Diseases, Disorders, and Injuries of the Integumentary System
- Diseases and Conditions: A to Z
An alphabetical guide of diseases and conditions that affect the skin, hair, and nails..
From American Academy of Dermatology - Diseases, Disorders, and Injuries of the Integumentary System
from: Anatomy and Physiology 2e - Recognizing neglected skin diseases: WHO publishes pictorial training guide
World Health Organization - Skin Diseases
from National Institutes of Health
Online from CCBC Libraries
Imflammatory Skin Disorders by
"The Demos Surgical Pathology Guides series presents in summary and visual form the basic knowledge base that every practicing pathologist needs every working day. Series volumes cover the major specialty areas of surgical pathology, and coverage emphasizes the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice, and that they must know whether in training or practice. The emphasis is on the basic morphology with newer techniques represented where they are frequently used. The series provides a handy summary and quick reference that any pathology resident or fellow will find useful. Experienced practitioners will find the series valuable as a portable ≈ refresher course' or review tool. Inflammatory Skin Disorders, the third volume in the Demos Surgical Pathology Series provides essential information on a range of key inflammatory skin diagnoses, including but not limited to those that pathologists commonly see in daily practice. Inflammatory Skin Disorders describes the major patterns of skin inflammatory conditions along with the most common entities included in each differential diagnosis. The chapters cover the histologic patterns including inflammatory reactions primarily involving the epidermis, the dermis, and the subcutaneous tissue, cutaneous deposition and metabolic disorders, infectious diseases of the skin, and more. Inflammatory Skin Disorders is highly illustrated throughout and provides a handy summary and quick reference guide for pathology residents and serves as a useful quick reference guide for the more experienced pathologist."
Publication Date: 2012
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Goodheart's Photoguide to Common Skin Disorders by
The first prize winner in dermatology in the 2004 British Medical Association Book Competition, Goodheart's Photoguide of Common Skin Disorders is now in its newly revised Third Edition. This easy-to-use reference helps practitioners quickly diagnose common skin disorders and determine appropriate treatment options. More than 900 full-color photographs—enlarged for greater clarity in this edition—speed diagnosis by showing the distinguishing characteristics of each disorder and providing clear comparisons between similar looking conditions. The book also includes formulary tables of leading topical and systemic agents by generic and brand name; patient handouts in English and Spanish; and step-by-step descriptions of basic dermatologic procedures. The Third Edition features many new photographs, updated treatment sections, a new chapter on pediatric and geriatric dermatology, and many more patient handouts. The appendix on brand names of dermatologic medications in various countries now includes India and Canada. A companion Website will offer customizable English and Spanish patient handouts, an image bank complete with additional images, and the fully searchable text.
Call Number: RL74 .G66 2009
Diseases Affecting Multiple Systems
Online From CCBC Libraries
Communicable Diseases by
Completely updated and revised, and now published in its sixth edition, this best-selling text has provided an essential overview of the subject for almost 25 years. A comprehensive yet synoptic account of communicable diseases, it covers theory, epidemiology and control, then systematically groups diseases by their main means of transmission. There are special chapters on infections in pregnancy and the concern of new and emerging diseases, and an annex lists all 353 diseases in an easy reference table. This edition includes updates to all chapters and a new section on melioidosis. It: - Provides information concisely so it can be found at a glance. - Includes numerous clear diagrams, bullet points and tables for rapid review and learning. - Contains a new full-colour internal design and online lecture slides to facilitate teaching. Communicable Diseases continues to provide an essential resource for doctors, medical students and all those in public health, and for healthcare workers needing a comprehensive yet concise practical text.
ISBN: 9781786395245Publication Date: 2019
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Designed primarily for use by high school students and young adults in the general population seeking authoritative health information, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. is the revised and updated edition of Charles Scribnerâ??s Sonsâ?? well received Human Diseases and Conditions (2009). Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions. This edition includes nearly 75 new and 360 completely reviewed and revised articles. The topics covered include infectious diseases, many cancers, chronic and acute physical and psychological conditions, newly emerging and reemerging diseases, public health issues, and issues of interest to the young adult audience (eating disorders, sports injuries, growth, and puberty). Behavioral health is covered as thoroughly as physical health. In addition, the comprehensiveness of 425 photos, informative illustrations, and charts thoroughly enhances the already-rich textual information. A glossary of key terms, bibliography, list of organizations, and a comprehensive two-level subject index is also included.
