Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
-
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Scholarly collection on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
-
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and scholarly essays, historical newspaper articles, primary sources, and timelines you can use for African American topics.
-
Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Articles about careers, trades, industries,and job searches.
-
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
📖 Career Research Guide 📚
This guide has a variety of websites, books, and professional organizations linked to help with career information.
Online ebooks from CCBC
-
Countries, Peoples and Cultures
by
This brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe. With nine comprehensive, up-to-date volumes spanning every major world region, this in-depth reference source is one of the most thorough compilations of its kind on the market today. The Countries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions. Useful for students, educators, academic researchers, and other professionals in their fields, this encyclopedia is a must-have for community, academic, and specialized libraries across the nation. Every volume in this series contains Culture Profiles that explore each nation's background, practices, beliefs, laws, peoples, and more, ensuring users receive a complete, three-dimensional understanding of the countries they research. Every Culture Profile contains a picture of the country's flag and two large colored maps, one highlighting the country's location in its region of the world and the other detailing the capital, major cities, and major natural landmarks. An Introduction provides general information about each country, such as its Population, Official Language(s), Physical Size, Climate, Currency, and National Motto/Anthem. Subsequent sections dive deep into a diverse array of topics, including: Environment & Geography, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Arts & Entertainment, Cultural Sites & Landmarks, Libraries & Museums, Holidays, Youth Culture, Cultural History, Transportation, Infrastructure, Media & Communications, Standard of Living, Education, Women's Rights, Health Care, Government, Tourism, Agriculture, and the Economy. Every Culture Profile ends with a list of Off- Beat Facts, such as origins of familiar words or unique traditions only found in the featured nation. An appendix of World Government Profiles focuses on 21 types of governments found in the world today, highlighting each government's Guiding Premise, Typical Structure, Role of the Citizen, and modern-day Examples. Governments featured in this appendix include: Commonwealth, Communist, Confederacy/Confederation, Constitutional Republic, Constitutional Monarchy, Democracy, Dictatorship/ Military Dictatorship, Ecclesiastical, Federal Republic, Federation, Monarchy, Parliamentary Monarchy, Parliamentary Republic, Presidential, Republic, Socialist, Sultanate/Emirate, Theocratic Republic, Totalitarian, Treaty System, and Failed State. An additional appendix of World Religion Profiles reviews 10 major world religions and includes a General Description that details the Religion Name, Number of Adherents Worldwide, Basic Tenets, Sacred Text(s), Major Figures, Major Holy Sites, Major Rites & Celebrations, and other beliefs, such as the existence of an afterlife. Origins of each religion are also thoroughly explored, including the History & Geography, Founder/Major Prophet, Philosophical Basis, and Holy Places, as well as explanations of the faith's Governance, Personal Conduct of Believers, Rites, Celebrations, Services, and more. Religions profiled in this appendix include: Baha'i, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Judaism, Religious Traditions of Africa, Religious Traditions of Asia, and Sikhism.
Call Number: eBook F1408 .C46 2015ISBN: 9781619257887 -
Focus on Civilizations and Cultures
by
Cultural diversity is the variety of human societies or cultures in a specific region, or in the world as a whole. (The term is also sometimes used to refer to multiculturalism within an organization. As well as the more obvious cultural differences that exist between people, such as language, dress and traditions, there are also significant variations in the way societies organize themselves, in their shared conception of morality, and in the ways they interact with their environment. It can be argued that cultural diversity may be vital for the long-term survival of humanity; and that the conservation of indigenous cultures may be as important to humankind as the conservation of species and ecosystems is to life in general. This new and important book gathers the latest research from around the globe in the study of this dynamic field with a focus on related topics such as: Australian multiculturalism, language identity in multicultural Canada, cultural diversity of immigrants and international trade, cultural diversity tourism, cross cultural knowledge of Native Americans and others)
Call Number: eBook HM1271 .C852 2010ISBN: 9781617613913 -
World Building: transmedia, fans, industries
by
Thanks to modern technology, we are now living in an age of multiplatform fictional worlds, as television, film, the Internet, graphic novels, toys and more facilitate the creation of diverse yet compact imaginary universes, which are often recognisable as brands and exhibit well-defined identities. This volume, situated at the cutting edge of media theory, explores this phenomenon from both theoretical and practical perspectives, uncovering how the construction of these worlds influences our own determination of values and meaning in contemporary society.
