On Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Accounting and Business Ethics by
Despite the enormous impact of various accounting scandals on the accounting profession, the general malaise amongst the profession more broadly, and the significant legislative and institutional reforms that have taken place as a result, there are still surprisingly few textbooks on accounting ethics. This concise introductory text takes a broad view of ethics and accounting, taking into account contemporary social trends, such as globalization and terrorism. Rather than delineating codes of professional conduct, this text pushes the reader towards an understanding of the nature of ethical dilemmas and the factors that influence the ways in which accountants frame ethical questions. The book is divided into two parts. The first part focuses on developing thinking about the different kinds of ethical questions that could be posed in relation to accounting. The second part focuses more explicitly on accounting practice, exploring the ethical function of accounting in relation to the market economy, ethics in relation to the accounting profession, and the ethics of the international accounting harmonization project. Accounting and Business Ethics is a compact introduction aimed at both students and practitioners who want to understand more about the ethics of accounting.
Call Number: HF5625.15.M39
Accounting for Non-Accountants by
With free Web-based tests and fully updated for 2012, Accounting for Non-Accountants continues to be the easiest to use beginner guide for anyone who's never taken an accounting class, is mystified by accounting jargon, or has no clue about balance sheets or statements of cash flow. Included in this updated edition: * A new chapter on fraud--a major issue facing small businesses today* A new chapter on international accounting* A handy Q&A chapter for quick answers to top questions* Fully updated examples and appendices, including more online resources
Call Number: HF5636.L33
Accounting Information Systems by
Directed primarily toward Accounting college/university majors, this text also provides practical content to current and aspiring industry professionals. Kay/Ovlia is designed to assist readers as they explore the crossroads of accounting and IT--the very place where they'll learn how to gain a competitive edge in the accounting field. To help them on their journey, this text presents information on how to develop communication, leadership, strategic and critical thinking, a customer focus, an interpretation of converging information, and technological skills.
Call Number: HF5679.K36
Fundamental Accounting Principles by Call Number: HF5636 .W675 2019
Using Microsoft© Excel© and Access 2016 for Accounting by
Learn how today's businesses use spreadsheets and databases in accounting with USING EXCEL & ACCESS FOR ACCOUNTING 2016. This book's step-by-step approach incorporates plenty of screenshots to clearly demonstrate how to use these tools most effectively to solve real accounting problems.
Call Number: HF5679.O945
Digital Learning Object by Wisc-Online with Creative Commons License
- The Accounting Cycle
In this online activity, you will learn ten steps of the accounting cycle that begins with the analysis of source documents and ends with the post-closing trial balance and interpreting the financial information.
Rutgers University Accounting Digital Library
Article Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Articles from business publications, journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Accounting Best Practices by
ACCOUNTING BEST PRACTICES Seventh Edition Today's accounting staffs are called on to work magic: process transactions, write reports, improve efficiency, create new processes--all at the lowest possible cost, using an ever-shrinking proportion of total corporate expenses. Sound impossible? Not if your staff is using the best practices for accounting. Fully updated in a new edition, Accounting Best Practices, Seventh Edition draws from renowned accounting leader Steven Bragg's extensive experience in successfully developing, operating, and consulting various accounting departments. This invaluable resource has the at-your-fingertips information you need, whether you've been searching for ways to cut costs in your accounting department, or just want to offer more services without the added expense. The best practices featured in this excellent step-by-step manual constitute need-to-know information concerning the most advanced techniques and strategies for increasing productivity, reducing costs, and monitoring existing accounting systems. This new edition boasts over 400 best practices, with fifty new to this edition in the areas of taxation, finance, collections, general ledger, accounts payable, and billing. Now featuring a corresponding seven-minute podcast for each chapter found on the book's companion website, Accounting Best Practices is the perfect, do-it-yourself book for the manager who wants to significantly boost their accounting department.
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Dictionary of Accounting Terms by
Reflecting recent trends in accounting practice, this dictionary contains more than 2,500 accounting terms and their definitions. Where appropriate the definitions are expanded with examples, charts and tables to clarify their meanings.
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers by
Based on the bestselling AMA seminar, a nuts-and-bolts guide to the dollars-and-cents issues that drive your organization! As a department manager, the last thing you want to think about is numbers. But the truth is, that's the only thing your executives and senior managers are thinking about so it's crucial to understand key financial information like balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements, budgets and forecasts, and annual reports. With over 40,000 copies sold, The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers has long provided readers with insight into the financial fundamentals. It demystifies the role accounting and finance play in a corporation, demonstrates how financial decisions reflect business goals, and shows how managers can connect corporate financial information directly to their own strategies and actions. Now revised to reflect new accounting and financial standards, the second edition includes: Strategies for getting your share of the budget * New case studies and practice sessions * An explanation of Sarbanes-Oxley and its relevance to nonfinancial managers * How to manage cash flow in tough times * Fraud detection tools * An expanded glossary including up-to-the-minute business concepts and terminology * And more
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Law, Corporate Governance and Accounting by
The growing internationalization of markets, the relaxation of constraints on capital flows between countries, and the creation of different economic unions -- the European Union in particular -- initiated the flow of capital, goods, and services across national borders, growth and diffusion of shareholding, and increased merger activity among the world's largest stock exchanges. These changes have stimulated an interest in understanding developments in accounting and corporate governance in a newly qualitative way. Law, Corporate Governance, and Accounting sets out a framework for the analysis of institutional environments as the interconnected key tools of modern public corporations. Along with examining latest developments in the integrated formal structures for the formulation of international accounting principles, analyzing new accounting regulations and the extrapolating on the lessons that can be learned from the harmonization of accounting principles in Europe, this monograph provides the analyses of the convergence in both auditing and corporate governance as well as US perspective on IFRS adoption.
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
Accounting for Social Value by
When organizations use social accounting practices, they are able to measure their performance in terms of benefits accrued to key stakeholders such as their communities, human resources, and those investing in the organization. This innovative change in accounting can lead to a fundamentally different perspective on the value of an organization. Through case studies of organizations that have implemented social accounting in the United States, Canada, India, and Scotland,nbsp;Accounting for Social Valuenbsp;provides a unique perspective for understanding key issues in this growing field. Building on two related titles, Researching the Social Economy (2010) and Businesses with a Difference (2012), Accounting for Social Value offers academics, accountants, policy-developers, and members of non-profit, co-operative, and for-profit organizations tools and insights to explore the connections between economic, social, and environmental dimensions. The lessons learned are valuable not only for other social economy organizations, but also for organizations in the public and for-profit sectors.
Publication Date: 2013-01-25
