Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CCBC Archives and Special Collections
CCBC Invisible History
CCBC Invisible History
This site shares projects from an Honors' Summer Research Experience cohort from summer 2021, many of which are related to the hidden history of CCBC campus locations.
Historic Maryland Newspapers online
State and National Resources Regarding African American History
The Maryland State Archives' Study of the Legacy of Slavery Staff invites researchers to explore all of these elements and more within its numerous source documents, exhibits and interactive online presentations.
- African American Resources- Maryland State Archives
A resource guide to materials on African American history from the Maryland State Archives. Covers early and modern history, including early census and government records, links to online resources, and a detailed description for the various types of early African American records.
- African-American History Collections
A list of digitized collections on African-American history from the American Memory division of the Library of Congress. Materials include slave narratives, pamphlets, legal documents, and ephemera. Type a keyword into the search box to search several collections at once. You may also browse and search collections individually, including the Frederick Douglass Papers, Slavery and Law Documents, and Slave Narratives collections.
Maryland Center for History and Culture Guide to African American Sources
- Africans in America
An overview of slavery in American from 1450-1865, compiled by PBS, with historical documents and teaching plans.
- Belair-at-Bowie Flight to Freedom
A research project from the Maryland State Archives to document the complexities of slavery in Prince George's County community between 1830 and 1860.
- Beneath the Underground Railroad
Resource guide on The flight to freedom and communities in Antebellum Maryland presented by the Maryland State Archives.
- Manumissions, Indentures, Bills of Sale - Howard County Historical Society
This collection of 168 items from the Howard County Historical Society contains manumissions, indentures, bills of sale, and other documents related to slavery in Howard County, Maryland in the decades before and just after the Civil War, including several manumissions of slaves who had entered military service during the War.
- National Underground Freedom Center
The official website for the National Underground Freedom Center, a Smithsonian Affiliate located in Cincinnati, Ohio. Provides information about the history of slavery and the underground railroad, as well as online exhibits.
- Slave Documents Collection-Enoch Pratt Free Library
A small digital collection documenting slavery in the state of Maryland.
- Slavery and Freedom in Maryland
A resource from the Mount Clare Museum House in Baltimore, MD about the history of slavery in the Baltimore area.
- Slavery and the Making of America
An extensive online resource compiled by PBS about the experience of slavery in the United States.
- The Study of the Legacy of Slavery in Maryland
A research guide compiled by the Maryland State Archives.
Federal Writers' Project Slave Narratives
Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade