycheck cycle for good. This tried-and-true system has changed the lives of hundreds of thousands of people by teaching them how to take charge, adjust money habits, eliminate stress, and build the life they want to live. Don't waste another month counting down the minutes until payday....
Call Number: HG179 .M394 2017
Online From CCBC Libraries
Decision Making and Budgeting by
Students often encounter difficulty making a financial plan and sticking with it. Decision Making and Budgeting teaches them how to discover their financial goals and how to make a budget in order to best reach those goals. This helpful new volume features a wide assortment of useful features to get students excited about planning their financial future, including full-color photographs, an index, glossary, sidebars, and quizzes. Chapters include: Making Decisions Setting Goals Budgeting Insurance Consumer Decisions Consumer Rights and Avoiding Scams.
Call Number: HG179 .H374 2012 v.1
Managing Money by
Themes: Life Skills, Career, Achieve Independence, Skills, Money Management, Budgeting, Nonfiction, Handbook, Teen, Young Adult, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Combining practical content with visual appeal, the 21st Century Life Skills handbooks read more like a magazine than a book. Highly readable with full-color photographs, a smaller trim size and an eye-popping layout, these 120-page handbooks are great for teaching life skills to a twenty-first century population. The 10 handbooks in this series will provide readers a thorough and non-threatening introduction to the multi-dimensional competencies, concepts, and vocabulary they need to achieve independences--including community resources, job searching, money management, job etiquette, health, moving and more. Used along or in conjunction with the 21st Century Life Skills worktexts, these handbooks offer students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy. The handbook is a thorough and non-threatening introduction to: The Wise Buyer; Shopping for Goods; Shopping for Services; Consumer Rights. This handbook offers students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy.
Publication Date: 2011-12-25
Budgeting and Financial Decision Making
This program gives students a solid grounding in a variety of real-life money matters: it provides financial decision-making methods, advises on consumer concerns such as buying versus renting, outlines insurance types and terminology, and discusses the financial scams that students are most likely to encounter. Reviewing the critical concepts of impulse buying and opportunity cost, the video also demonstrates how to set goals and create a budget based on the 50/30/20 plan. Highlights include graphical breakdowns of the PMI and PACED decision-making methods, maintaining wireless Internet security to avoid identity theft, and a realistic way to choose when faced with a not-so-simple yes-or-no financial decision. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Meridian Production. Part of the series Personal Finance Essentials.
Title from resource description page (viewed Mar. 12, 2014).
Summary After college, Rachel was living the good life. She landed a job as a yoga instructor, rented a great apartment and drove around in a sporty new car. She hardly thought twice about buying concert tickets, new outfits, or the latest electronic gadgets. Eventually, though, it all caught up with her. Every-day expenses, taxes and unexpected bills depleted her salary. She found herself in serious financial trouble. Luckily, one of her students with some financial knowhow came to her aid. With his help, she learned the value of preparing and sticking to a budget and how to plan for the future. Along with Rachel, your students will learn how to prepare a basic household budget; why setting goals is a part of financial planning; the importance of keeping track of one's spending ; how to organize household money matters; ways to audit spending habits and discover expensive 'blind spots;' simple lifestyle changes that can help save money; and how to put all the pieces together in a budget that meets your goals.
Ask Farnoosh: So Money
On this Friday’s Ask Farnoosh listeners ask: Are investing courses worth it? How to anticipate and budget for home maintenance costs? How to ask for a raise after learning a colleague makes more? How to set financial boundaries with family members you are supporting?
Bad With Money with Gaby Dunn
Tips from the Budgetnista: Tiffany Aliche
You all asked for it so Gaby finally relented. We talk finally budgeting with The Budgetnista Tiffany Aliche of the Brown Ambition podcast. How can you budget in a capitalist world?