Publication Date: 2016
Chronic Diseases by
This comprehensive two-volume work provides an overview of an area of growing concern, offering readers a one-stop resource for researching the chronic conditions that increasingly plague our society.Chronic diseases and their consequences are among the foremost problems faced by the U.S. health care system, accounting for untold distress and mounting personal and societal costs. Bringing together an unprecedented array of detailed data and facts, this unique two-volume encyclopedia provides information that will help readers understand what they can do to avoid these diseases, as well as how to best manage chronic conditions that may affect them or their families.Designed for high school, public, and university libraries, this three-volume set covers an extensive range of disorders, including diabetes, cancer, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, arthritis, osteoporosis, kidney disease, Alzheimer's disease, HIV/AIDS, and hepatitis. Depression and anxiety are covered, as are violence and injury, drug use and abuse, and tobacco as a health hazard. Much more than just a list of diseases, this encyclopedia enables readers to easily research terminology, symptoms, methods of diagnosis, medical treatments and alternative medicine, risk factors, associated conditions, and preventive approaches. The work is consistent with Healthy People 2010 national goals and objectives and with National Health Education Standards.
Publication Date: 2016
Human Anatomy Atlas
- Visible Body
(Sign-up required for access.) A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. PC version as well as mobile app available.
APA Format
- APA 7
Handouts and tutorials to help with APA citation format
Contact Us!
Diseases, Disorders, and Injuries of the Skeletal System
- Diseases of the Bone
From National Library of Medicine - Bone Diseases
from Medline Plus
Online From CCBC Libraries
Photographic Regional Atlas of Bone Disease by
The Photographic Regional Atlas of Bone Disease is intended to serve the needs of a diverse audience including paleopathologists, physical anthropologists and other anthropologists, police, crime scene technicians, medical examiners, radiologists, anatomists, and other medical specialists, regardless of training or experience. Although originally written as a manual for physical anthropologists, it has become a reference for anyone examining skeletal remains or dealing with bone disease, especially in dry-bone specimens. Over the years it has gained in popularity as one of the few OC requiredOCO manuals in most skeletal laboratories throughout the U.S. and, in fact, many countries. The purpose of the book is to bridge the gap between clinical medicine, radiology and physical anthropology by providing researchers with a single source and photographic atlas of what they might encounter in one bone or an entire skeletal collection, regardless of antiquity or origin. Unlike most texts written by clinicians for clinicians, or those that focus on one specialty, the Regional Atlas was compiled by biological anthropologists using a OC dry bonesOCO approach and simple yet precise terminology, based on examination of nearly 10,000 skeletons. The authorsOCO expertise and diversity in anatomy, radiology, pathology and human variation provide them with a unique perspective for distinguishing normal variation from pathological conditions. The book was written as a basic stand-alone reference for bone disease and normal variation. It contains black and white photographs and an extensive use of color plates depicting a variety of disease conditions and stages of progression that one might expect to encounter in one or many skeletons. The purpose of this text is to provide readers with sufficient information on bone disease and human variation for them to recognize, describe and interpret them. Once they have identified a disease, normal variant or other condition, they can turn to the bibliography for references and additional information. The Regional Atlas is intended to provide readers with enough information to do their own skeletal analysis. It is this OC dry bonesOCO approach, combined with the vast experiences of the authors, vivid photos and simple terminology, that sets the Regional Atlas apart from all others."
Publication Date: 2013
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Encyclopedia of the Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders by
According to the Centers for Disease Control, approximately 70 million Americans suffer from arthritis or chronic joint pain and an estimated 20 million seek chiropractic help each year in search of relief from muscle pain or realignment of their skeleton. In an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format, ""The Encyclopedia of Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders"" provides more than 500 concise entries covering all aspects of muscle and bone in the human body. Complete, comprehensive coverage includes anatomy, metabolic processes, injuries, diseases and disorders, treatments, medicines, nutrition, current research, and much more.
Call Number: RC925.5 .S29 2005
World Health Organization Fact Sheets
Databases
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Articles on biomedical and health topics used by health care professionals.
- Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Articles about nursing, allied health, occupational and physical therapy,
diagnostic imaging, nutrition, and dental hygiene. - Ovid Nursing Journals and eBooks
Articles and ebooks on nursing topics including Nursing Made Incredibly Easy.
- PubMed
Citations and abstracts from life science journals and online books, increasingly available for full-text. Use for advanced research.
Diseases, Disorders, and Injuries of the Muscular System
- Types of Muscular Dystrophy and Neuromuscular Diseases
from Johns Hopkins Medicine - Muscle Disordersfrom MedlinePlus
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
- The Encyclopedia of the Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders by
According to the Centers for Disease Control, approximately 70 million Americans suffer from arthritis or chronic joint pain and an estimated 20 million seek chiropractic help each year in search of relief from muscle pain or realignment of their skeleton. In an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format, ""The Encyclopedia of Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders"" provides more than 500 concise entries covering all aspects of muscle and bone in the human body. Complete, comprehensive coverage includes anatomy, metabolic processes, injuries, diseases and disorders, treatments, medicines, nutrition, current research, and much more.
Call Number: RC925.5 .S29 2005
Global Health Care
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Global Health Care by
Global Health Care: Issues and Policies, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive resource for nursing students focused on critical and timely global health topics. Written by academic authors, scientists and health practitioners, the Fourth Edition provides students with a foundational knowledge of health policy issues from various geographical regions. The goal of this text is to impart a well-rounded perspective to how certain areas around the globe are oftentimes significantly impacted by world events. * New coverage of global infectious diseases and non-communicable diseases* Zika virus and the World Health Organization's fight against Ebola in the Congo* New chapter on Native American health issues* New content on global neurological health issues with specific coverage of pain management * Overview of the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals * Expanded content on child maltreatment and abuse * Updated content on Occupational health
Call Number: RA441 .G573 2022
The Health Gap by
In this groundbreaking book, Michael Marmot, president of the World Medical Association, reveals social injustice to be the greatest threat to global health In Baltimore's inner-city neighborhood of Upton/Druid Heights, a man's life expectancy is sixty-three; not far away, in the Greater Roland Park/Poplar neighborhood, life expectancy is eighty-three. The same twenty-year avoidable disparity exists in the Calton and Lenzie neighborhoods of Glasgow, and in other cities around the world. In Sierra Leone, one in 21 fifteen-year-old women will die in her fertile years of a maternal-related cause; in Italy, the figure is one in 17,100; but in the United States, which spends more on healthcare than any other country in the world, it is one in 1,800 (and now, with the new administration chipping away at Obamacare, the statistics stand to grow even more devastating). Why? Dramatic differences in health are not a simple matter of rich and poor; poverty alone doesn't drive ill health, but inequality does. Indeed, suicide, heart disease, lung disease, obesity, and diabetes, for example, are all linked to social disadvantage. In every country, people at relative social disadvantage suffer health disadvantage and shorter lives. Within countries, the higher the social status of individuals, the better their health. These health inequalities defy the usual explanations. Conventional approaches to improving health have emphasized access to technical solutions and changes in the behavior of individuals, but these methods only go so far. What really makes a difference is creating the conditions for people to have control over their lives, to have the power to live as they want. Empowerment is the key to reducing health inequality and thereby improving the health of everyone. Marmot emphasizes that the rate of illness of a society as a whole determines how well it functions; the greater the health inequity, the greater the dysfunction. Marmot underscores that we have the tools and resources materially to improve levels of health for individuals and societies around the world, and that to not do so would be a form of injustice. Citing powerful examples and startling statistics ("young men in the U.S. have less chance of surviving to sixty than young men in forty-nine other countries"), The Health Gap presents compelling evidence for a radical change in the way we think about health and indeed society, and inspires us to address the societal imbalances in power, money, and resources that work against health equity.
