It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America Now by Robert AtwanAmerica Now makes it easy for you to get brief, accessible, and thought-provoking essays into your classroom, with trustworthy, reliable pedagogy and an expert reader's knowledge of what works in the classroom. As series editor for Best American Essays, Robert Atwan constantly scours a wide range of periodicals, bringing to America Now an unrivaled focus on the best writing of today. Instructors tell us that their students want to respond to the essays in the book, and they praise the high-quality reading and writing instruction, critical thinking and reading questions, and model student essays that help them do so. Every reading in America Now is new to this edition, making it truly a book for today's composition course. And now with the new edition, you can meet students where they are: online. To package LaunchPad Solo for Readers and Writers free with America Now, use 978-1-319-01552-7.
Call Number: PE1127.H5 A44 2015
The College Student's Research Companion by Arlene Rodda Quaratiello; Jane DevineMost students faced with writing a research paper probably start at the same place--Google. Here's a cutting-edge guide that will save your students from fruitless, random web searching. Arlene Quartiello, formerly an academic librarian who now teaches college English, and Jane Devine, coauthor of Going Beyond Google, provide up-to-date guidance for using traditional and online sources. Students will learn to select a topic, effectively find and evaluate the best information in both print and electronic formats, and produce accurate and complete citations based on current versions of important styles guides and web resources. Each chapter includes exercises that reinforce the instruction and guidance. A companion website accompanies this new edition to give readers hot links for all of the book's URLs, and supplementary materials including additional exercises and examples that help clarify how to apply the techniques. Written in an easy, breezy style and filled with real-world examples, illustrative diagrams, and screen shots, this is the ideal guide for anyone aspiring to write an excellent research paper on their own or following this text in a research skills or information literacy course.
Call Number: Z710 .Q37 2011
Essential Reading Skills by Kathleen T. McWhorter; Brette M. SemberEssential Reading Skills focuses on the four essential skill areas for college-reading success (active reading and thinking, vocabulary development, literal and critical comprehension, and organizational emphasis) and improves students' reading through concise instruction, and extensive practice and testing. Each of the eleven chapters focuses on a specific reading and thinking skill, and contains exercises that get students applying the learned skill to textbooks and ends with a vocabulary enrichment exercise.
Call Number: LB2395.3 .M387 2012
Information Literacy by Michael B. Eisenberg; Carrie McGuire; Kathleen L. SpitzerThis is the definitive work on information literacy. Michael Eisenberg, known worldwide as one of the originators of the innovative Big6 Information Problem Solving Process, and frequent presenters on the subject Carrie A. Lowe and Kathleen L. Spitzer have extensively revised and updated the original book for this long-awaited second edition. Tracing the history of information literacy, the authors discuss its economic importance; examine past, present, and current research in the field; and explain how information literacy relates to the national standards transforming K-12 education and higher education today. The authors also look at examples of information literacy in several different contexts, underscoring both its importance and pervasiveness in our society. Learning to be critical and savvy consumers of information is necessary in today's world. This book provides both the theoretical background and practical guidelines to confidently impart these essential skills to your students.
Making Sense by Donna McKusick; Al StarrNOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MySkillsLab® does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MySkillsLab, search for: 0134023889 / 9780134023885 Making Sense with Integrated Reading and Writing Plus MySkillsLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0133995151 / 9780133995152 MySkillsLab with Pearson eText -- Inside Star Sticker 0133995178 / 9780133995176 MySkillsLab with Pearson eText -- Glue in Access Card 0134001117 / 9780134001111 Making Sense with Integrated Reading and Writing For advanced courses in Integrated Reading and Writing. Helps students become powerful, insightful writers and readers Making Sense with Integrated Reading and Writing takes a comprehensive approach to English mastery, combining both reading and writing instruction into one seamless resource. The text is relevant and engaging, empowering students to recognize and learn from the inherent connection between reading critically and writing well. The approach of Making Sense is based on the premise that language is used to construct knowledge and to interact with others. This approach proposes that both readers and writers must organize thoughts, infer and construct ideas, and revise meaning recursively in both the processes of reading and writing. The authors explore these ideas through challenging, authentic readings that inspire students to reach new levels of understanding, and by encouraging students to ask hard and unique questions (How do I learn? Why do I think this way?) Comprehension questions that follow the readings guide students through basic understanding to inference and analysis; these written responses often become the basis for longer and more challenging writing assignments. Also Available with MySkillsLab ® This title is also available with MySkillsLab -- an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts.
Call Number: PE1408 .M39454 2016
Reading Across the Disciplines by Kathleen T. McWhorterReading Across the Disciplines provides reading strategies for a variety of academic disciplines (more than any other available text), concise skill instruction, and extensive practice to improve college-level reading and thinking skills. Reading Across the Disciplines is organized into three parts for flexibility and ease-of-use. Part One presents a brief skill introduction (in handbook format) introducing students to essential vocabulary, comprehension, critical reading, and reading rate skills. Part Two has twelve chapters, each containing three readings representative of a different academic discipline. NOTE: This is the standalone book, if you want the book/access card order the ISBN below; 0133957853 / 9780133957853 Reading Across the Disciplines: College Reading and Beyond Plus MyReadingLab with eText -- Access Card Package, 6/e Package consists of: 0133995135 / 9780133995138 MyReadingLab with Pearson eText -- Glue in Access Card 0133995143 / 9780133995145 MyReadingLab with Pearson eText -- Inside Star Sticker 0321921488 / 9780321921482 Reading Across the Disciplines: College Reading and Beyond
In his book, Greater Expectations, Robin Turner, a high school English teacher in Anaheim, California, describes how he helps prepare the underrepresented -- predominantly Latino and African-American -- students in his class for the literacy challenges of higher education.
In a world of information overload, information literacy has become a survival skill. But what exactly does information literacy mean? With a focus on the Internet, this video explains how to conduct solid online research by collecting information in an organized, efficient, and ethical way.
Information Literacy is a crucial skill in obtaining knowledge. In this episode, learn how to find credible sources on the internet, read and evaluate a topic critically, and notate your sources. Ethical issues are also addressed.
How Call Numbers Work
If the film does not load, please log into Blackboard.
Online from CCBC Libraries
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by Sarah Moore; Colin Neville; Maura Murphy; Cornelia Connolly"The book itself covers everything university students need to know from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance." The Bookseller "We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
English for Academic Purposes by Andrew GrahamUseful as a course book or as a self-study guide, this text is essential reading for all international students studying for a British qualification at university. It provides a clear guide to the areas that need to be considered in order to research and produce a well presented and cohesive piece of academic writing. The steps outlined, and the language used, are accessible, and graded to a level that steadily introduces new writing concepts to students studying for a degree in a second or additional language. In particular it covers planning, conducting research, critical thinking, structuring an essay, use of sources and referencing, and feedback and revision.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The Secrets of College Success by Lynn F. Jacobs; Jeremy S. HymanAre you among the 22 million students now enrolled in college? Or a high school student thinking of joining them shortly? Or perhaps a parent of a college-bound junior or senior? Then this book is just for you. Written by college professors and successfully used by tens of thousands of students, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: pick courses and choose a major manage your time and develop college-level study skills get good grades and manage the "core" requirements get motivated and avoid stress interact effectively with the professor or TA prepare for a productive and lucrative career New to this third edition are high-value tips about: undergraduate and collaborative research summer internships staying safer on campus diversity and inclusion disabilities and accommodations ...with special tips for international students at US colleges. Winner of the 2010 USA Book News Award for best book in the college category, The Secrets of College Success makes a wonderful back-to-college or high-school-graduation gift -or a smart investment in your own college success.