Call Number: eBook P96.G46 W67 2017ISBN: 9789048525317 -
America in Denial
by
In America in Denial Lori Latrice Martin examines the myth of a race-fair America by reviewing and offering alternatives to universal, race-neutral programs and policies as well as other allegedly race-neutral initiates. By considering policies and programs related to wealth, health, education, and criminal justice, while presenting themselves as race-neutral, Martin reveals that black scholars and politicians, in particular, seemingly capitulate and have become proponents of these programs and policies that perpetuate the myth of a race-fair America. This (mis)use provides cover for elected officials and presidential hopefuls needed to garner the support and authenticity required to increase public support for their initiatives. These issues must be unpacked and debunked, and the material and nonmaterial harm historically done to black people, and still felt today, must be acknowledged. The idea that programs available to all people will benefit black people is demonstratively untrue, and the alternatives presented in America in Denial will generate much-needed conversations.
Call Number: eBook E184.A1 M37 2021ISBN: 9781438482972 -
Black Hair in a White World
by
A critical and nuanced look at societal perceptions of Black hair, past and present Black Hair in a White World is an in-depth study of the cultural history, perceptions, and increasing acceptance of Black hair in the broader American society. The essays in this anthology discuss representations and responses to Black hair, including analysis of research findings about marketing messages and depictions of Black hair in popular culture, discussions of workplace discrimination, and stories about the origins of the natural hair movement and how many Black people have learned to embrace and celebrate their natural hair. Beginning with a close analysis of historical and contemporary books, media, and ads, Black Hair in a White World illustrates both positive and negative responses to Black hair. In the second section, Ellington features contributions from diverse scholars and activists who argue that natural Black hair has often explicitly been--and still is--criticized by non-Blacks and Blacks who believe that the natural texture of Black hair is a problem that must be solved and believe that natural Black hair is unacceptable, unprofessional, and unattractive. Authors of the volume's final essays conclude by pushing against this narrative and describing the emergence of the natural hair movement, which has pushed for increased mainstream acceptance of Black hair. Black Hair in a White World is a groundbreaking, serious examination of perceptions of Black hair and makes an important contribution to ongoing discussions about gender, sociology, and self-expression.
Call Number: eBook GT2290 .B53 2023ISBN: 9781631015106 -
The COVID-19 Crisis: Social Perspectives
by
Since its emergence in early 2020, the COVID-19 crisis has affected every part of the world. Well beyond its health effects, the pandemic has wrought major changes in people's everyday lives as they confront restrictions imposed by physical distancing and consequences such as loss of work, working or learning from home and reduced contact with family and friends. This edited collection covers a diverse range of experiences, practices and representations across international contexts and cultures (UK, Europe, North America, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand). Together, these contributions offer a rich account of COVID society. They provide snapshots of what life was like for people in a variety of situations and locations living through the first months of the novel coronavirus crisis, including discussion not only of health-related experiences but also the impact on family, work, social life and leisure activities. The socio-material dimensions of quotidian practices are highlighted: death rituals, dating apps, online musical performances, fitness and exercise practices, the role of windows, healthcare work, parenting children learning at home, moving in public space as a blind person and many more diverse topics are explored. In doing so, the authors surface the feelings of strangeness and challenges to norms of practice that were part of many people's experiences, highlighting the profound affective responses that accompanied the disruption to usual cultural forms of sociality and ritual in the wake of the COVID outbreak and restrictions on movement. The authors show how social relationships and social institutions were suspended, re-invented or transformed while social differences were brought to the fore. At the macro level, the book includes localised and comparative analyses of political, health system and policy responses to the pandemic, and highlights the differences in representations and experiences of very different social groups, including people with disabilities, LGBTQI people, Dutch Muslim parents, healthcare workers in France and Australia, young adults living in northern Italy, performing artists and their audiences, exercisers in Australia and New Zealand, the Latin cultures of Spain and Italy, Asian-Americans and older people in Australia. This volume will appeal to undergraduates and postgraduates in sociology, cultural and media studies, medical humanities, anthropology, political science and cultural geography.
Call Number: eBook RA644.C67 C6833 2021ISBN: 9781000375909 -
Food Inequalities
by
This book provides an accessible introduction to food inequality in the United States, offering readers a broad survey of the most important topics and issues and exploring how economics, culture, and public policy have shaped our current food landscape.Food inequality in the United States can take many forms. From the low-income family unable to afford enough to eat and the migrant farm worker paid below minimum wage to city dwellers stranded in an urban food desert, disparities in how we access and relate to food can have significant physical, psychological, and cultural consequences. These inequalities often have deep historical roots and a complex connection to race, socioeconomic status, gender, and geography.Part of Greenwood's Health and Medical Issues Today series, Food Inequalities is divided into three sections. Part I explores different types of food inequality and highlights current efforts to improve food access and equity in the U.S. Part II delves deep into a variety of issues and controversies related to the subject, offering thorough and balanced coverage of these hot-button topics. Part III provides a variety of useful supplemental materials, including case studies, a timeline of critical events, and a directory of resources.
Call Number: eBook HD9006 .A785 2021ISBN: 9781440864315
