Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Bibliotherapy by Bibliotherapy: When Kids Need Books includes an annotated list of books that address over 50 topics that kids (grades 4-12) most often deal with. Included in each entry is complete bibliographic information, grade level appropriateness, and a brief summary. Some of the 50 topics include: Adoption, Alcohol Abuse (parent and child), Child Abuse, Individuality, Internet Issues/Safety, Peer Pressure, Sexuality, Teen Pregnancy, and much more. Also included in the book is a succinct explanation of how to use bibliotherapy for those directly affected by issues, for parents and loved ones of those affected, and for teachers and educators involved with young adults who are inevitably dealing with one of the issues addressed in this book. The most important qualification that the author brings to this book is a genuine care and concern for her students. Everyone has dealt with at least one of the issues listed in this book at some point in his/her lifetime. Whether that issue was conquered with the help of a loved one, through therapy, or is still weighing on the individual, the therapeutic power of a book is often overlooked. The reassurance gained when an individual learns that they are not the only one, can open several doors of communication, and can put one on the road to recovery or coming to terms with an issue. In schools, bibliotherapy can greatly increase the connectivity of curriculum to the individual student. A genuine relation to a book can help students cope with their current situation. An added bonus is that with the increased interest, academic growth is more likely to occur. In addition, those who want to help, but don't understand what their loved one is going through, can gain empathy by reading about a similar situation. This will better equip an individual to open the lines of communication with someone they care about.
Call Number: Z6675.B5 R43 2008
The Cambridge Companion to Children's Literature by Some of the most innovative and spell-binding literature has been written for young people, but only recently has academic study embraced its range and complexity. This Companion offers a state-of-the-subject survey of English-language children's literature from the seventeenth century to the present. With discussions ranging from eighteenth-century moral tales to modern fantasies by J. K. Rowling and Philip Pullman, the Companion illuminates acknowledged classics and many more neglected works. Its unique structure means that equal consideration can be given to both texts and contexts. Some chapters analyse key themes and major genres, including humour, poetry, school stories, and picture books. Others explore the sociological dimensions of children's literature and the impact of publishing practices. Written by leading scholars from around the world, this Companion will be essential reading for all students and scholars of children's literature, offering original readings and new research that reflects the latest developments in the field.
Call Number: PR990 .C363 2010
Children's Fantasy Literature by Fantasy has been an important and much-loved part of children's literature for hundreds of years, yet relatively little has been written about it. Children's Fantasy Literature traces the development of the tradition of the children's fantastic - fictions specifically written for children and fictions appropriated by them - from the sixteenth to the twenty-first century, examining the work of Lewis Carroll, L. Frank Baum, C. S. Lewis, Roald Dahl, J. K. Rowling and others from across the English-speaking world. The volume considers changing views on both the nature of the child and on the appropriateness of fantasy for the child reader, the role of children's fantasy literature in helping to develop the imagination, and its complex interactions with issues of class, politics and gender. The text analyses hundreds of works of fiction, placing each in its appropriate context within the tradition of fantasy literature.
Call Number: PN1009.5.F37 L48 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-16
Children's Literature by Ever since children have learned to read, there has been children?s literature. Children?s Literature charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop?s fables to Mother Goose, from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to Peter Pan, from Where the Wild Things Are to Harry Potter. The only single-volume work to capture the rich and diverse history of children?s literature in its full panorama, this extraordinary book reveals why J. R. R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Beatrix Potter, and many others, despite their divergent styles and subject matter, have all resonated with generations of readers. Children?s Literature is an exhilarating quest across centuries, continents, and genres to discover how, and why, we first fall in love with the written word. ?Lerer has accomplished something magical. Unlike the many handbooks to children?s literature that synopsize, evaluate, or otherwise guide adults in the selection of materials for children, this work presents a true critical history of the genre. . . . Scholarly, erudite, and all but exhaustive, it is also entertaining and accessible. Lerer takes his subject seriously without making it dull.??Library Journal (starred review) ?Lerer?s history reminds us of the wealth of literature written during the past 2,600 years. . . . With his vast and multidimensional knowledge of literature, he underscores the vital role it plays in forming a child?s imagination. We are made, he suggests, by the books we read.??San Francisco Chronicle ?There are dazzling chapters on John Locke and Empire, and nonsense, and Darwin, but Lerer?s most interesting chapter focuses on girls? fiction. . . . A brilliant series of readings.??Diane Purkiss, Times Literary Supplement
Call Number: PN1009.A1 L44 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-15
Literature for Children by Literature for Children: A Short Introduction, 8/e is a concise, accessible, text that provides a solid understanding of the foundations of children's literature across its various genres from picture books to folk literature. In his usual engaging style, popular author David Russell stresses that students need to first appreciate literature in order to later use and teach it effectively in their own classrooms. The text's user-friendly format includes a wealth of real examples from literature, and its concise presentation allows students to spend more time reading actual children's books. Substantially updated to bring the text and its resource lists in line with today's most current scholarship, the Eighth Edition includes a list of the winners of the Orbis Picture Awards for children's nonfiction, annotated recommended booklists, and discussions of important topics such as the Common Core curriculum, using technology in the classroom, teaching folktales, twenty-five uses of poetry, and critical approaches to literature that demonstrate a variety of ways of reading children's books.
