Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Power Trip by For centuries, human activity has been dominated by the need to fuel human civilization. Energy is unique: no other physical resource in society has had such a wide-ranging impact on our ecosystems, economy, public health, and personal liberties. And as the era of fossil fuels stumbles to a close in the West, much of the rest of the world is still just waking up to coal. We have found ourselves on the cusp of a transition in how we get energy that is both obvious and profoundly uncertain. We must decide our next steps quickly. How can we invest responsibly now in a way that will ensure our access to clean, affordable, and reliable energy for the decades to come? In Power Trip, energy expert Michael E. Webber takes readers on a global tour of energy's role in society across many regions and several hundred years. Starting with energy's end-uses and outcomes--water, food, wealth, cities, transportation, and war--Webber uncovers the complicated relationship our civilization has both with energy and its outputs. We've stimulated entrepreneurship, innovation, and opportunity beyond our wildest dreams--but it's come at the steep cost of accelerating climate change, geopolitical insecurity, increased economic inequality, and environmental degradation. Energy has proven to be something we can't live with, and we can't live without. But, as Webber argues, with long-term thinking, global interconnection, and an emphasis on conservation, we can simultaneously solve our energy supply's significant downsides while setting ourselves up for a much brighter future.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .W368 2019
Solar Power by In this important new primer, Dustin Mulvaney makes a passionate case for the significance of solar power energy and offers a vision for a more sustainable and just solar industry for the future. The solar energy industry has grown immensely over the past several years and now provides up to a fifth of California's power. But despite its deservedly green reputation, solar development and deployment may have social and environmental consequences, from poor factory labor standards to landscape impacts on wildlife. Using a wide variety of case studies and examples that trace the life cycle of photovoltaics, Mulvaney expertly outlines the state of the solar industry, exploring the ongoing conflicts between ecological concerns and climate mitigation strategies, current trade disputes, and the fate of toxics in solar waste products. This exceptional overview will outline the industry's current challenges and possible futures for students in environmental studies, energy policy, environmental sociology, and other aligned fields.
Call Number: TD195.S64 M85 2019
Thirst for Power by How changing the way we think about water and energy can secure the long-term sustainability of both precious resources Although it is widely understood that energy and water are the world's two most critical resources, their vital interconnections and vulnerabilities are less often recognized. This farsighted book offers a new, holistic way of thinking about energy and water--a big picture approach that reveals the interdependence of the two resources, identifies the seriousness of the challenges, and lays out an optimistic approach with an array of solutions to ensure the continuing sustainability of both. Michael Webber, a leader and teacher in the field of energy technology and policy, explains how energy and water supplies are linked and how problems in either can be crippling for the other. He shows that current population growth, economic growth, climate change, and short-sighted policies are likely to make things worse. Yet, Webber asserts, more integrated planning with long-term sustainability in mind can avert such a daunting future. Combining anecdotes and personal stories with insights into the latest science of energy and water, he identifies a hopeful path toward wise long-range water-energy decisions and a more reliable and abundant future for humanity.
Call Number: HD9502.A2 W43 2016
Introduction to Renewable Energy by Introduction to Renewable Energy, Second Edition covers the fundamentals of renewable energy and serves as a resource to undergraduates in renewable energy courses, non-specialists within the energy industries, or anyone working to support the successful implementation of renewable energy. The second edition discusses developments that have occurred since the publication of the first edition and considers the growing environmental impact of human activity on planet Earth. Dedicated to converging science and technology in a way that ensures a sustainable future, this book outlines the basics of renewable energy and focuses on current and developing policies that support the shift to renewable energy. New in the second edition, the book addresses bioenergy, energy balance, biodiesel, photovoltaic applications, and climate change. The authors take a multidisciplinary approach and share their observations on trending technologies (including neuroscience, artificial intelligence, virtual reality (VR), nanotechnology, and genetic engineering) that they predict will have a significant impact in the next 25 years. Attributing the major problems in the world to overconsumption and overpopulation, they outline solutions that depend on global and local policies and work to reduce consumption, population growth, greenhouse gas emissions, environmental pollution, and military expenditures. In addition, the book proposes possible answers to our energy dilemma that include: Reduced demand of fossil fuels to depletion rate Transition to zero population growth and the beginning of a steady-state society A tax placed on carbon Implementing more policies and incentives to increase conservation and efficiency and to decrease the emissions of carbon dioxide "... a basic introduction to renewable energy... for non-engineering and physics students... a balanced book in terms of content and topics covered ... with limited interests for professionals working in the field." --Radian Belu, University of Alaska Anchorage, USA
Call Number: TJ808 .N46 2016
Sustainable Energy Associations
Online From CCBC Libraries
