What is a Secondary Legal Source?
Secondary sources are materials that discuss, explain, analyze, and critique the law. They discuss the law, but are not the law itself. Secondary sources, such as Law Journals, Encyclopedias, and Treatises are a great place to start your legal research. Unlike primary materials (case law, statutes, regulations), secondary sources will help you learn about an area of law, and provide you with citations to relevant primary materials.
Maryland Newspapers and Legal Newspapers
-
US Newsstream Collection | ProquestDigital access to many U.S. Newspapers
Coverage 1980- present -
The Daily Record | Maryland's Business and Legal NewspaperThe Daily Record is a digital-first daily news media company focused on law, government, and business.
General Databases for Background Research
CCBC Databases can be a great place to start your research. The databases listed below provide topic overviews on a variety of areas. All of our databases are accessible from the main library website under the Databases box.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
-
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
Law Journals and Treatises
Law Journals are scholarly publications, generally written by law professors and practitioners, covering the legal field.
Most can be found through Westlaw Campus Research and Lexis Advance, however you can also search all Magazines/Journals by Title to access specific titles throughout our entire collection.
-
Westlaw
Research for legal, news, and business-related information
