Youth Fitness Websites
- MedlinePlus: College Health There are steps you can take to stay healthy and safe while you’re in college. Information on these steps and includes an email update on college health.
- Children and Adolescents (6-17 years) CDC The evidence is clear—physical activity fosters normal growth and development, can reduce the risk of various chronic diseases, and can make people feel better, function better, and sleep better. Some health benefits start immediately after activity, and even short bouts of physical activity are beneficial.
Online at CCBC
Time to Move by
Physical development underpins much of a child's later educational advancement. Without good coordination, core stability and gross motor skills the fine motor skills needed for tool handling and writing may not fully develop. Each aspect of physical development is interlinked with a child's future success as a learner.This book contains practical, easy to follow suggestions linked to the ages and stages of the Early Years Outcomes. It offers clear information on what to look for in terms of the child's developing moving and handling skills and how to plan for next steps. Each section is colour coded and links the Early Years Outcomes to the planning cycle and Characteristics of Effective Learning.It contains a wide range of additional activities and an assessment grid to support practitioners' current tracking systems and help demonstrate progress over a specific period of time.
Call Number: eBook RJ133ISBN: 1472918835Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Fueling the Teen Machine by
Addressing the growing trend of teenagers whose eating habits keep fast-food restaurants flourishing but do little to keep the kids themselves in shape, this guide presents parents with the tools to ensure the daily health of their children. Providing the latest information on a wide range of food topics, this handbook covers everything from carbohydrates to eating disorders and vitamins, discussing each aspect sensitively and suggesting the ultimate new frontier for busy teens -- cooking their meals themselves. This updated edition contains an expanded section on portion distortion, fitness for health, and how to read food labels, while outlining the latest studies, statistics, nutrition guidelines, and health information. New recipes, tips on creating shopping lists, and meal-planning ideas are included and vegetarian and vegan issues for teens are addressed.
Call Number: eBook RJ235 .S52 2011ISBN: 1933503378Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Databases
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Articles focused on contemporary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
Getting Started with Exercise from PBS
Fitness as Young Adult Can Preserve Brain in Middle Age from Films on Demand
New Exercise Guidelines: Move More, Sit Less, Start Younger from PBS
Sparty Time! Exercise Fun with Kids from PBS
On the Shelf at CCBC
Keeping Kids Fit by
Addressing the childhood obesity crisis that is facing today's youth, this simple and effective guide to exercise and nutrition provides a comprehensive plan for encouraging children to live healthier, more active lifestyles. Not limited to diet alone, this guide examines the psychology behind sports and how parents can help to positively encourage their children to participate. Reducing the use of technology, keeping healthy sleep patterns, minimizing snacking, and staying hydrated are topics also addressed in this handbook, which helps parents make healthy lifestyles fun and exciting.
Call Number: RJ133 .S38 2010ISBN: 1934184268Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Strength and Conditioning for Young Athletes by
Strength and Conditioning for Young Athletesoffers an evidence-based introduction to the theory and practice of strength and conditioning for children and young athletes. Drawing upon leading up-to-date research in all aspects of fitness and movement skill development, the book adopts a holistic approach to training centred on the concept of long-term athletic development and the welfare of the young athlete. While other textbooks focus on a single aspect of youth trainability, this book explores every key topic in strength and conditioning as applied to young people, including: talent identification motor skill development strength, power and plyometrics speed and agility metabolic conditioning mobility and flexibility periodization weightlifting myths overtraining and injury prevention nutrition. Written by a team of leading international strength and conditioning experts and paediatric sport scientists, every chapter includes programming guidelines for youths throughout childhood and adolescence to show how the latest scientific research can be applied by coaches to optimize young athletic potential. This is an essential resource for all students of strength and conditioning or paediatric exercise science, as well as any coach or athletic trainer working with children and young people. mp;lt;LI>metabolic conditioning mobility and flexibility periodization weightlifting myths overtraining and injury prevention nutrition. Written by a team of leading international strength and conditioning experts and paediatric sport scientists, every chapter includes programming guidelines for youths throughout childhood and adolescence to show how the latest scientific research can be applied by coaches to optimize young athletic potential. This is an essential resource for all students of strength and conditioning or paediatric exercise science, as well as any coach or athletic trainer working with children and young people.
Call Number: GV443 .S775 2013ISBN: 0415694876Publication Date: 2013-07-19
Parachute Play by
Play, wiggle, and laugh as you introduce young children to Parachute Play. Using a parachute or large bed sheet, start with the Basic Sessions to teach young children how to hold and move the chute. Now you're ready to expand into WarmUp Exercises, play Holiday, Seasonal, and Everyday Games, and relax with Cool-Down Activities. Over 150 games which you and your children will enjoy playing inside and outside. The original Parachute Play book sold over 100,000 copies. Now it is totally updated, expanded, and revised. All new illustrations make this a light, airy, fun to use book with young children ages 3-8. Sampling of Contents Introduction -- What is Parachute Play? -- Using Parachute Play -- Keeping Things Under Control 8 Basic Sessions: WarmUp Exercises -- Balloon Float -- Parachute Pulls -- Ripples & Waves -- Number Snap Everyday Games -- Happy Birthday -- Window Washer -- Parachute "Hello" -- Tootsie Roll -- Tummy Tag -- Parachute Rollerball Holiday & Seasonal Games -- Parachute Freeze -- Easter Egg Hunt -- Wiggle Worm -- Red, White, and Blue -- Turkey Feathers -- Jingle Bells Cool-Down Activities -- Breathe & Wave -- Rag Doll -- Good Bye Balloons -- Rock-A-Bye Baby -- Are You Sleeping? -- Shh!
Call Number: GV1218.P34 W55 2000ISBN: 0943452309Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Sports Injuries Information for Teens by
"Provides updated basic consumer health information for teens on sports-related injuries, treatment, and rehabilitation, along with safety guidelines and prevention tips. Includes index, and resource information"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RD97 .S689 2008ISBN: 0780810112Publication Date: 2008-05-01
