A Guide to International Economics by Shahruz MohtadiThe study of international economics has never been more vital than it is today. The past global financial crisis, the economic uncertainty in many advanced countries, increasing barriers to international trade, and currency crises have created challenges for both policy makers and corporate decision makers involved in international trade and finance. This book provides a concise and rigorous approach to the understanding of international trade and finance without relying on mathematical models or graphs. It explains the basis and pattern of trade, the effects of trade and trade policies on companies, national welfare, and the global economy. It explains the determination and changes in exchange rates. Finally, it describes the operation of the economy and examines the impact of national economic policies on the domestic economy and the rest of the world. Corporate managers and MBA students must learn the complex interrelationships between trade policies; the actions of central banks; and changes in government spending and taxes on interest rates, prices, exchange rates, and economic activity. This book adopts a nontechnical approach to explaining the basis for trade between countries and the role of firms in global trade and describes the effect of tariffs and fluctuations in exchange rates on a company's sales, costs, and profits.
Publication Date: 2019
Everyday Economics by Steve CoulterMost economics is a top-down analysis that simplifies and reduces the huge varieties among individuals to a predictable range of characteristics that lend themselves to systematic analysis. This book eschews this conventional perspective, which sees national economies as simply agglomerations of the activities of millions of people, and instead explores the role played by the individual in the economy, in particular, how the individual experiences the economy. In so doing, the book is able to illuminate the economic landscape for the nontechnical reader in a much more engaging and accessible way than conventional textbooks. By placing the individual front and center in its analysis, the book is able to demonstrate how the things we experience, need, and consume fit into the fast-changing and interdependent global economic setting. It shows the role of government, markets, and welfare in shaping our lives, and builds on the latest economic research and data to provide an overview of the workings of the economy that takes as its starting point the interface between the individual and the system overall.
Publication Date: 2017
Economics by David A. Dieterle (Editor)A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. As the global economy becomes increasingly complex, interconnected, and therefore relevant to each individual, in every country, it becomes more important to be economically literate--to gain an understanding of how things work beyond the microcosm of the economic needs of a single individual or family unit. This expansive reference set serves to establish basic economic literacy of students and researchers, providing more than 800 objective and factually driven entries on all the major themes and topics in economics. Written by leading scholars and practitioners, the set provides readers with a framework for understanding economics as mentioned and debated in the public forum and media. Each of the volumes includes coverage of important events throughout economic history, biographies of the major economists who have shaped the world of economics, and highlights of the legislative acts that have shaped the U.S. economy throughout history. The extensive explanations of major economic concepts combined with selected key historical primary source documents and a glossary will endow readers with a fuller comprehension of our economic world. Provides readers with a comprehensive one-stop reference source on the subject of economics that serves as an easy-to-read "textbook" Presents more than 800 entries in four books that address economics foundations, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics as well as a glossary and a documents section Spotlights the concepts, movements, events, people, organizations, places, and objects relevant to the study of economics at the macro, micro, and global levels Includes excerpts from key court and legislative documents that influenced the U.S. economy
Publication Date: 2017
Basic Economics by Thomas SowellIn this fifth edition of Basic Economics , Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English. Basic Economics , which has now been translated into six languages and has additional material online, remains true to its core principle: that the fundamental facts and principles of economics do not require jargon, graphs, or equations, and can be learned in a relaxed and even enjoyable way.
Publication Date: 2014
On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Economics Today by Roger LeRoy MillerNOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. For courses in Money and Banking or General Economics. This package includes MyEconLab®. Economics Today -- Bringing the real world to your students Students learn best when they see concepts applied to examples from their everyday lives. The Eighteenth Edition of Economics Today addresses leading-edge issues while facilitating student learning. The text shows students how economics is front and center in their daily routines while providing them with many ways to evaluate their understanding of key concepts covered in each chapter. New and revised tools and features engage your students and help them focus on the central ideas in economics today. Personalize learning with MyEconLab® MyEconLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. 0134004612 / 9780134004617 Economics Today Plus MyEconLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 18/e This package consists of: 0133882284 / 9780133882285 Economics Today, 18/e 0133919919 / 9780133919912 MyEconLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Economics Today, 18/e
Call Number: HB171.5 .M642 2016
Business Cycle Economics: Understanding Recessions and Depressions from Boom to Bust by Todd A. KnoopDespite more than two centuries of debate, a definitive explanation of the causes of economic cycles still does not exist. Economists, politicians, and policymakers have argued many well-known theories as to why these peaks and slumps occur, and cyclical recessions and depressions continue in spite of the enormous intellectual reserves working to prevent them. This timely analysis presents a comprehensive overview of global economics, assessing older theories alongside of new ways of thinking to reveal the empirical methods needed to evaluate, forecast, and prevent future crises. Educator and economist Todd Knoop provides explanations of influential macroeconomic theories that have shaped modern economics, such as Keynesian economics, Neoclassical economics, Austrian economics, and New Keynesian economics. In addition, he considers case studies of specific recessions and depressions, beginning with the Great Depression through the East Asian crisis and Great Recession in Japan and culminating with a detailed examination of the European debt crisis and the 2008 global financial crisis. The work concludes with a look at the insights gained from these fiscal events as well as the major questions that still remain unanswered as a result of these crises.
