Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Undocumented by
Since 2010 Getty Images special correspondent John Moore has been laser-focused on the issue of immigration to the United States. He is unmatched in the field for his comprehensive photography of undocumented immigration and the militarization of the U.S.-Mexico border. This complex, multi-layered, and amazingly controversial narrative has taken Moore from Central America through Mexico, along every mile of the U.S. southern border, the northern border and immigrant communities in between. Moore's exclusive access to immigrants on all points of their journey, ICE agents, Border Patrol agents, the USCIS and dozens of NGOs here and abroad sets his photographs apart from all other work on the controversial subject. Moore's most recent work includes detentions and increased deportations under the Trump Administration and the resulting widespread fear in the immigrant community in the United States. For its broad scope, compassionate telling and rigorous point of view, this body of work is the essential record on this dominant US domestic topic.
Call Number: TR681.I54 M66 2018 OVERSIZED
The Line Becomes a River by
NAMED A TOP 10 BOOK OF 2018 BY NPR and THE WASHINGTON POST WINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE IN CURRENT INTEREST FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE NONFICTION AWARD The instant New York Times bestseller, "A must-read for anyone who thinks 'build a wall' is the answer to anything." --Esquire For Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of a Mexican immigrant, raised him in the scrublands of the Southwest. Driven to understand the hard realities of the landscape he loves, Cantú joins the Border Patrol. He and his partners learn to track other humans under blistering sun and through frigid nights. They haul in the dead and deliver to detention those they find alive. Plagued by a growing awareness of his complicity in a dehumanizing enterprise, he abandons the Patrol for civilian life. But when an immigrant friend travels to Mexico to visit his dying mother and does not return, Cantú discovers that the border has migrated with him, and now he must know the full extent of the violence it wreaks, on both sides of the line.
Call Number: JV6565 .C37 2018
The Three U. S. -Mexico Border Wars by
This book addresses the three central issues that continue to dominate the U.S.-Mexico relationship today: drugs, immigration, and security. Nowhere is this more palpable than at the 2,000-mile border shared by the two countries. * Provides a historical perspective that is necessary to understand today's border conflicts * Includes new coverage of weapons trafficking, human trafficking, the diversified activities of organized crime, the role of drug consumption in America, the decay of the border infrastructure, the militarization of the border, and the effects of Arizona's immigration policy changes * Challenges current views about the border as unsafe, unstable, crime-riddled, and a burden on the nation * Portrays the border as a place of hope in need of better management rather than reinforcement of the security regime that has prevailed in the last decades * Includes a chapter on the Peña government and its effect on the binational relationship, the war on the Cartels, and escalation of violence * Draws on the author's current research and interviews with new government actors * Offers penetrating analysis and sound policy recommendations, particularly on how to achieve a truly binational border management system * Features a new final chapter that projects the future of the border over the next 25 years
Call Number: HV5831.M46 T49 2016
Databases
- International Newsstream
News from outside the United States and Canada.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
Online Articles
- Hungry, Scared and Sick: Inside the Migrant Detention Center in Clint, Tex.
New York Times, July 6, 2019
The Wall: Untold Stories, Unintended Consequences
- The Wall: an In-depth examination of Donald Trump's border wall
The website for USA Today's 2018 Pulitzer Prize-winning report on the U.S.-Mexico border and Trump's planned wall features an interactive map of the border wall and fence as it stood in 2017, documentary videos, text and audio reports, and a virtual reality experience.
Streaming Video
- The Fencen 2006, the United States government decided to build a fence along its Mexican border. After three years, 350 engineers, thousands of construction workers, tens of thousands of tons of metal, and billions of dollars, the question is: Was it all worth it? In The Fence, award-winning filmmaker Rory Kennedy investigates the impact of the $3 billion project, revealing how the fence’s stated goals – containing illegal immigration, cracking down on drug trafficking, and protecting America from terrorists – have given way to unforeseen, even absurd, consequences. An HBO Production. An HBO Production.
Latest News
- Tents, Stench, Smoke: Health Risks are Gripping Migrant Camp
Associated Press, November 14, 2019 - The number of migrants apprehended at the southern border has plummeted 75% since MayVox, November 11, 2019
- Migrants live in fear at Mexico-US border as violence flares
Associated Press, November 6, 2019 - Trump concedes that people can cut through his ‘impenetrable’ wall
MCNBC, November 4, 2019 - Smugglers are reportedly cutting holes in Trump’s newly constructed border wall with saws and power tools
Business Insider, November 2, 2019 - One deadly week reveals where the immigration crisis begins — and where it ends
USA Today, September 24, 2019 - "I fear for our lives": Asylum seekers forced to wait in Mexico face danger and desperation
CBS News, August 13, 2019 - Migrant Crisis Is Moving South To Mexican Border Towns
NPR, August 12, 2019
Online From CCBC Libraries
Documenting the Undocumented by
Looking at the work of Junot Díaz, Cristina García, Julia Alvarez, and other Latino/a authors who are U.S. citizens, Marta Caminero-Santangelo examines how writers are increasingly expressing their solidarity with undocumented immigrants. Through storytelling, these writers create community and a sense of peoplehood that includes non-citizen Latino/as. This volume also foregrounds the narratives of unauthorized migrants themselves, showing how their stories are emerging into the public sphere. Immigration and citizenship are multifaceted issues, and the voices are myriad. They challenge common interpretations of "illegal" immigration, explore inevitable traumas and ethical dilemmas, protest their own silencing in immigration debates, and even capitalize on the topic for the commercial market. Yet these texts all seek to affect political discourse by advancing the possibility of empathy across lines of ethnicity and citizenship status. As border enforcement strategies escalate along with political rhetoric, detentions, and deaths, these counternarratives are more significant than ever before, and their perspectives cannot be ignored. What we are witnessing, argues Caminero-Santangelo, is a mass mobilization of stories. This growing body of literature is critical to understanding not only the Latino/a immigrant experience but also alternative visions of nation and belonging.
