Library Catalog
On the Shelves at CCBC Libraries
Weather: an Illustrated History by
"Beautifully illustrated . . . Think of this book like dining on tapas, boasting savory flavors, some unexpected, that constitute a satisfying whole." --Washington Post Andrew Revkin, strategic adviser for environmental and science journalism at the National Geographic Society and former senior climate reporter at ProPublica, presents an intriguing illustrated history of humanity's evolving relationship with Earth's dynamic climate system and the wondrous weather it generates. Colorful and captivating, Weather: An Illustrated History hopscotches through 100 meteorological milestones and insights, from prehistory to today's headlines and tomorrow's forecasts. Bite-sized narratives, accompanied by exciting illustrations, touch on such varied topics as Earth's first atmosphere, the physics of rainbows, the deadliest hailstorm, Groundhog Day, the invention of air conditioning, London's Great Smog, the Year Without Summer, our increasingly strong hurricanes, and the Paris Agreement on climate change. Written by a prominent and award-winning environmental author and journalist, this is a groundbreaking illustrated book that traces the evolution of weather forecasting and climate science.
Call Number: QC981.2 .R483 2018
Making Sense of Weather and Climate by
How do meteorologists design forecasts for the next day's, the next week's, or the next month's weather? Are some forecasts more likely to be accurate than others, and why? Making Sense of Weather and Climate takes readers through key topics in atmospheric physics and presents a cogent view of how weather relates to climate, particularly climate-change science. It is the perfect book for amateur meteorologists and weather enthusiasts, and for anyone whose livelihood depends on navigating the weather's twists and turns. Making Sense of Weather and Climate begins by explaining the essential mechanics and characteristics of this fascinating science. The noted physics author Mark Denny also defines the crucial differences between weather and climate, and then develops from this basic knowledge a sophisticated yet clear portrait of their relation. Throughout, Denny elaborates on the role of weather forecasting in guiding politics and other aspects of human civilization. He also follows forecasting's effect on the economy. Denny's exploration of the science and history of a phenomenon we have long tried to master makes this book a unique companion for anyone who wants a complete picture of the environment's individual, societal, and planetary impact.
Call Number: QC995 .D42 2017
Introducing Meteorology by
In many parts of the world the weather forms a daily topic of conversation, In others it hardly changes from one week to the next. However, human life is governed by the weather which affects much of our activity, from farming to fishing and from shopping to holiday-making. Introducing Meteorology has been written to provide a succinct overview of the science of the weather for students and for interested amateurs wanting a topical guide to this complex science. The initial chapters describe the development of the science, the atmosphere and the forces which govern the weather. The author then discusses weather influences at global and local scales before describing the science of weather forecasting. Copiously illustrated, this book is intended for those whose interest in meteorology has been stimulated, perhaps by media coverage of dramatic weather events, and who want to know more. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.
Call Number: QC863.4 .S56 2013
Handbook of Meteorology by
The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It provides scientific answers to questions that arise when looking at the world around us. It starts with the basics of weather--temperature, pressure, humidity, and wind--before moving on to cover highs, lows, fronts, and storms, and finally ending with a look at weather forecasts, cloud watching, weather tools, and much more. The Handbook of Meteorology provides a condensed but all-inclusive broad sweep of meteorology, employing several illustrations to translate detailed technical information into terms that everyone can follow and readily refer to. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom.
Call Number: QC864 .S64 2013
Streaming Video
- Meteorology: the Science of WeatherThis Science Screen Report looks at the causes of climatic conditions and their influence on human activity. Outlining principles of topography and atmospheric pressure, the program identifies specific types of weather and how they form global patterns—sometimes with damaging and deadly results. The role of ocean currents, and their relation to massive storm systems such as hurricanes and El Niño, is made clear. This program is a valuable source of information on meteorological studies, including the use of satellite technology. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. Produced in association with the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology and the Junior Engineering Technical Society. (14 minutes)
Other Helpful Guides
Online from CCBC Libraries
Introducing Meteorology by
In many parts of the world the weather forms a daily topic of conversation, In others it hardly changes from one week to the next. However, human life is governed by the weather which affects much of our activity, from farming to fishing and from shopping to holiday-making. Introducing Meteorology has been written to provide a succinct overview of the science of the weather for students and for interested amateurs wanting a topical guide to this complex science. The initial chapters describe the development of the science, the atmosphere and the forces which govern the weather. The author then discusses weather influences at global and local scales before describing the science of weather forecasting. Copiously illustrated, this book is intended for those whose interest in meteorology has been stimulated, perhaps by media coverage of dramatic weather events, and who want to know more. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.
Publication Date: 2020
Fundamentals of Meteorology by
This book is dedicated to the atmosphere of our planet, and discusses historical and contemporary achievements in meteorological science and technology for the betterment of society. The book explores many significant atmospheric phenomena and physical processes from the local to global scale, as well as from the perspective of short and long-term time scales, and links these processes to various applications in other scientific disciplines with linkages to meteorology. In addition to addressing general topics such as climate system dynamics and climate change, the book also discusses atmospheric boundary layer, atmospheric waves, atmospheric chemistry, optics/photometeors, electricity, atmospheric modeling and numeric weather prediction. Through its interdisciplinary approach, the book will be of interest to researchers, students and academics in meteorology and atmospheric science, environmental physics, climate change dynamics, air pollution and human health impacts of atmospheric aerosols.
Publication Date: 2020
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with information on all topics for beginning your research.
Also includes primary sources, images, and videos.
