On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Accounting for People Who Think They Hate Accounting by
Financial statements serve as a report card for a business through which managers and entrepreneurs can know their exact financial positions. These financial statements are prepared only through financial accounting. The main purpose of financial accounting is to help entrepreneurs exercise control over their business activities by controlling total costs incurred so that they are able to earn higher profits. So, in order to understand where exactly the business stands financially, knowledge of financial accounting is imperative. What is financial accounting? Why do I need to understand it? How will it help me in my business? Why is it important to me? Or Is it important to me? These are some of the questions that surface in the minds of young and aspiring entrepreneurs when they start their business or are on the verge of starting one. This book aims to answer them in the most practical and comprehensible manner possible so that accounting is no longer a nightmare for them.
Call Number: HF5636 .S562 2016
Bookkeeping Essentials by
The handy problem-solver with helpful information for today's busy bookkeepers Bookkeeping Essentials: How to Succeed as a Bookkeeper is the handy problem-solver that gives today's busy bookkeepers and accountants the helpful information they need in a quick-reference format. Whether in public practice or private industry, professionals will always have this reliable reference tool at their fingertips. Packed with practical techniques and rules of thumb for analyzing, evaluating, and solving the day-to-day problems every accountant faces Helps bookkeepers and accountants quickly pinpoint what to look for, what to watch out for, what to do, and how to do it Offers hundreds of explanations supported by a multitude of examples, tables, charts, and ratios Filled with dozens of accounting best practices, Bookkeeping Essentials is a powerful companion for the ever-changing world of today's accountant and bookkeeper.
Call Number: HF5636 .B832 2011
The Handy Accounting Answer Book by
An informative, easy-to-use guide to accounting fundamentals and concepts Everyone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo, The Handy Accounting Answer Book can help anyone acquire the skills to start or run a business, plan for retirement, set money aside for a big purchase, establish everyday budgets, and improve their money management. Find out about the concepts and assumptions behind the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. Understand tax returns and maximize write-off. Manage retirement account statements and find ways to improve their results. Learn how to create a business plan. Learn about a business' financial ratios, cost of goods, depreciation, tax planning, recognizing revenue and expenses, financial audits, year-end closing the books, and other terms and rules. Maximize profits and improve personal or business bottom lines. Covering accounting fundamentals, concepts, and jargon, The Handy Accounting Answer Book is for everyone who wants to understand the language of money and business. It uses basic terms and simple examples to illustrate complex accounting topics and can help you make better decisions about your business or personal finances. This handy primer answers nearly 800 questions and offers fun facts covering the basics of accounting, including ... What is the earliest known form of accounting? What are the elements of financial statements? When is revenue recognized? What is accrual basis accounting? How does an accountant determine which asset account titles to use? What is goodwill? How many different types of financial statements are there? What is the basic accounting equation? How is operating income different from net income? How do you know if a company is doing well? What is the quick ratio? How is earnings per share evaluated? What is a journal entry? What is a purchase order? What is the fraud triangle? How is depreciation expense calculated and recorded? What is a franchise? What are the employer payroll taxes? What is indirect labor? How is a budget prepared? What is a revenue variance? What is contribution margin? What is the time value of money? What is one of the first things that must be done when starting a small business? What are some of the key components of a business plan? Can a business be successful if it doesn't make a profit? What is a CPA? What happened at Enron? For anyone planning for a business, retirement, college, or life in general, this informative book also includes a glossary of commonly used terms to cut through the jargon, a helpful bibliography, appendices providing examples of accountancy practices, and an extensive index, adding to its usefulness. It will help anyone's financial intelligence!
Call Number: HF5635 .G774 2019
Keeping the Books by
The premier resource for basic bookkeeping and business record management, Keeping the Books is a comprehensive, yet down to earth, treatment of one of the most important, yet often neglected, aspects of running a business. User-friendly and packed with easy-to-understand illustrations, worksheets, and forms, this popular financial reference tool is completely updated, and replete with the variety of IRS forms that entrepreneurs have to be familiar with. From updating car and transportation expenses to exploding the myths around independent contractors, the author presents everything a small company needs to know to maintain proper records. Following the roadmap outlined in Keeping the Books, entrepreneurs will learn how to: Prepare and analyze financial statements to stay in touch with the heartbeat of their business Set up bookkeeping systems to keep track of financial details Maintain the required IRS records necessary to stay out of trouble Plan for required taxes due
Call Number: HF5636 .P649 2007
Streaming Videos
Article Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Articles from business publications, journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Accounting Savvy for Business Owners by
Addressing a common problem for small-business owners, this accessible handbook is the key to understanding the ins and outs of accounting. Demonstrating how to correctly maintain records and apply bookkeeping rules, this guide demonstrates how to keep track of all financial matters and monitor the overall health of any business. Avoiding complex and burdensome accounting jargon, this clear and concise overview translates the essentials into practical business language, answering the most frequently asked questions presented to accountants by small-business owners today. Topics covered include accounting components such as sales, expenses, assets, liabilities, and owners' profits.
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
QuickBooks 2018 All-In-One for Dummies by
The easy way to manage business finances QuickBooks is known for helping their users effectively handle their financial and business management tasks, and QuickBooks 2018 All-in-One For Dummies is the go-to guide for anyone looking to gain insight into the latest version of the software. It gets you up to speed on the key features of QuickBooks and small business accounting and makes managing finances a breeze. This book will help you learn all the skills you need to know, like how to invoice customers, pay vendors, manage cash and bank accounts, use activity-based costing, and write a business plan. Written by highly qualified CPA Stephen L. Nelson, this detailed reference combines eight mini-books into one complete resource. Small business finances can be complicated, but QuickBooks 2018 is a valuable tool for getting them right--and this guide makes it easier. Troubleshoot and protect your financial data Utilize Cloud storage and access your information from a smartphone Plan and set up a QuickBooks system Make sense of double-entry bookkeeping Handle your financial and business management tasks more effectively QuickBooks 2018 All-in-One For Dummies is a helpful resource for getting started with QuickBooks 2018, and a reference guide that will provide insight and answers to experienced users as well.
Publication Date: 2017-12-11
The Ultimate Finance Book by
This is your complete course in business finance. From balance sheets and profit statements to cashflow, budgets and forecasts, THE ULTIMATE FINANCE BOOK is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately. * Part 1: Your Finance for Non-Financial Managers Masterclass * Part 2: Your Bookkeeping and Accounting Masterclass * Part 3: Your Understanding and Interpreting Accounts Masterclass * Part 4: Your Successful Budgeting and Forecasting Masterclass Discover the main themes, key ideas and tools you need, and bring it all together with practical exercises. ABOUT THE SERIES ULTIMATE books are for managers, leaders, and business executives who want to succeed at work. From marketing and sales to management and finance, each title gives comprehensive coverage of the essential business skills you need to get ahead in your career. Written in straightforward English, each book is designed to help you quickly master the subject, with fun quizzes embedded so that you can check how you're doing.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
