Print books at CCBC Libraries
Annotated African American Folktales by Call Number: GR111.A47 A55 2018
The Classic Fairy Tales by Call Number: GR550 .C57 2017
The Complete Fairy Tales by
Charles Perrault's versions gave classic status to the humble fairy tale, and it is in his telling that the stories of Little Red Riding-Hood, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella and the rest have been passed down from the seventeenth century to the present day. Perrault's tales were enjoyed in thesalons of Louis XIV as much as they were loved in the nursery, and it is their wit, humour, and lively detail that capture the imagination of adult and child alike. They transmute into vivid fantasies the hidden fears and conflicts by which children are affected: fears of abandonment, or worse,conflicts with siblings and parents, and the trials of growing up. This new translation by Christopher Betts exactly captures the tone and flavour of Perrault's world, and the delightful spirit of the originals.In addition to the familiar stories, this edition also includes the three verse tales - the troubling account of patient Griselda, the comic Three Silly Wishes, and the notorious Donkey-Skin. The introduction explores the nature of the stories and how they have been interpreted; Gustave Dore'swonderful illustrations add a further dimension to their imaginative power.
Call Number: PQ1877 .A27 2009Publication Date: 2009-10-04
The Golden Age of Folk and Fairy Tales by
In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, attitudes toward history and national identity fostered a romantic rediscovery of folk and fairy tales. This is the period of the Golden Age of folk and fairy tales, when European folklorists sought to understand and redefine the present through the common tales of the past, and long neglected stories became recognized as cultural treasures. In this rich collection, distinguished expert of fairy tales Jack Zipes continues his lifelong exploration of the story-telling tradition with a focus on the Golden Age. Included are one hundred eighty-two tales--many available in English for the first time--grouped into eighteen tale types. Zipes provides an engaging general Introduction that discusses the folk and fairy tale tradition, the impact of the Brothers Grimm, and the significance of categorizing tales into various types. Short introductions to each tale type that discuss its history, characteristics, and variants provide readers with important background information. Also included are annotations, short biographies of folklorists of the period, and a substantial bibliography. Eighteen original art works by students of the art department of Anglia Ruskin University not only illustrate the eighteen tale types, but also provide delightful--and sometimes astonishing--21st-century artistic interpretations of them.
Call Number: GR550 .G58 2013Publication Date: 2013-03-15
The Lost Princess by
Once upon a time: the forgotten female fabulists whose heroines flipped the fairy tale script. People often associate fairy tales with Disney films and with the male authors from whom Disney often drew inspiration--notably Charles Perrault, the Brothers Grimm, and Hans Christian Andersen. In these portrayals, the princess is a passive, compliant figure. By contrast, The Lost Princess shows that classic fairy tales such as "Cinderella," "Rapunzel," and "Beauty and the Beast" have a much richer, more complex history than Disney's saccharine depictions. Anne E. Duggan recovers the voices of women writers such as Marie-Catherine d'Aulnoy, Marie-Jeanne L'Héritier, and Charlotte-Rose de La Force, who penned popular tales about ogre-killing, pregnant, cross-dressing, dynamic heroines who saved the day. This new history will appeal to anyone who wants to know more about the lost, plucky heroines of historic fairy tales.
Call Number: PN471 .D84 2023Publication Date: 2023-12-04
More Than True by Call Number: PN3437 .B59 2018
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by Call Number: GR166 .G54313 2015
The Turnip Princess and Other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales by Call Number: GR167.B3 S3785 2015Wild Things by
Call Number: PN1009.A1 H2576 2017
Women Who Fly by Call Number: BL473.5 .Y685 2018
Types of Sources
Two kinds of information are needed in your papers:
1. Background information: Give your instructor background information about the topic.
2. Evidence information: Find resources that give evidence for your thesis argument.
Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on literary criticism, and biographies of authors from many countries.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, images, and primary sources about many subjects.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about humanities topics like arts, history, language, law, literature, philosophy, and politics.
- Arts & Humanities Database
Articles on arts including visual arts, architecture, design, music, literature, and theatre,
and humanities including history, philosophy, and cultural studies.
Websites
- Andrew Lang's Fairy BooksAndrew Lang known primarily as a historian, literary critic, and translator collected and adapted dozens of fairy tales in a veritable rainbow of books between 1889 and1907. While the bulk of Lang's output was for adults, his interest in fairy tales and other childhood mythologies represents an important strain in Victorian thought, in which fantasy and imagination were recognized as important seats of learning and education.
- Folklinks: Folk and Fairy Tale Sites - D.L. Ashliman
A companion to Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook
Greenwood Press - Project Gutenberg (Search by Author's Name)
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today. - SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations. Also discover over 1,600 folktales & fairy tales from around the world in more than 40 full-text eBooks.
Other Useful Guides
eBooks online from CCBC Libraries
Beasts at Bedtime by Publication Date: 2018
Fairy Tale: a Very Short Introduction by
From wicked queens, beautiful princesses, elves, monsters, and goblins, to giants, glass slippers, poisoned apples, magic keys, and mirrors, the characters and images of fairy tales have cast a spell over readers and audiences, both adults and children, for centuries. These fantastic storieshave travelled across cultural borders, and been passed on from generation to generation, ever-changing, renewed with each re-telling. Few forms of literature have greater power to enchant us and rekindle our imagination than a fairy tale.But what is a fairy tale? Where do they come from and what do they mean? What do they try and communicate to us about morality, sexuality, and society? The range of fairy tales stretches across great distances and time; their history is entangled with folklore and myth, and their inspiration drawson ideas about nature and the supernatural, imagination and fantasy, psychoanalysis, and feminism. In this Very Short Introduction, Marina Warner digs into a rich hoard of fairy tales in all their brilliant and fantastical variations, in order to define a genre and evaluate a literary form thatkeeps shifting through time and history. Drawing on a glittering array of examples, from classics such as Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, and The Sleeping Beauty, the Grimm Brothers' Hansel and Gretel, and Hans Andersen's The Little Mermaid, to modern-day realizations including Walt Disney's SnowWhite, Warner forms a persuasive case for fairy tale as a crucial repository of human understanding and culture.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: eBook GR550Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Fairy Tales Framed by Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Folktales and Fairy Tales by Publication Date: 2016-02-12
How Fairy Tales Live Happily Ever after: (Analyzing) the Art of Adapting Fairy Tales by Publication Date: 2014-06-01
The Routledge Companion to Media and Fairy-Tale Cultures by Publication Date: 2018-03-28
The Story Within - Myth and Fairy Tale in Therapy by
Somewhere hidden in the depths of each story lies a treasure waiting to be discovered... This creative arts therapies approach uses myth and fairy tale to explore personal challenges. Clients begin by choosing a myth or fairy tale character they feel drawn to, but don't know why. They and their chosen character then embark on a guided creative journey that leads them to discover hidden, unconscious, aspects of themselves. The process is holistic, using all the arts. In addition to explaining the theoretical background of this approach, the book provides detailed step-by-step instructions for readers to follow for their own personal exploration, including specific creative exercises at each stage, and guidelines for using the approach with clients. Also included are clinical case vignettes, reflections from people who have experienced the process, and the authors own personal journey. Whether you are a creative arts therapist seeking to expand your practice, or a health professional searching for a new, creative way of working with clients, The Story Within is an exciting new resource.
Call Number: eBook RC489.B48 S55 2020Publication Date: 2020-04-21
