Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology: BIOL 100 Library Sessions

A guide to help with biological research

Welcome to the BIOL 100 Library Session Guide!

Make sure to review all the materials before coming to each of the library sessions. If you have any questions please contact your instructor, Professor Minkovsky, or your Librarian, Jamie Witman, jwitman@ccbcmd.edu.

Instructions - Session 1

For the first session in the library, we'll review the basis of scientific literacy - why it is so important and how you can become more science literate. This includes search techniques for starting your background research with Wikipedia and Google and using the library's SmartSearch and databases.

We'll also review how to evaluate those sources once you find them. Follow the links below to review all the tutorials.

How to be Science Literate


If you want to view the Four Moves and a Habit page separately click here:

four moves and a habit preview screen and link

https://spark.adobe.com/page/ntEih1GLYrwa9/

Take a look at how to use Wikipedia and Google to get started with your background research - the first step to starting research!

 

preview of wiki google tutorial


Review SmartSearch and the other library databases to get ready for searching in the library instruction session.

smartsearch and other databases preview link

Instructions - Session 2

For the second session in the library you'll be working on your annotated bibliography. In order to create an annotated bibliography, you need your sources, how to cite them, and your reflections and evaluations on each source.

Below are a few activities to help you get prepared to create your annotated bibliographies. First go through the APA 7 Citation tutorial so you can see how to correctly create citations in APA. Also review the Academic Integrity and Plagiarism videos.

Then go through the Annotated Bibliography tutorial to see how to write up your evaluations and reflections.

APA 7 Citations

preview image for apa 7 tutorial

Academic Integrity and Plagiarism

click image to play academic integrity video

click image to play video on plagiarism

Annotated Bibliography Tutorial

annotated bibliography tutorial preview screen