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
The Dangerous Divide by
How do we balance border security and America's need for a vital workforce while continuing to provide access to the American dream? Since the attacks of 9/11, the United States has steadily ramped up security along the U.S.-Mexico border, transforming America's legendary Southwest into a frontier of fear. Veteran journalist Peter Eichstaedt roams this fabled region from Tucson, Arizona, to El Paso, Texas, meeting with migrants, border security advocates, and communities ravaged by cross-border crime. He rides with the border patrol and reveals the tragic situation that has evolved along the border. Eichstaedt finds that despite tens of thousands of border agents and the expenditure of billions of dollars, an estimated one million Mexicans and Central Americans continue to cross the border each year. These migrants fill jobs that have become the underpinnings of the U.S. economy. Rather than building more and better barricades, Eichstaedt argues that the United States must reform its immigration and drug laws and acknowledge that costly, counterproductive, and antiquated policies have created deadly circumstances on both sides of the border. Recognizing the truth of America's long and tortured relations with Mexico must be followed by legitimizing the contributions made by migrants to the American way of life.
Publication Date: 2014
Run for the Border by
Mexico and the United States exist in a symbiotic relationship: Mexico frequently provides the United States with cheap labor, illegal goods, and, for criminal offenders, a refuge from the law. In turn, the U.S. offers Mexican laborers the American dream: the possibility of a better livelihood through hard work. To supply each other's demands, Americans and Mexicans have to cross their shared border from both sides. Despite this relationship, U.S. immigration reform debates tend to be security-focused and center on the idea of menacing Mexicans heading north to steal abundant American resources. Further, Congress tends to approach reform unilaterally, without engaging with Mexico or other feeder countries, and, disturbingly, without acknowledging problematic southern crossings that Americans routinely make into Mexico. In Run for the Border, Steven W. Bender offers a framework for a more comprehensive border policy through a historical analysis of border crossings, both Mexico to U.S. and U.S. to Mexico. In contrast to recent reform proposals, this book urges reform as the product of negotiation and implementation by cross-border accord; reform that honors the shared economic and cultural legacy of the U.S. and Mexico. Covering everything from the history of Anglo crossings into Mexico to escape law authorities, to vice tourism and retirement in Mexico, to today's focus on Mexican border-crossing immigrants and drug traffickers, Bender takes lessons from the past 150 years to argue for more explicit and compassionate cross-border cooperation. Steeped in several disciplines, Run for the Border is a blend of historical, cultural, and legal perspectives, as well as those from literature and cinema, that reflect Bender's cultural background and legal expertise.
Publication Date: 2012
Line in the Sand by
Line in the Sand details the dramatic transformation of the western U.S.-Mexico border from its creation at the end of the Mexican-American War in 1848 to the emergence of the modern boundary line in the first decades of the twentieth century. In this sweeping narrative, Rachel St. John explores how this boundary changed from a mere line on a map to a clearly marked and heavily regulated divide between the United States and Mexico. Focusing on the desert border to the west of the Rio Grande, this book explains the origins of the modern border and places the line at the center of a transnational history of expanding capitalism and state power in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Moving across local, regional, and national scales, St. John shows how government officials, Native American raiders, ranchers, railroad builders, miners, investors, immigrants, and smugglers contributed to the rise of state power on the border and developed strategies to navigate the increasingly regulated landscape. Over the border's history, the U.S. and Mexican states gradually developed an expanding array of official laws, ad hoc arrangements, government agents, and physical barriers that did not close the line, but made it a flexible barrier that restricted the movement of some people, goods, and animals without impeding others. By the 1930s, their efforts had created the foundations of the modern border control apparatus. Drawing on extensive research in U.S. and Mexican archives, Line in the Sand weaves together a transnational history of how an undistinguished strip of land became the significant and symbolic space of state power and national definition that we know today.
Publication Date: 2012
Podcasts
- Economics of a Border Wallfrom Planet Money, by NPR
Online Article Archives
- Immigration Border Crisis
from NBC News - Articles on US - Mexico Border
from The Conversation - US - Mexico Border Fence
from the New York Times