Diversity and Folk Narratives
African-American Folktales by
This collection illuminates the unbroken chain of the black oral tradition which is alive in America. The Youngs, who are storytellers and teachers, have assembled an anthology that bears out both the richness and variety of a cultural heritage that has crossed the Atlantic, survived the ignominy of slavery, and triumphed over the ignorance of racism and bigotry. In his introduction, Dr. Rex Ellis underscores the multicultural opportunity this collection offers: They are stories that continue to ....
Call Number: GR111 .A47 Y68 1993
Call It Courage by
Based on a Polynesian legend, this is the story of a youth who overcomes his fear of the sea and proves his courage to himself and his tribe.
Call Number: PZ8.1.S75 CAL, Newbery Winner
The Cat Who Went to Heaven by
This is the story of a little cat who came to the home of a poor Japanese artist and, by humility and devotion, brought him good fortune.
Call Number: Juv.PZ7.C6294 Ca 1958, Newbery Winner
A Treasury of Japanese Folktales by
Learn Japanese and enjoy folktales at the same time with this whimsically illustrated multicultural children's book! This bilingual edition of A Treasury of Japanese Folktales--presented in both English and Japanese--contains 12 of the best Japanese legends and fairy tales, told to generation after generation of Japanese children. Originally written in English by Yuri Yasuda, based on her interpretations of traditional Japanese tales, these charming stories of rich imagination are now accompanied by Japanese text by Yumi Matsunari and Yumi Yamaguchi. The Japanese text includes basic kanji accompanied by furigana to help beginning learners to recognize and learn the characters. Adventures carry us, on turtle-back, to the splendors of the underwater palace of the dragon princess, to the beautiful hills where Kintaro plays with his animal friends, and to a temple where we discover a "tea kettle" that is really a cunning badger in disguise. The 98 color illustrations bring to life the charming characters of these heart-warming tales of old Japan, which include: Shitakiri Suzume, the Tongue-Cut Sparrow Kintaro, the Strong Boy Kaguya Hime, the Luminous Princess Momotaro, the Peach Boy Bunbuku Chagama, the Lucky Cauldron
Call Number: Juv.PZ49.41 .Y37 2010
Boys and Reading
The Boy Crisis by
What is the boy crisis? It's a crisis of education. Worldwide, boys are 50 percent less likely than girls to meet basic proficiency in reading, math, and science. It's a crisis of mental health. ADHD is on the rise. And as boys become young men, their suicide rates go from equal to girls to six times that of young women. It's a crisis of fathering. Boys are growing up with less-involved fathers and are more likely to drop out of school, drink, do drugs, become delinquent, and end up in prison. It's a crisis of purpose. Boys' old sense of purpose--being a warrior, a leader, or a sole breadwinner--are fading. Many bright boys are experiencing a "purpose void," feeling alienated, withdrawn, and addicted to immediate gratification. So, what is The Boy Crisis? A comprehensive blueprint for what parents, teachers, and policymakers can do to help our sons become happier, healthier men, and fathers and leaders worthy of our respect.
Call Number: HQ775 .F37 2018
Boys and Literacy by
Literacy and boys is currently a hot issue in education and the media. This new book by award winning authors Knowles and Smith explores the facts and research on the topic and furnishes annotations of current, relevant journal and magazine articles. It gives strategies for making changes in the classroom and the home to help improve the literacy of boys and includes suggestions based on current brain research. Chapters focusing on genres of particular interest to boys (horror, adventure, science fiction, war, fantasy, mysteries, etc.) include information, annotated journal articles, general discussion questions, at least ten book annotations, and a list of additional titles for each genre. All titles also include a reading level and one chapter features graphic novels. Helpful appendices furnish information about magazines and authors of particular interest to boys. Grades 4-8.
Call Number: Z1039.B67 K66 2005
Boys Will Be Boys? by
" This book addresses the issue of preadolescent boys literacy practices and the social construction of their identities as they navigate multiple classroom literacies. Exploring the role of the teacher, the role of multiple literacies and the way they "count" or do not count in the classroom curriculum through qualitative and quantitative findings, allows educators to rethink and reflect upon current instructional beliefs and practices. As educators align their curriculum with the Common Core Standards it is imperative for them to consider how they will meet each students' individual learning styles. Demonstrating growth across time through artifact collection, and analysis and teacher research inquiries, will demand that teachers release pre-conceived notions concerning gender and literacy practices. At the end of each chapter there is a self-reflection as transformative practice, teacher research questionnaire that invites the opportunity to take what is shared in each chapter and apply it immediately to instructional practices and classroom environment decisions."