Call Number: HB3711 .K627 2015
After the Music Stopped by Alan S. BlinderWith bracing clarity, Blinder shows us how the U.S. financial system, which had grown far too complex for its own good-and too unregulated for the public good-experienced a perfect storm beginning in 2007. When America's financial structure crumbled, the damage proved to be not only deep, but wide. It took the crisis for the world to discover, to its horror, just how truly interconnected-and fragile-the global financial system is. The second part of the story explains how American and international government intervention kept us from a total meltdown. Many of the U.S. government's actions, particularly the Fed's, were previously unimaginable. And to an amazing-and certainly misunderstood-extent, they worked. The worst did not happen. Blinder offers clear-eyed answers to the questions still before us, even if some of the choices ahead are as divisive as they are unavoidable. After the Music Stopped is an essential history that we cannot afford to forget, because one thing history teaches is that it will happen here again.
Call Number: HB3717 2008 .B55 2013
Economics by Sean Masaki FlynnGrasp the history, principles, theories, and terminology ofeconomics with this updated bestseller Since the initial publication of Economics For Dummies in2005, the U.S. has endured a number of drastic changes and eventsthat sent its economy into a tailspin. This newly revised editionpresents updated material about the recent financial crisis and thesteps taken to repair it. Packed with refreshed information and relevant new examples fromtoday's economy, it gives you a straightforward, easy-to-graspunderstanding of how the economy functions-and how it influencespersonal finances. New information on deciphering consumer behavior Refresh coverage of fiscal and monetary policies A new chapter on health care policy and the financialcrisis Presenting complex theories in simple terms and helping youdecode the jargon, understand the equations, and debunk the commonmisconceptions, Economics For Dummies tackles the topic interms you can understand.
Call Number: HB171.5 .F645 2011
Economics for the Rest of Us by Moshe AdlerIn this brilliant eye opener, Moshe Adler shows how more than a century ago the man-made concepts of economics were transformed from egalitarian concern with the welfare of everyone into analytical tools biased in favor of the rich. With clarity, and in language any educated person can grasp, Adler shows how economics largely abandoned concern with how economic efficiency is affected by distribution of resources and equality in favor of precepts that favor concentration of wealth and income. David Cay Johnston, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Free Lunch and Perfectly Legal Masterful. This delightful and entertaining book is for anyone who has ever puzzled over how economics as a discipline could have become so divorced from any real understanding of the economy. Economics for the Rest of Us should be required reading for unionistsand for every student of economics. Elaine Bernard, Executive Director, Labor & Worklife Program at Harvard Law School You already know, deep in your bones, that today’s wealthy have far more wealth than anyone could possibly ever need. But does our economy "need" the wealthy? Not sure? Then you need Moshe Adler's eminently readableand consistently insightfulEconomics for the Rest of Us. Staggeringly unequal societieslike oursnever work well. Moshe Adler helps us see why. —Sam Pizzigati, editor, Too Much, the online weekly on excess and inequality, and an Institute for Policy Studies associate fellow in Washington, D.C. Moshe Adler is as keen an observer of the economy in our day as John Kenneth Galbraith was in his. Adler possesses the gift of a sharp sense of social vision, and he shows us the complex social costs we suffer for basing our policy prescriptions on economic theories rooted in 19th century physics and totally disconnected from 21st century social reality. —Elliott Sclar, Director, Center for Sustainable Urban Development, Earth Institute - Columbia University Moshe Adler cogently debunks the idea, popular among the powerful, that what’s good for the wealthy is always good for growth and health. Through clearly explained history and economic theory, Economics for the Rest of Us reveals the economic assumptions that play out every day in Congress and the public square. —Chuck Collins, senior scholar, Institute for Policy Studies, and author of The Moral Measure of the Economy