Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Books and eBooks
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Emotional Life of the Great Depression by The Emotional Life of the Great Depression documents how Americans responded emotionally to the crisis of the Great Depression. Unlike most books about the 1930s, which focus almost exclusively on the despair of the American people during the decade, this volume explores the 1930s throughother, equally essential emotions: righteousness, panic, fear, awe, love, and hope.In expanding the canon of Great Depression emotions, the book draws on an eclectic archive of sources, including the ravings of a would-be presidential assassin, stock market investment handbooks, a Cleveland serial murder case, Jesse Owens's record-setting long jump at the 1936 Berlin Olympics,King Edward VIII's abdication from his throne to marry a twice-divorced American woman, and the founding of Alcoholics Anonymous. In concert with these, it offers new readings of the imaginative literature of the period, from obscure Christian apocalyptic novels and H.P. Lovecraft short stories toclassics like John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath and Richard Wright's Native Son. The result is a new take on the Great Depression, one that emphasizes its major events (the stock market crash, unemployment, the passage of the Social Security Act) but also, and perhaps even more so, itssensibilities, its structures of feeling.
Call Number: E801 .M37 2019
A Square Meal by James Beard Foundation Book Award Winner From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced--the Great Depression--and how it transformed America's culinary culture. The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country's political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats. Before 1929, America's relationship with food was defined by abundance. But the collapse of the economy, in both urban and rural America, left a quarter of all Americans out of work and undernourished--shattering long-held assumptions about the limitlessness of the national larder. In 1933, as women struggled to feed their families, President Roosevelt reversed long-standing biases toward government-sponsored "food charity." For the first time in American history, the federal government assumed, for a while, responsibility for feeding its citizens. The effects were widespread. Championed by Eleanor Roosevelt, "home economists" who had long fought to bring science into the kitchen rose to national stature. Tapping into America's long-standing ambivalence toward culinary enjoyment, they imposed their vision of a sturdy, utilitarian cuisine on the American dinner table. Through the Bureau of Home Economics, these women led a sweeping campaign to instill dietary recommendations, the forerunners of today's Dietary Guidelines for Americans. At the same time, rising food conglomerates introduced packaged and processed foods that gave rise to a new American cuisine based on speed and convenience. This movement toward a homogenized national cuisine sparked a revival of American regional cooking. In the ensuing decades, the tension between local traditions and culinary science has defined our national cuisine--a battle that continues today. A Square Meal examines the impact of economic contraction and environmental disaster on how Americans ate then--and the lessons and insights those experiences may hold for us today. A Square Meal features 25 black-and-white photographs.
Call Number: TX715 .Z54 2016
Crash! by Speculation--an economic reality for centuries--is a hallmark of the modern U.S. economy. But how does speculation work? Is it really caused, as some insist, by popular delusions and the madness of crowds, or do failed regulations play a greater part? And why is it that investors never seem to learn the lessons of past speculative bubbles? Crash! explores these questions by examining the rise and fall of the American economy in the 1920s. Phillip G. Payne frames the story of the 1929 stock market crash within the booming New Era economy of the 1920s and the bust of the Great Depression. Taking into account the emotional drivers of the consumer market, he offers a clear, concise explanation of speculation's complex role in creating one of the greatest financial panics in U. S. history. Crash! explains how postWorld War I changes in the global financial markets transformed the world economy, examines the role of boosters and politicians in promoting speculation, and describes in detail the disastrous aftermath of the 1929 panic. Payne's book will help students recognize the telltale signs of bubbles and busts, so that they may become savvier consumers and investors.
Call Number: HC106.3 .P3517 2015
The Great Depression and New Deal by The political ideas that resulted from confronting the crisis of the Great Depression and the New Deal of the early 20th century reshaped America. This documentary history collects a range of primary sources to illuminate this critical period in U.S. history. This accessibly written work provides a wide range of primary documents, offering American history students and teachers alike a handy reference volume that examines all important aspects of the Great Depression and New Deal_a core curriculum topic. By modeling how an expert scholar interacts with primary sources, the book enables readers to pick apart and critically evaluate firsthand the key documents chronicling this major American movement. The book leads with an introductory essay that outlines the scope of the volume, explains how the primary documents were selected, and identifies thematic trends and controversies. Annotations by scholars translate difficult passages into language that is easily comprehensible to modern readers and compare key passages throughout, encouraging the reader to cross-reference documents within the volume and connect the dots between them. Readers will be able to interpret the flow of events during the Great Depression, assess the legislative and executive actions that attempted to deal with the economic crisis, and perceive the differences between the fiscal ideas of Presidents Hoover and Roosevelt. Presents documents illustrating the Great Depression crisis and the New Deal response that enables readers to witness the clash of conservatism and liberalism in a time of crisis Offers essays and notes that explain the documents_which include posters, articles, speeches, and court decisions_in the context of historical events Provides a timeline that creates a background setting for a documentary history Contrasts the ideas and actions of President Hoover against those of President Roosevelt
Call Number: E806 .D543 2014
The WPA--Putting America to Work by Provides a detailed account of the Works Progress Administration (WPA), the centerpiece of the New Deal programs put in place by President Franklin D. Roosevelt to tame the Great Depression and get America back on its feet. Includes biographies, primary sources, and more.