Call Number: eBook
Connecting Boys with Books 2 by
Drawing on more than 20 years of experience, Sullivan shows how to reinvigorate the sense of excitement that boys felt when they first heard a picture book being read aloud.
Call Number: eBook
Supporting Boys' Learning by
Supporting Boys' Learning will help teachers develop knowledge and strategies for teaching boys in ways that build on their strengths, respect their individual development levels, and adhere to principles of child development. There is a growing body of research that has raised concerns about boys' vulnerability in terms of social-emotional development, referral to special education, and academic pressures in school, with African-American and Latino boys most at risk. Responding to these concerns, this user-friendly guide provides strategies for improving teaching practice. The text is based on the work of a group of teacher educators and includes examples from the field, reflections on practice, classroom strategies, and key resources. The strategies and recommendations for practice documented here have all been field tested by preservice teachers under the supervision of the contributors to this book.
Call Number: LC1390 .S67 2010
Literature for Children and Adolescents: Children's Literature in the 21st Century
- Literature for Children and Adolescents: Children's Literature in the 21st Century
Traces the evolution of teaching practices in Reading. Discussion highlights the value of an integrated language philosophy and the rationale behind a balanced reading program.See full details
Directed by Mark Traverso, Produced by Mark Traverso, In Literature for Children and Adolescents (University Park, IL: Governors State University), 1 hour
Reading and Writing Strategies
- Strategic Thinking: Reading and Responding
othing matters more than kids' thinking. As teachers, we want to honor kids' thinking and teach them to become critical, thoughtful, independent readers. To help them turn thinking into meaning and to understand what they read, students need an arsenal of strategies to navigate and synthesize text. And they need to know when, where, and how, to use these strategies. Strategic Thinking builds on the comprehension instruction in the book, Strategies That Work, and the videotape series Strategy Instruction In Action. In this four-part video series, Stephanie Harvey and Anne Goudvis spend a week with Jessica Lawrence and her middle school language arts students. They focus on teaching the comprehension strategies of inferring in fiction and determining importance in nonfiction.
Helpful Web Sites
- Award Winning Books for Children
Includes Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King awards and more.
Newbery Award Winners (these are just a few of the medal winners)
The Eyes and the Impossible by
NEWBERY MEDAL WINNER * #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * An enthralling middle-grade novel by award-winning author Dave Eggers, told from the perspective of one uniquely endearing dog-- featuring beautiful color artwork with illustrations by Caldecott honoree Shawn Harris. "Johannes is a highly engaging narrator whose exuberance and good nature run like a bright thread through the novel's pages." --The New York Times Johannes, a free dog, lives in an urban park by the sea. His job is to be the Eyes--to see everything that happens within the park and report back to the park's elders, three ancient Bison. His friends--a seagull, a raccoon, a squirrel, and a pelican--work with him as the Assistant Eyes, observing the humans and other animals who share the park and making sure the Equilibrium is in balance. But changes are afoot. More humans, including Trouble Travelers, arrive in the park. A new building, containing mysterious and hypnotic rectangles, goes up. And then there are the goats--an actual boatload of goats--who appear, along with a shocking revelation that changes Johannes's view of the world. A story about friendship, beauty, liberation, and running very, very fast, The Eyes & the Impossible will make readers of all ages see the world around them in a wholly new way.
Call Number: PZ7.1.E296 Ey 2023
Freewater (Newbery and Coretta Scott King Award Winner) by
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award An Indiebound Bestseller A New York Times Bestseller Award-winning author Amina Luqman-Dawson pens a lyrical, accessible historical middle-grade novel about two enslaved children's escape from a plantation and the many ways they find freedom. Under the cover of night, twelve-year-old Homer flees Southerland Plantation with his little sister Ada, unwillingly leaving their beloved mother behind. Much as he adores her and fears for her life, Homer knows there's no turning back, not with the overseer on their trail. Through tangled vines, secret doorways, and over a sky bridge, the two find a secret community called Freewater, deep in the swamp. In this society created by formerly enslaved people and some freeborn children, Homer finds new friends, almost forgetting where he came from. But when he learns of a threat that could destroy Freewater, he crafts a plan to find his mother and help his new home. Deeply inspiring and loosely based on the history of maroon communities in the South, this is a striking tale of survival, adventure, friendship, and courage.