Call Number: PN1009.A1 R87 2015
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by The last thirty years have witnessed one of the most fertile periods in the history of children's books: the flowering of imaginative illustration and writing, the Harry Potter phenomenon, the rise of young adult and crossover fiction, and books that tackle extraordinarily difficult subjects.The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature. Its 3,500 entries cover every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns.Originally published in 1983, the Companion has been comprehensively revised and updated by Daniel Hahn. Over 900 new entries bring the book right up to date. A whole generation of new authors and illustrators are showcased, with books like Dogger, The Hunger Games, and Twilight making their firstappearance. There are articles on developments such as manga, fan fiction, and non-print publishing, and there is additional information on prizes and prizewinners.This accessible A to Z is the first place to look for information about the authors, illustrators, printers, publishers, educationalists, and others who have influenced the development of children's literature, as well as the stories and characters at their centre. Written both to entertain and toinstruct, the highly acclaimed Oxford Companion to Children's Literature is a reference work that no one interested in the world of children's books should be without.
Call Number: PN1008.5 .C37 2015
Mac Barnett: Why A Good Book Is A Secret Door
Online from CCBC Libraries
Bridges to Understanding by This is the fourth volume sponsored by the United States Board on Books for Young People, following Children's Books from Other Countries (1998), The World Through Children's Books (2002), and Crossing Boundaries (2006). This latest volume, edited by Linda M. Pavonetti, includes books published between 2005 and 2009. This annotated bibliography, organized geographically by world region and country, with descriptions of nearly 700 books representing more than 70 countries, is a valuable resource for librarians, teachers, and anyone else seeking to promote international understanding through children's literature. Like its predecessors, it will be an important tool for providing stories that will help children understand our differences while simultaneously demonstrating our common humanity.
Publication Date: 2011-08-18
Children's Literature by Provides a thorough history of British and North American children's literature from the 17th century to the present day Now fully revised and updated, this new edition includes: *nbsp;a new chapter on illustrated and picture books (and includesnbsp;8 illustrations); *nbsp;an expanded glossary; * an updated further reading section. Children's Literature traces the development of the main genres of children's books one by one, including fables, fantasy, adventure stories, moral tales, family stories, school stories, children's poetry and illustrated and picture books. Grenby shows how these forms have evolved over 300 years and asks why most children's books, even today, continue to fall into one or other of these generic categories. Combining detailed analysis of particular key texts and a broad survey of hundreds of books written and illustrated for children, this volume considers both long forgotten and still famous titles, as well as the new classics of the genre - all of them loved by children and adults alike, but also fascinating and challenging for the critic and cultural historian. Key Features *nbsp;Broad historical range *nbsp;Coverage of neglected as well as well-known texts *nbsp;Focus on the main genres of children's literature *nbsp;Thoroughly up-to-date in terms of primary texts and critical material
Publication Date: 2014-05-14
Fairy Tales and True Stories by Russian literature for children and young people has a history that goes back over 400 years, starting in the late sixteenth century with the earliest alphabet primers and passing through many different phases over the centuries that followed. It has its own success stories and tragedies, talented writers and mediocrities, bestsellers and long-forgotten prize winners. After their seizure of power in 1917, the Bolsheviks set about creating a new culture for a new man and a starting point was children's literature. 70 years of Soviet control and censorship were succeeded in the 1990s by a re-birth of Russian children's literature. This book charts the whole of this story, setting Russian authors and their books in the context of translated literature, critical debates and official cultural policy.
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Multicultural Children's Literature by Preparing K-12 teachers to address today's social, cultural, and critical issues using multicultural children's books Written in an engaging style, this comprehensive text prepares K-12 teachers to address a wide range of contemporary social issues-such as violence, gender, war, terrorism, child labor, censorship, and disabilities-through multicultural children's literature. Each chapter includes sample lessons plans designed to encourage critical and creative thinking at the elementary and secondary levels and an annotated bibliography that makes it easy for teachers and librarians to choose multicultural children books that address specific critical issues.Key FeaturesThe evolution of multicultural children's literature is covered, including discussion of controversies and issues around its definitions and uses.Reflection Questions for the Teacher provide readers with practical techniques they can use as they prepare lessons around a given critical issue.Sample Response Lessons demonstrate how to address critical issues using multicultural literature in K-12 classrooms. An Annotated Bibliography at the end of each chapter lists specific multicultural children's books organized around each critical issue.
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Oral Literature for Children by This book is the first ever major effort to document and study hundreds of texts from an African (Ugandan) oral culture for children - folktales, riddles, and rhymes - and at the same time to make them available in the local languages and to focus on their cultural and national value. The author surveys the history of collecting in Uganda and situates the texts in their broader geographical, historical, socio-cultural and educational setting, including the early collecting efforts of heritage-minded Ugandans and European missionaries. Most of this preservational work is elusive and under-explored - so that the present book constitutes a major pioneering summary of Ugandan oral culture for children.The book addresses key questions such as: What happens when we collect, transcribe, and translate an oral text? How do we transfer components of the oral text to the page? What are the challenges of translating oral forms targeting specifi¬cally a child audience, and what choices ought to be made in the process? The book provides possible ways of rethink¬ing the debate about orality and literacy as modes of representation - the generic interrelationship between the oral and the written text, and how the two can enter dialogue through transcription and translation. The latter are effective means to archive these oral forms for children and use them to promote literacy and numeracy skills in predominantly oral communities.In the current institutions of formal education in Uganda, this coexistence of orality and literacy is evident in the class¬room environment, where the oral text is turned into words on the page to encourage literacy. Through transcription, the collector is able to capture oral texts in other forms - audio, written, visual, and digital. With the new technologies available, the task is not as arduous as in the past, and the information thus captured is made available in all its wealth for purposes of instruction or entertainment.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and some articles about education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on early childhood, primary, secondary, and higher education, and multilingual education, and health education.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on literary criticism, and biographies of authors from many countries.