Examining Energy and the Environment Around the World by This volume addresses ten issues pertaining to energy and the environment, such as climate change, fossil fuels, endangered species, and renewable energy, and examines how these issues are affecting countries around the world. In the industrial age, first powered by coal and then more often by oil, environmental degradation nearly inevitably followed resource exploitation and energy production. This book examines environmental issues in specific countries around the world as well as solutions some of these countries have discovered in order to help save the environment. This volume includes 10 chapters, each addressing a specific issue relating to energy and the environment as it pertains to a variety of countries, including toxic chemicals, pollution, deforestation, and climate change. Each chapter begins with an introduction to the issue. Following the chapter introduction, each chapter highlights that issue in eight countries and provides historic perspective. This work provides an overview for high school students and college students at the undergraduate level on 10 important topics that address matters relating to energy and the environment in the 21st century. * Provides readers with an understanding of the complexities of environmental and energy issues, which will result in a comprehensive view of the issues certain countries face * Allows students to make cross-cultural comparisons about how countries are dealing with issues related to energy and the environment * Includes photographs that help to bring the text to life * Explains contemporary issues in an overview, allowing student readers to better understand the problems that face our society today
Publication Date: 2019
Dictionary of Energy by The Dictionary of Energy, Second Edition is a comprehensive and authoritative reference on all aspects of energy and its role in society. Edited by Cutler J. Cleveland and Christopher Morris, the editors of Handbook of Energy, Volumes 1 and 2, this authoritative resource comes at a time when the topic of energy prices, resources and environmental impacts are at the forefront of news stories and political discussions. The Second Edition of Dictionary of Energy contains over 10,000 terms, across 40 key subject areas in energy (e.g. solar, oil & gas, economics, models, policy, basic concepts, sustainable development, systems, renewable/alternative energy, water, etc), with additional window essays on key issues, such as Biomass, Ecological Footprint, Exergy, Fuel Cell, and Hybrid Vehicles. Dictionary of Energy, Second Edition is a valuable reference for undergraduate and graduate students, academics, and research scientists who study energy, as well as business corporations, professional firms, government agencies, foundations, and other groups whose activities relate to energy.
Publication Date: 2014
Race for Sustainability by "Even with the latest and best vehicles, machinery, technology and buildings, if we continue to use resources irresponsibly -- if we continue to waste food, water and energy -- we are not even in the race."This book looks at the sustainable issues and the accompanying opportunities, and leads readers on a fast track to clear the air and drive to a sustainable, low-carbon future. To focus on renewable energy and energy efficiency. To stop the burning and stop wasting resources. Read on and let the wealth of information in this book inspire you along your sustainability journey. Join the race and act soon.A portfolio of stories, essays, profiles and case studies covering the four E's of Sustainability: Energy, Economy, Environment and Ethics.
Publication Date: 2014
How to Boil an Egg by "Surprisingly optimistic. That is what the future of energy looks like, according to author Ad van Wijk. Over a quarter of a century ago Van Wijk co-founded and was CEO of Econcern, the company that developed into the largest Dutch sustainable energy business. Surprisingly optimistic, our energy future? And what about rising prices of fossil fuels, depleting resources, pollution, energy related health problems, dependency on unpleasant and unstable regimes? Furthermore, isn't sustainable energy expensive, difficult to harvest, unreliable and not yet available by a long shot? And didn't Econcern itself go bankrupt during the financial crisis? Van Wijk's optimism seems to be against the odds. But those who are prepared to take an unbiased look at the energy possibilities already existing today, get a whole new perspective. Sustainable energy for everyone, all over the world, does appear to be a goal within reach, both technologically and financially. And much, much quicker than many would tend to believe. In this book Ad van Wijk, currently professor in Future Energy Systems at Delft Technical University, succeeds in presenting a refreshing new outlook on the 'energy' phenomenon. It is concise, surprising and a very good read too, full of day-to-day examples (hence the title 'How to boil an egg'). It is a surprisingly optimistic book indeed. But surprisingly realistic too"--Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2012
Electricity Generation Using Wind Power by The use of the wind as an energy source is increasing and growing worldwide. Wind energy is an important non-fossil option to supplement fossil (coal, natural gas and oil) and nuclear fuels for the generation of electricity. Many parts of the world, particularly the coastlines of Western Europe, North Africa, North and South America, India, Eastern Russia, China, the Philippines, Australia and New Zealand, experience a high annual incidence of wind energy. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, together with the Republic of Ireland form a particularly windy location, being favoured with strong westerly winds. The technology of the design and installation of wind turbines and wind farms are, in fact, well established. Operational practice, though, is still being developed as engineers learn by experience. This book is written for electrical engineers concerned with the use of wind power for generating electricity. It incorporates some meteorological features of international wind supply plus a survey of the past and present wind turbines with technical assessment of the choice of turbine sites. Detailed coverage is given to the different types of electrical generator machines used and the electronic control devices employed in modern turbine systems. Importantly, this book devotes full chapters to the integration of wind farms into established electrical grid supply systems, and the environmental and economic aspects of wind generation. Engineers will be drawn to the practical approach in this book, featuring worked numerical examples complete with answers at the end of some chapters.
Publication Date: 2010
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
Articles on environmental topics.
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.