On the Shelf @ CCBC
Hong Kong Action Cinema by
"This book tells you everything you ever wanted to know about the high-octane world of Far Eastern film-making. It is also a comprehensive guide to the history of Hong Kong cinema, tracing the background to this exciting film genre from filmed Chinese opera, through the work of the Shaw Brothers and Lau Kar Leung, to the mixture of fantasy and fast-moving action that typifies the present day style.
Call Number: PN1993.5.H6 L65 1996
Global Bollywood by
Global Bollywood shows how this currency in popular culture and among diasporic communities marks only the latest phase of the genre's world travels. This interdisciplinary collection describes the many roots and routes of the Bollywood song-and-dance spectacle.
Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 G54 2008
Bollywood's India by
Bollywood is India's most popular entertainment and one of its most powerful social forces. Its blockbusters contest ideas about state formation, capture the nation's dispersed anxieties, and fabricate public fantasies of what constitutes "India." Written by an award-winning scholar of popular culture and postcolonial modernity, Bollywood's India analyzes the role of the cinema's most popular blockbusters in making, unmaking, and remaking modern India.
Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 J673 2015
The Japanese Cinema Book by
The Japanese Cinema Book provides a new and comprehensive survey of one of the world's most fascinating and widely admired filmmaking regions. In terms of its historical coverage, broad thematic approach and the significant international range of its authors, it is the largest and most wide-ranging publication of its kind to date.Ranging from renowned directors such as Akira Kurosawa to neglected popular genres such as the film musical and encompassing topics such as ecology, spectatorship, home-movies, colonial history and relations with Hollywood and Europe, The Japanese Cinema Book presents a set of new, and often surprising, perspectives on Japanese film.With its plural range of interdisciplinary perspectives based on the expertise of established and emerging scholars and critics, The Japanese Cinema Book provides a groundbreaking picture of the different ways in which Japanese cinema may be understood as a local, regional, national, transnational and global phenomenon.The book's innovative structure combines general surveys of a particular historical topic or critical approach with various micro-level case studies. It argues there is no single fixed Japanese cinema, but instead a fluid and varied field of Japanese filmmaking cultures that continue to exist in a dynamic relationship with other cinemas, media and regions.The Japanese Cinema Book is divided into seven inter-related sections: · Theories and Approaches· * Institutions and Industry· * Film Style· * Genre· * Times and Spaces of Representation· * Social Contexts· * Flows and Interactions
Call Number: PN1993.5.J3 J37 2020
Chinese Film Classics, 1922-1949 by
Chinese Film Classics, 1922-1949 is an essential guide to the first golden age of Chinese cinema. Offering detailed introductions to fourteen films, this study highlights the creative achievements of Chinese filmmakers in the decades leading up to 1949, when the Communists won the civil war and began nationalizing cultural industries. Christopher Rea reveals the uniqueness and complexity of Republican China's cinematic masterworks, from the comedies and melodramas of the silent era to the talkies and musicals of the 1930s and 1940s. Each chapter appraises the artistry of a single film, highlighting its outstanding formal elements, from cinematography to editing to sound design. Examples include the slapstick gags of Laborer's Love (1922), Ruan Lingyu's star turn in Goddess (1934), Zhou Xuan's mesmerizing performance in Street Angels (1937), Eileen Chang's urbane comedy of manners Long Live the Missus! (1947), the wartime epic Spring River Flows East (1947), and Fei Mu's acclaimed work of cinematic lyricism, Spring in a Small Town (1948). Rea shares new insights and archival discoveries about famous films, while explaining their significance in relation to politics, society, and global cinema. Lavishly illustrated and featuring extensive guides to further viewings and readings, Chinese Film Classics, 1922-1949 offers an accessible tour of China's early contributions to the cinematic arts.
