Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Health & Hygiene: Tooth Image

Permanent Teeth

Teeth break down food mechanically.

  • A child has 20 deciduous teeth, while an adult has 32 permanent teeth.
  • They erupt at different age and mature when they reach around age 13.
  • There are four types of teeth: Incisors, canines, premolars, and molars.

Source: Science Olympiad, © 2020.

Cross Section of Tooth

Teeth consist of crown, neck and root.

  • The crown is the upper surface. Bumps on the crown are called cusps.
  • The neck is the region under the crown, but above the alveolar bone.
  • The root is the region inside the alveolar bone.

Source: Science Olympiad, © 2020.