Library Databases
Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.
Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.
The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.
To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases
Help!
Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:
Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425
Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720
You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and scholarly essays, historical newspaper articles, primary sources, and timelines you can use for African American topics.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Primary source articles covering the politics, society and events of the time period 1837 - 1992.
- U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States. - History Research This link opens in a new window
Primary documents as well as essays about historical topics and people.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology topics including criminal justice, gender studies, racial studies, social services, and social work.
Google Scholar
Off Campus Access
To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access
Finding Articles
During your college career your instructors will expect you to find "scholarly" articles. What does that mean? It means that now that you are in college you need to use academic resources for your papers and projects.
Try this "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" for more information on how to identify a scholarly article.
Scholarly resources have been reviewed by experts to see if they are worthwhile or not.
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
Plus it is always important to evaluate those resources that you do find. Everything is not equally great. You need to use only the best sources for your paper--the better the sources the better the paper, and the easier to write too!