Call Number: PZ7.1.L865 Fr 2022Publication Date: 2022-02-01
The Last Cuentista by
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Pura Belpré Award TIME's Best Books of the Year Wall Street Journal's Best of the Year Minneapolis Star Tribune's Best of the Year Boston Globe's Best of the Year BookPage's Best of the Year Publishers Weekly's Best of the Year School Library Journal's Best of the Year Kirkus Reviews' Best of the Year Bank Street's Best of the Year Chicago Public Library's Best of the Best New York Public Library Best of the Year A Junior Library Guild Selection Cybils Award Finalist From Pura Belpré Award winner and Newbery Medalist, Donna Barba Higuera--a brilliant journey through the stars, to the very heart of what makes us human. "Gripping in its twists and turns, and moving in its themes - truly a beautiful cuento."--New York Times "Clever and compelling . wonderfully subversive."--The Wall Street Journal ★ "This tale packs a wallop. Exquisite."--Kirkus Reviews (starred) ★ "Gripping, euphonious, and full of storytelling magic."--Publishers Weekly (starred) ★ "A strong, heroic character, fighting incredible odds to survive and protect others."--School Library Journal (starred) Había una vez . . . There lived a girl named Petra Peña, who wanted nothing more than to be a storyteller, like her abuelita. But Petra's world is ending. Earth has been destroyed by a comet, and only a few hundred scientists and their children - among them Petra and her family - have been chosen to journey to a new planet. They are the ones who must carry on the human race. Hundreds of years later, Petra wakes to this new planet - and the discovery that she is the only person who remembers Earth. A sinister Collective has taken over the ship during its journey, bent on erasing the sins of humanity's past. They have systematically purged the memories of all aboard - or purged them altogether. Petra alone now carries the stories of our past, and with them, any hope for our future. Can she make them live again?
Call Number: PZ7.1.H5468 Las 2021
When You Trap a Tiger by
WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL . NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother. Some stories refuse to stay bottled up... When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni's Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal--return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni's health--Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice...and the courage to face a tiger. Tae Keller, the award-winning author of The Science of Breakable Things, shares a sparkling tale about the power of stories and the magic of family. Think Walk Two Moons meets Where the Mountain Meets the Moon! "If stories were written in the stars ... this wondrous tale would be one of the brightest." --Booklist, Starred Review
Call Number: PZ7.1.K418 Whe 2020Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Poetry
Something Big Has Been Here by
Here are four vain and ancient tortoises, a rat of culture, Super Samson Simpson, a meat loaf that defies an ax, five flying hotdogs--and many, many more people, animals, and things that are destined to become part of the lives of everyone who loves to laugh. Say them, chant them, learn them by heart, or just read them--Jack Prelutsky's poems are incomparable.--From publisher description.
Call Number: Juv.PS3566.R36 S66 2010
Out of the Dust by
In a series of poems, fifteen-year-old Billie Jo relates the hardships of living on her family's wheat farm in Oklahoma during the dust bowl years of the Depression. Dust piles up like snow across the prairie. A terrible accident has transformed Billie Jo's life, scarring her inside and out. Her mother is gone. Her father can't talk about it. And the one thing that might make her feel better -- playing the piano -- is impossible with her wounded hands. To make matters worse, dust storms are devastating the family farm and all the farms nearby. While others flee from the dust bowl, Billie Jo is left to find peace in the bleak landscape of Oklahoma -- and in the surprising landscape of her own heart.
Call Number: PZ7.H4364 O9 1999, Newbery Winner
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by
Welcome to the night, where mice stir and furry moths flutter. Where snails spiral into shells as orb spiders circle in silk. Where the roots of oak trees recover and repair from their time in the light. Where the porcupette eats delicacies-raspberry leaves!-and coos and sings. Come out to the cool, night wood, and buzz and hoot and howl-but do beware of the great horned owl-for it's wild and it's windy way out in the woods! -- Publisher description
Call Number: Juv.PS3569.I295 D37 2010
Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on early childhood, primary, secondary, and higher education, and multilingual education, and health education.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on literary criticism, and biographies of authors from many countries.
