Skip to main content

Geography: Home

It includes physical, human, political and economic geography.

CCBC Assignments

Dictionary of Physical Geography

The Dictionary of Physical Geography

This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography.   Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.

Introducing Physical Geography

Introducing Physical Geography

Introducing Physical Geography, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive text that builds upon the decades of success of Strahler, who is one of the foremost geographers in the world. This new fifth edition includes all new sections with the capabilities of connecting to multimedia and covers new updates to the subject area. The text also includes current examples of environmental phenomena relating to the global changes. The readability of the text has been enhanced with new placements of boxed features and supplementary material.

Prisoners of Geography

Prisoners of Geography

In the bestselling tradition of Why Nations Fail and The Revenge of Geography, an award-winning journalist uses ten maps of crucial regions to explain the geo-political strategies of the world powers. All leaders of nations are constrained by geography. Their choices are limited by mountains, rivers, seas, and concrete. To understand world events, news organizations and other authorities often focus on people, ideas, and political movements, but without geography, we never have the full picture. Now, in the relevant and timely Prisoners of Geography, seasoned journalist Tim Marshall examines Russia, China, the USA, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa, Europe, Japan and Korea, and Greenland and the Arctic--their weather, seas, mountains, rivers, deserts, and borders--to provide a context often missing from our political reportage: how the physical characteristics of these countries affect their strengths and vulnerabilities and the decisions made by their leaders. In ten, up-to-date maps of each region, Marshall explains in clear and engaging prose the complex geo-political strategies of these key parts of the globe. What does it mean that Russia must have a navy, but also has frozen ports six months a year? How does this affect Putin's treatment of the Ukraine? How is China's future constrained by its geography? Why will Europe never be united? Why will America never be invaded? Shining a light on the unavoidable physical realities that shape all of our aspirations and endeavors, Prisoners of Geography is the critical guide to one of the major (and most often overlooked) determining factors in world history.

Geographies of Globalization

Geographies of Globalization

Exploring a wide range of issues, from the integration of the worldeconomy to how contemporary processes are shaping and shaped bynation-states and how workers are organizing transnationally inresponse to transformations in the planet?s economicgeography, Geographies of Globalization is a criticalexamination of what has become the leitmotif of our contemporaryworld. Challenges neoliberal assumptions on the nature ofglobalization Provides a conceptual overview of how globalization is aspatial process and of its relation to capitalism Explores whether we are in fact living in a more?globalized? world or only in a more?internationalized? one Considers arguments concerning whether?globalization? is a new phenomenon or simply thelatest manifestation of processes many hundreds of years in themaking Focuses on how nation-states have shaped, and been shaped by,contemporary processes of ?globalization?, how?globalization? has been imagined discursively, and howworkers are responding to such processes Explores how workers are creating new organizing strategies inresponse to ?globalization?

Podcasts