Cost Comparisons
- Prices and Wages by Decade from Univ. of Missouri
This guide points to consumer prices and wages reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s. Whenever possible, we refer to retail price and wage averages as reported in government publications. - The Changing Price of Stuff
From The People's History--Comparison Of Prices Over 70 Years - Economic Census
The economic census profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years. - Gasoline Prices
Weekly Retail Gasoline and Diesel Prices - Historical Census of HousingFrom The United States Census Bureau
Business Source Premier
Data and Economic Indicators
- American Fact Finder
Population, economic, geographic and housing information from the Census Bureau. - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data on labor economics and statistics - FRASER - Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
This includes historical information.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Economics by
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. As the global economy becomes increasingly complex, interconnected, and therefore relevant to each individual, in every country, it becomes more important to be economically literate--to gain an understanding of how things work beyond the microcosm of the economic needs of a single individual or family unit. This expansive reference set serves to establish basic economic literacy of students and researchers, providing more than 800 objective and factually driven entries on all the major themes and topics in economics. Written by leading scholars and practitioners, the set provides readers with a framework for understanding economics as mentioned and debated in the public forum and media. Each of the volumes includes coverage of important events throughout economic history, biographies of the major economists who have shaped the world of economics, and highlights of the legislative acts that have shaped the U.S. economy throughout history. The extensive explanations of major economic concepts combined with selected key historical primary source documents and a glossary will endow readers with a fuller comprehension of our economic world. Provides readers with a comprehensive one-stop reference source on the subject of economics that serves as an easy-to-read "textbook" Presents more than 800 entries in four books that address economics foundations, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics as well as a glossary and a documents section Spotlights the concepts, movements, events, people, organizations, places, and objects relevant to the study of economics at the macro, micro, and global levels Includes excerpts from key court and legislative documents that influenced the U.S. economy
Publication Date: 2017
Macroeconomics by
The first chapter in this book deals with an analysis of determinants of both net international investment positions and net costs of negative investment positions in transitive countries. It defines sustainable conditions that assume foreign investors will be prepared to continue to (re)finance negative investment positions in short and long-time periods. The sustainability conditions are derived from dynamics of both sources created through net export surplus and negative net yields paid from an international investment position. This chapter points out important differences between a position of large advanced and small transitive economies in the case of net costs of a negative net investment position. The second chapter examines the Messe-Rogoff puzzle, which demonstrates that exchange rate models cannot outperform the random walk in out-of-sample forecasting. The final chapter assesses the productivity change and efficiency of banks in Ghana.
Publication Date: 2015
Worldmark Global Business and Economy Issues by Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by
How is social responsibility viewed by U.S. based companies? How do stocks and bonds differ? Can a corporation be ethical? How has crowdfunding changed the nature of entrepreneurship? Undergraduate business school enrollment for both traditional and non-traditional students is increasing each year, while at the same time more high schools are building economic and business literacy into their curricula. Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd Edition, is designed to meet both the specific research and general inquiry needs of all of these students by providing easy to understand essays covering all of the foundational topics, themes, and theories that will be covered in their business degree curricula. Macmillan's Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a two volume set that is organized A-Z. Each signed entry was written by a subject expert and peer reviewed. Entries come equipped with bibliographies and See Also references to facilitate further research. Designed for the non-specialist, the Encyclopedia Of Business And Finance is a two-volume complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs. The new completely revised second edition includes 315 signed essays. *Fully indexed and numerous cross references to make information accessible quickly and efficiently.
Publication Date: 2014
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by
This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ESS, 1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS, 1968) -- two groundbreaking MacMillan works that established standards for knowledge in social science research and practice (CHOICE, 2001). The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Publication Date: 2007
On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Macroeconomics for Dummies - UK by
An accessible and engaging introduction to the big picture of UK and international economics Are you studying macroeconomics, but don't know inflation from stagflation? Have no fear! This easy-to-understand guide, written specifically for the UK market, is packed with real-world examples and cases that easily illustrate the key concepts you'll need to know to fully grasp macroeconomics and ace your exams. Taking a fun, step-by-step approach to the topic, this great guide provides an engaging introduction to macroeconomics and then delves into more specific topics, such as business cycles, inflation, unemployment, domestic output, monetary policy, and much more. When it comes to the interaction of politics, business decisions, consumer actions, and monetary policy, the study of economics is international in scope. That means you must understand not just the economies of nations, but also the interrelatedness of national economies throughout the world. This easy, accessible guide will help you: Find out how many different financial, business, consumer, and political factors interact to create the overall economic reality of nations Understand business cycles, economic growth, and fiscal and monetary policies Study the relationships of various economic indicators, such as inflation, unemployment, and domestic output Gain a solid understanding of macroeconomics by building on microeconomic principles and using real-world examples If you're struggling with your economics course or you need to get up to speed on the topic of macroeconomics quickly, Macroeconomics For Dummies has you covered!
Call Number: HB172.5 .R374 2016
Modern Principles: Macroeconomics by
In a world full of economics blogs, Cowen and Tabarrok's Marginal Revolution (marginalrevolution.com) ranks is one of the Web's most popular and most respected. The same qualities that make the blog so distinctive are also behind the success Modern Principles of Economics--engaging authors, unbiased presentations of essential ideas, and a knack for revealing the "invisible hand" of economics at work. The thoroughly updated new edition of Modern Principles again draws on a wealth of captivating applications to show readers how economics shed light on business, politics, world affairs, and everyday life. Also Available: Updated 4th Edition
Call Number: HB172.5 .C695 2013
Macroeconomics by
When it comes to explaining current economic conditions, there is no economist readers trust more than New York Times columnist and Nobel laureate Paul Krugman. Term after term, Krugman is earning that same level of trust in the classroom, with more and more instructors introducing students to the fundamental principles of economics via Krugman's signature storytelling style. The new Third Edition of Paul Krugman and Robin Wells's Economics is their most accomplished yet--extensively updated to offer new examples and stories, new case studies from the business world, and expert coverage of the ongoing financial crisis. Watch a video interview of Paul Krugman here.
Call Number: HB172.5 .K78 2012