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 R43 2021
The Oxford History of World Cinema by
From its humble beginnings as a novelty in a handful of cities, cinema has risen to become a billion- dollar industry and the most spectacular and original contemporary art form. It has spread to all parts of the globe, and is enjoyed by audiences that cut across all sections of society.The Oxford History of World Cinema traces the history of this enduringly popular entertainment medium. Covering all aspects of its development, stars, studios, and cultural impact, the book celebrates and chronicles over one hundred years of diverse achievement from westerns to the New Wave, fromanimation to the Avant-Garde, and from Hollywood to Hong Kong. An international team of distinguished film historians tells the story of the major inventions and developments in the cinema business, its institutions, genres, and personnel; other chapters outline the evolution of national cinemasround the world - the varied and distinctive filmic traditions that have developed alongside Hollywood. A unique aspect of the book are the special inset features on the film-makers and personalities - Garbo and Godard, Keaton and Kurosawa, Bugs Bunny and Bergman - who have had an enduring impact inpopular memory and cinematic lore. With over 300 illustrations, a full bibliography, and an extensive index, this is the buff's ultimate guide to cinema worldwide.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 O96 1995
Streaming @ CCBC
Articles from CCBC Databases
Ebooks @ CCBC
Asian Cinema by
Asia's film industries have undergone significant transformation in the last 30 years. From bilateral co-production agreements to pan-Asian financing, Asian cinema has assumed a regional identity well beyond its constituent national cinemas. This book explores the collaborative models of film production, distribution, exhibition and reception that have enabled greater co-operation and integration between Asia's film industries. In doing so, it contributes to the burgeoning international fields of transnational and world cinema, providing a fresh perspective on Asian cinema through the lens of comparative film studies.
Publication Date: 2021
Extreme Asia by
From Japanese horror to South Korean revenge thrillers, and from the new Hong Kong crime film to Thailand's boundary-breaking ghost stories, Western audiences have been stunned by a boom in challenging cult cinema from East Asia over the last decade. But how did this cycle of 'Extreme' Asian films gain such notoriety? How did distribution companies, journalists, critics and censors contribute to the rise of a new genre of forbidden foreign cinema? Extreme Asia: The Rise of Cult Cinema from the Far East charts the history of the recent cult Asian film invasion, covering a five-year period and focusing on the activities of the distribution company Tartan Films and their incredibly influential 'Asia Extreme' brand. Through a series of case studies of individual releases and other exhibition events, this book examines strategies of film promotion and consumption in the context of differing theories about horror cinema, movie marketing, reception studies, and Orientalism. Covering the rise and fall of the Asia Extreme label, and the enduring legacy of an unforgettable wave of cult cinema, this is a comprehensive study of a film movement that has provoked passion and outrage in equal measure.
Publication Date: 2015
Contemporary Indonesian Film by
This highly informative book explores the world of Post-Soeharto Indonesian audio-visual media in the exiting era of Reform. From a multidisciplinary approach it considers a wide variety of issues such as mainstream and alternative film practices, ceremonial and independent film festivals, film piracy, history and horror, documentary, television soaps, and Islamic films, as well as censorship from the state and street. Through the perspective of discourses on, and practices of film production, distribution, and exhibition, this book gives a detailed insight into current issues of Indonesia's social and political situation, where Islam, secular realities, and ghosts on and off screen, mingle or clash. Originally published with imprint KITLV Press (ISBN 9789067183819) Full text (Open Access)
Publication Date: 2013
Cinemas of the Other by
An original collection of recent interviews with filmmakers whose works represent the trends in the film industries of their respective countries. Preceding the interviews, the author provides an introduction delineating historical information regarding the film industries of the countries included in the book. Each interview comprises of stills from important films discussed and a bio/filmography of the artist. In addition to creative concerns, the focal point of the interviews is to position the filmmaker within the social or political context of their respective country. The striking variety in approaches towards each interview creates a rich diversity of tone and an overwhelming impression of animation within the text. Cinemas of the Other offers a carefully researched and detailed first-hand account on the developments and trends in specific regional film industries.
Publication Date: 2006
