On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Vietnamese American 1. 5 Generation by
The conflict that Americans call the "Vietnam War" was only one of many incursions into Vietnam by foreign powers. However, it has had a profound effect on the Vietnamese people who left their homeland in the years following the fall of Saigon in 1975. Collected here are fifteen first-person narratives written by refugees who left Vietnam as children and later enrolled as students at the University of California, where they studied with the well-known scholar and teacher Sucheng Chan. She has provided a comprehensive introduction to their autobiographical accounts, which succinctly encompasses more than a thousand years of Vietnamese history. The volume concludes with a thorough bibliography and videography compiled by the editor.While the volume is designed specifically for today's college students, its compelling stories and useful history will appeal to all readers who want to know more about Vietnam and especially about the fates of children who emigrated to the U.S.
Call Number: E184.V53 V55 2006
Online Articles
- Vietnamese Immigrants in the United States
Migration Policy Institute, October 15, 2021
Wartime Trauma and Vietnamese Refugess
- Wartime trauma among Vietnamese refugees subject of new study
NBC News, January 24, 2022 - Children of the Vietnam War
Smithsonian, June 2009
Other Helpful Guides
Ocean Vuong "Breaks Apart" The Immigrant Experience
Associations
- Vietnamese American Services
Vietnamese American Services (VAS) is a non-profit organization established to address current and emerging needs of the Vietnamese American community - PIVOT (The Progressive Vietnamese American Organization)
The vision of PIVOT is to be a collective voice for progressive Vietnamese Americans, to engage and empower Vietnamese Americans through civic engagement and leadership development, and to support policies and candidates that are aligned with our values. - VAALA
VAALA’s mission is to connect and enrich communities through Vietnamese art and culture
Online From CCBC Libraries
Ethnic American Literature by
Unlike any other book of its kind, this volume celebrates published works from a broad range of American ethnic groups not often featured in the typical canon of literature. This culturally rich encyclopedia contains 160 alphabetically arranged entries on African American, Asian American, Latino/a, and Native American literary traditions, among others. The book introduces the uniquely American mosaic of multicultural literature by chronicling the achievements of American writers of non-European descent and highlighting the ethnic diversity of works from the colonial era to the present. The work features engaging topics like the civil rights movement, bilingualism, assimilation, and border narratives. Entries provide historical overviews of literary periods along with profiles of major authors and great works, including Toni Morrison, Maxine Hong Kingston, Maya Angelou, Sherman Alexie, A Raisin in the Sun, American Born Chinese, and The House on Mango Street. The book also provides concise overviews of genres not often featured in textbooks, like the Chinese American novel, African American young adult literature, Mexican American autobiography, and Cuban American poetry. Highlights the most important print and electronic resources on multicultural literature through a detailed bibliography Features entries from 50 contributors, all of whom are experts in their fields Includes cultural works not often highlighted in traditional textbooks, such as Iranian American literature, Dominican American literature, and Puerto Rican American literature
ISBN: 1610698800Publication Date: 2015
College Resources
- Vietnamese Refugee History in ConnecticutOcean Vuong Project, Wesleyan University
Websites
- Vietnamese Americans
from Pew Research Center
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