Call Number: RA418 .M36 2015
Reimagining Global Health by
Bringing together the experience, perspective and expertise of Paul Farmer, Jim Yong Kim, and Arthur Kleinman, Reimagining Global Health provides an original, compelling introduction to the field of global health. Drawn from a Harvard course developed by their student Matthew Basilico, this work provides an accessible and engaging framework for the study of global health. Insisting on an approach that is historically deep and geographically broad, the authors underline the importance of a transdisciplinary approach, and offer a highly readable distillation of several historical and ethnographic perspectives of contemporary global health problems. The case studies presented throughout Reimagining Global Health bring together ethnographic, theoretical, and historical perspectives into a wholly new and exciting investigation of global health. The interdisciplinary approach outlined in this text should prove useful not only in schools of public health, nursing, and medicine, but also in undergraduate and graduate classes in anthropology, sociology, political economy, and history, among others.
Call Number: RA418 .R424 2013
Online From CCBC Libraries
Global Public Health and Disease Control, 1st Ed by
Omnigraphics' Health Reference Series is designed for the general reader seeking guidance on how to avoid serious illness by following preventive lifestyles and recognizing early warning signs. It also supports the layperson who has received a diagnosis of a serious disease or disorder as well as the family member or nonprofessional caregiver who must learn to care and to cope with the illness. Each volume in the series deals comprehensively with a particular area of medical concern and contains material found in publications issued try the National Institutes of Health and other agencies and associations. Nowhere else can general readers find this information conveniently collected, coordinated, and indexed in book form. Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook. First Edition Global health plays an increasingly crucial role in global security. Since the globalization of worldwide economies is on the rise, including extensive international travel and commerce, it is necessary to think about health in a global context Rarely a week goes by without a headline about the emergence or reemergence of an infectious disease or other health threat somewhere in the world. Globally, the rate of deaths from noncommunicable causes, such as heart disease, stroke, and injuries, is growing. At the same time, the number of deaths from infectious diseases, such as malaria, and vaccine-preventable diseases, is decreasing. Rapid identification and control of emerging infectious diseases help promote health abroad and prevent the international spread of disease. From 2?5-2019. the number of cases of drug-resistant tuberculosis worldwide increased, and malaria cases declined just 2 percent compared to 27 percent in the preceding 15 years. Health experts project that by 2040, noncommunicable diseases could cause 80 percent of deaths in tow-income countries, up from 25 percent in 1990. The world community is finding better ways to confront major health threats. All these issues will require enhanced collaboration between all the countries to protect and promote better health for all. Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook, First Edition gives an overview on what is global health and its threats and challenges of the 21st century, including the impact of population aging: major infectious diseases that affect global health such as pneumonia, influenza, Ebola, Zika, and COVID-19; and the rapid increase in noncommunicable chronic diseases (NCDs). The book also examines the determinants of public health, such as socioeconomic factors and environmental health, and the importance of sustainable development for achieving global health goals. In addition, information about public-health promotion, disease prevention, and emergency preparedness are explained, along with a glossary of related terms and a directory of organizations that provide information about global health. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2021
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues by
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues (WGHMI) is written for students and educators in high schools, community colleges, and four-year colleges, as well as interested laypeople. It covers current health and medicine issues with global impact in the modern world and organizations and groups addressing these issues. The 90 entries in the 2-volume set each give a 360 degree view of the topic covered. Many entries include primary source documents to provide deeper insight. Entries have short sidebars highlighting pertinent ancillary information, such as brief biographies on key figures, interesting facts or side stories. Each entry contains photographs, maps, tables, and illustrations to enhance understanding of the text. WGHMI also includes an introductory essay, an essay on how to use primary sources, a timeline of the events covered in the set, a glossary, a general bibliography; an annotated list of organizations and advocacy groups; and a general index.
Publication Date: 2015
Health Care Systems Around the World by
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country: 1. Emergency Health Services; 2. Costs of Hospitalization; 3. Costs of Drugs; 4. Major Health Issues; 5. Government Role in Health Care; 6. Insurance; 7. Access to Health Care; 8. Health Care Facilities; 9. Health Care Personnel (doctor level of training, etc.); and 10. Public Health Programs. The volume is organized in alphabetical order of country names. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country. For example, a reader may compare costs of drugs in France versus the United States versus Canada. Each country spread will feature short entries on the ten health care categories accompanied by charts, table, and photos as appropriate. The work culminates as a unique and essential resource for pre-med and medical students, as well as researchers in sociology, economics, and the health management fields.
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Publication Date: 2003
Countries
- World Health OrganizationIncludes news, data, statistics, and cooperation strategies concerning disease in different countries and regions.
