Library Catalog
On the Shelves at CCBC Libraries
Cosmos: Possible Worlds by
With lucid prose that recalls the best-selling and beloved Cosmos, Ann Druyan takes readers on an extraordinary journey through the vast and unexplored realms of Earth and space, past and future, fact and imagination. Written and published in coordination with the sensational international television debut of a second season of National Geographic's Cosmos,Cosmos Possible Worlds travels through more than 14 billion years of cosmic evolution and into an astonishing future where probes travel by light beams to distant stars, helping us solve enduring mysteries of our origins and dream of an unimaginable time ahead. Along the way, we meet the colorful characters who push beyond the boundaries of knowledge--both the little-known but monumental visionaries of the past and the scientists whose work is shaping our future. Color photographs, art, and diagrams based on graphics created for the television series--plus a foreword by Neil deGrasse Tyson, best-selling author, wildly popular science commentator, and host of Cosmos on the National Geographic Channel--complete this highly anticipated package.
Call Number: QB44.3 .D78 2020
A Question and Answer Guide to Astronomy by
Are we alone in the Universe? Was there anything before the Big Bang? Are there other universes? What makes stars shine? Where does Earth's water come from? Why is the night sky dark? Was there ever life on Mars? How do telescopes work? This engaging guide book answers all these questions and hundreds more, making it a practical reference for anyone who has ever wondered what is out in the cosmos, where it all comes from, and how it all works. Richly illustrated in color throughout, it gives simple yet rigorous explanations in non-technical language, summarizing current astronomical knowledge, without overlooking the important underlying scientific principles. This second edition includes substantial new material throughout, including the latest findings from the New Horizons, Rosetta, and Dawn space missions, and images from professional telescopes such as the Hubble Space Telescope and the Atacama Large Millimeter Array.
Call Number: QB52 .C57 2017
Discovering the Essential Universe by
Neil Comins' Discovering the Universe confronts the challenges of the one-term astronomy course by heightening student curiosities about the cosmos, by using the context of astronomy to teach the process of science, and by highlighting common misconceptions and showing students how to think their way past them. With its signature combination of vivid writing and spectacular images, the new edition offers new findings, new study help, and an expanded new media/supplements package centered on W.H. Freeman's breakthrough online course space, LaunchPad.
Call Number: QB43.3 .C658 2015
The Handy Astronomy Answer Book by
From planetary movements and the exploration of our solar system to black holes and dark matter, this comprehensive reference simplifies all aspects of astronomy with an approachable question-and-answer format. With chapters broken into various astronomical studies--including the universe, galaxies, planets, and space exploration--this fully updated resource is an ideal companion for students, teachers, and amateur astronomers, answering more than 1,00 questions, such as Is the universe infinite? What would happen to you if you fell onto a black hole? What are the basic concepts of Einstein's special theory of relativity? and Who was the first person in space?
Call Number: QB52 .L58 2014
Streaming Video
- AstronomyThis video clip takes viewers to the Hubble Space Telescope and offers an overview of the groundbreaking discoveries that have been made and breath-taking images that have been taken using this instrument.
Other Helpful Guides
Online from CCBC Libraries
Yearbook of Astronomy 2022 by
The Yearbook of Astronomy 2022 is the Diamond Jubilee edition of this iconic publication, the annual appearance of which has been eagerly anticipated by astronomers, both amateur and professional, ever since this invaluable book first appeared in 1962. As the preface to the 1962 edition informed its readers, the post-war years had seen a tremendous growth of interest in astronomy and space research. Doubtless fueled by the dawn of the Space Age, the launch of Sputnik 1 in October 1957 marked a significant change in the course of history. This epoch-making event, coupled with the subsequent flights of Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin (April 1961) and American astronaut Alan Shepard (May 1961), served to engender a public interest in astronomy and space that has continued to grow and expand to this day.Maintaining its appealing style and presentation, the Yearbook of Astronomy 2022 contains comprehensive jargon-free monthly sky notes and an authoritative set of sky charts to enable backyard astronomers and sky gazers everywhere to plan their viewing of the year's eclipses, comets, meteor showers and minor planets as well as detailing the phases of the Moon and visibility and locations of the planets throughout the year. To supplement all this is a variety of entertaining and informative articles, a feature for which the Yearbook of Astronomy is known. In the 2022 edition, the reader is presented with articles covering a wide range of topics including "A History of the Amateur Astronomical Society: 1962 to 2022"; "Expanding Cosmic Horizons"; "Frank Drake and His Equation"; "Remote Telescopes"; "Skies Over Ancient America" and others.The Yearbook of Astronomy continues to be essential reading for anyone lured and fascinated by the magic of astronomy. It remains an inspiration to amateur and professional astronomers alike, and warrants a place on the bookshelf of all stargazers and watchers of the Universe.
Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy by
Praise for the previous edition:...splendidly informative...provides a treasure store of information dealing with astronomy and space technology, not to mention some geology and mathematics...endlessly fascinating...a valuable resource for high school astronomy and physics classes and in college science libraries.--VOYA...provides current, authoritative information...recommended for libraries in need of a general encyclopedia on space and astronomy.--Booklist...[a] highly informative, well-organized introduction...--American Reference Books Annual...recommended for high school, academic, and larger public libraries and astronomy collections.--Library Journal...chock-full of useful and unusual information...a valuable addition to any smaller collection serving serious students...--School Library JournalBoth academic and public libraries will find this a useful reference...Recommended.--Choice...a fine addition to both public and academic libraries...--Reference ReviewsHonor Book Science 7-12 category--Society of School Librarians InternationalWe've come a long way from the days when we traced astrological shapes in the stars and thought comets spelled disaster. Our knowledge of space and the universe around us has increased dramatically over the centuries, and, with every new venture--from the Mars rover Curiosity's explorations of the red planet to New Horizons's up-close look at Pluto--it just keeps growing broader. Keep track of that expanding knowledge with the Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy, Revised Edition. Offering a complete, up-to-date presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy, the encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary science, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology. Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy, Revised Edition focuses mainly on modern astronomy and space achievements but also includes the most important accomplishments of classical astronomy. The impact of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology is presented in terms of the development of the scientific method and also with respect to philosophy. History-related entries trace the evolution of astronomy and space technology from ancient times, and selected entries discuss important observatories and organizations such as NASA, as well as contemporary events.This volume also includes five helpful appendixes: a bibliography of print resources, an extensive list of websites, a chronology of significant events in space and astronomy, a table of basic planetary data, and an interesting breakdown on how planets and other celestial bodies were named. Entries include:Apollo ProjectBlack holeCenter of gravityDark matterGeneral relativityInternational Space StationKepler's lawsLunar bases and settlementsNuclear reactorPioneer 10, 11 spacecraftRobotics in spaceRocketSatelliteUnidentified flying object (UFO)X-ray astronomyZodiac.
Publication Date: 2017- The Handy Astronomy Answer Book by
From planetary movements and the exploration of our solar system to black holes and dark matter, this comprehensive reference simplifies all aspects of astronomy with an approachable question-and-answer format. With chapters broken into various astronomical studies--including the universe, galaxies, planets, and space exploration--this fully updated resource is an ideal companion for students, teachers, and amateur astronomers, answering more than 1,00 questions, such as Is the universe infinite? What would happen to you if you fell onto a black hole? What are the basic concepts of Einstein's special theory of relativity? and Who was the first person in space?
Publication Date: 2013
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with information on all topics for beginning your research.
Also includes primary sources, images, and videos.
