On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Racism and Racial Equity in Higher Education by
What does it means to work toward racial equity in higher education in the 21st century? This monograph answers just that with a synthesis of theory, research, and evidence that illuminate the ways in which racism shapes higher education systems and the experiences of people who navigate them. Higher education leaders must move beyond vague notions of diversity and do the difficult work of pursuing systemic transformation and creating more inclusive environments in which racially diverse populations can thrive. Such work necessitates a deep understanding of the historic and contemporary role of racism in shaping postsecondary access and opportunity. This work will be of interest to those who recognize how advancing racial equity benefits all members of the campus community and larger society. This is the 1st issue of the 42nd volume of the Jossey-Bass series ASHE Higher Education Report. Each monograph is the definitive analysis of a tough higher education issue, based on thorough research of pertinent literature and institutional experiences. Topics are identified by a national survey. Noted practitioners and scholars are then commissioned to write the reports, with experts providing critical reviews of each manuscript before publication.
Call Number: LB2301 .A87 2015
The Trouble with Black Boys by
For many years to come, race will continue to be a source of controversy and conflict in American society. For many of us it will continue to shape where we live, pray, go to school, and socialize. We cannot simply wish away the existence of race or racism, but we can take steps to lessen the ways in which the categories trap and confine us. Educators, who should be committed to helping young people realize their intellectual potential as they make their way toward adulthood, have a responsibility to help them find ways to expand identities related to race so that they can experience the fullest possibility of all that they may become. In this brutally honest--yet ultimately hopeful-- book Pedro Noguera examines the many facets of race in schools and society and reveals what it will take to improve outcomes for all students. From achievement gaps to immigration, Noguera offers a rich and compelling picture of a complex issue that affects all of us.
Call Number: LC213.2 .N64 2008
Understanding Equity in Community College Practice by
What do equity-oriented practices look like in different community college contexts? Given the increasing role of the community college in realizing equitable outcomes for students, examples of what practitioners are doing to move forward an equity agenda are urgently needed. The diverse perspectives and issues in these chapters explicitly advance an equity agenda and offer: Conceptual and empirical rationales to support equity-oriented practices, Examples of programming and practice that support the lives and livelihoods of underserved student populations, and Examples of policy, programming, and thinking that emphasize the role of the community college in expanding educational opportunity for underserved students. Driven by a change in thinking and imagination, these examples show how practitioners can--and should--tailor programming in light of larger patterns of inequality. This is the 172nd volume of this Jossey-Bass quarterly report series. Essential to the professional libraries of presidents, vice presidents, deans, and other leaders in today's open-door institutions, New Directions for Community Colleges provides expert guidance in meeting the challenges of their distinctive and expanding educational mission.
Call Number: LB2328 .N473 2015 no. 172
Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Arts & Humanities Database
Articles on arts including visual arts, architecture, design, music, literature, and theatre,
and humanities including history, philosophy, and cultural studies. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about humanities topics like arts, history, language, law, literature, philosophy, and politics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, images, and primary sources about many subjects.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Streaming Videos
- Admission Standards Changings high school students wait to find out if they got accepted, dozens of schools announcing wide sweeping reforms.
Still Separate, Still Unequal
To find articles about America's educational apartheid (also called education inequality), you can use any of those search terms set into quotation marks. You can also use "still separate still unequal" to find articles using Smart Search on the library's home page.
Counter Arguments to "Separate but Equal"
Online from CCBC Libraries
Diversity and Education by Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Equity and Excellence in Education by
Throughout the world, equity and excellence in education is a major issue of concern. International comparative studies such as those carried out by OECD (PISA) have launched a worldwide debate on the effectiveness of educational systems (macro level), schools (meso level) and teachers (micro level) in terms of enhancing equity and excellence. Inspired by the OECD research and spurred by national policy-making, quantitative and qualitative research studies have recently been conducted in different parts of the globe aiming to provide deeper insight into the crucial variables that have an impact on equity, excellence or both. Among the variables that have been identified as crucial in this respect are the pupils' gender and their socio-economic and linguistic background, teachers' expectations, cognitions and pedagogical approach in the classroom, parental support, financial aspects, educational policies (e.g. priority policies, multilingual policies, early start policies), and variables related to the structure of the educational structure and system (e.g. compulsory school age, comprehensive systems, support structures, system variables enhancing spread of learners). This volume aims to compile a rich collection of research-based contributions, providing a state-of-the-art resource on what we know about this topic today.
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
The Race Controversy in American Education by
In this unique two-volume work, expert scholars and practitioners examine race and racism in public education, tackling controversial educational issues such as the school-to-prison pipeline, charter schools, school funding, affirmative action, and racialized curricula. This work is built on the premise that recent efforts to advance color-blind, race-neutral educational policies and reforms have not only proven ineffective in achieving racial equity and equality of educational opportunities and outcomes in America's public schools but also exacerbated existing inequalities. That point is made through a collection of essays that examine the consequences of racial inequality on the school experience and success of students of color and other historically marginalized populations. Addressing K-12 education and higher education in historically black as well as predominantly white institutions, the work probes the impact of race and racism on education policies and reforms to determine the role schools, school processes, and school structures play in the perpetuation of racial inequality in American education. Each volume validates the impact of race on teaching and learning and exposes the ways in which racism manifests itself in U.S. schools. In addition, practical recommendations are presented that may be used to confront and eradicate racism in education. By exposing what happens when issues of race and racism are marginalized or ignored, this collection will prepare readers to resist--and perhaps finally overcome--the racial inequality that plagues America's schools. Provides essays that are subjective and passionate yet grounded in scholarship and practical experience Challenges assumptions about the roles race and racism play in educational policy and decision making Offers ideas, strategies, and solutions aimed at decreasing racial inequality in public education Addresses concerns related to a variety of historically marginalized student populations, including teen mothers, students with special needs, and immigrant populations Examines global concerns associated with race, racism, and anti-racist pedagogy
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Uncivil Rights by
Almost fifty years after Brown v. Board of Education, a wealth of research shows that minority students continue to receive an unequal education. At the heart of this inequality is a complex and often conflicted relationship between teachers and civil rights activists, examined fully for the first time in Jonna Perrillo's Uncivil Rights, which traces the tensions between the two groups in New York City from the Great Depression to the present. While movements for teachers' rights and civil rights were not always in conflict, Perrillo uncovers the ways they have become so, brought about both by teachers who have come to see civil rights efforts as detracting from or competing with their own goals and by civil rights activists whose aims have de-professionalized the role of the educator. Focusing in particular on unionized teachers, Perrillo finds a new vantage point from which to examine the relationship between school and community, showing how in this struggle, educators, activists, and especially our students have lost out.
Publication Date: 2012-06-08