Call Number: HD5713.6.U54 H54 2014
The Great Depression
From the collapse of the stock market on October 29, 1929—Black Tuesday—to the many federal initiatives designed to revive the faltering U.S. economy, this program offers an insightful overview of life during the Great Depression. The presidential administrations of Herbert Hoover and FDR; the New Deals and their effects on labor, conservation, and cultural life; the Dust Bowl; and the Hawley-Smoot Tariff Act are discussed.
On October 29th, 1929, the boom era of the Jazz Age came to a crashing halt on Wall Street. The dramatic effects of the Great Depression and New Deal are the main topics of this program. Despite the country’s economic collapse, major public works projects such as the Hoover Dam offered proof of the industrial and technological might of the United States—and of the undeniable abilities of the American worker. Distributed by A&E Television Networks. Part of the series America: The Story of Us.
Online From CCBC Libraries
The Great Depression and the New Deal by Intended for AP-focused American history high school students, this book supplies a complete quick reference source and study aide on the Great Depression and New Deal in America, covering the key themes, events, people, legislation, economics, and policies. The Great Depression and the New Deal remain key topics in American History that come up often as testing subject material. This book--comprising an introduction, encyclopedic A-Z entries, a chronology, thematic tagging, more than a dozen primary sources, Advanced Placement (AP) exam resources, and a bibliography--provides a complete resource for studying the themes, events, people, legislation, economics, and policy of the Great Depression and New Deal in America. It is ideally suited as a study resource for high school students studying to take the AP U.S. history course as well as undergraduates taking an introductory U.S. History survey course. The Great Depression and the New Deal: Key Themes and Documents supplies an easy-to-use guide to the central concepts, themes, and events of a pivotal era in American history that presents the Great Depression and New Deal in 10 thematic categories. While the focus of this book is on the AP course content itself rather than on the exam, it also features exam preparation-specific content, such as a sample documents-based essay question, a list of "Top Tips" for answering documents-based essay questions, and period-specific learning objectives that are in alignment with the new fall 2014 AP U.S. History curriculum framework. Represents an invaluable reference source for a key period of American history that is an integral part of the AP U.S. History curriculum Presents 15 primary documents accompanied by introductions that place them in their proper historical context Provides thematic tagging of encyclopedic entries, period chronology, and primary documents for ease of reference Includes a Historical Thinking Skills section based on AP U.S. History course learning objectives
Publication Date: 2017
The Great Depression by The event that defined the 1930s in the United States came before it started. On October 29, "Black Tuesday," stock-market investors lost more than $30 billion in the Great Crash. The ten-year Great Depression that followed was not the product of a single day or week. Nonetheless, it came as a shock to the American people and to the man they looked to for relief: President Herbert Hoover.Soon, as banks failed, mortgages were foreclosed, and unemployment soared, bread lines formed throughout the country in grim testimony to the state of the economy. The policies of Hoover and then Franklin Delano Roosevelt's New Deal started a long road to relief, recovery, and reform.Here, from the respected historian Edmund O. Stillman, are the stories of The Great Depression, the 1930s, and an American people defined by their resilience in the face of debilitating despair.
Publication Date: 2015
America in the Thirties by In this new addition to the America in the Twentieth Century series, Sullivan and others present a detailed look into life in America during the 1930s. Beginning with the events leading up to The Great Depression, America in the Thirties presents the themes and events that shaped America during this decade. President Roosevelt's New Deal, the Dust Bowl and life during the Great Depression, domestic life, and America's foreign policy are some of the many issued covered in this highly readable, concise manuscript. Throughout the text, the authors also provide commentary on the role of various societal groups such as women, immigrants, African Americans, Asian Americans, Native Americans, and Latino Americans. The America in the Twentieth Century series presents the major economic, political, social, and cultural milestones of the decades of the twentieth century. Each decade is treated in individual books: thus far, books focusing on 1920s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s and 1970s have been published. This latest addition to the series, focusing on the tumultuous 1930s, will provide logical links to the previously published books in the series.
Publication Date: 2014
When Government Helped by The global financial crisis of 2007-2008 was the most severe since The Great Depression. This book is a methodical evaluation of the parallels between the Great Depression and the 2007-2008 global economic meltdown. Although many books have been written on this topic, the unique aspect of thisbook is the analysis of the positive and negative lessons for contemporary policy-making of the New Deal response to the crisis, through viewing both the New Deal and recent economic crisis as a combination with the current environmental crises. It also will assess the politics of the market and theregulatory failures by helping readers better understand the structure of these crises and the constitutional reforms proposed to mollify them.This book offers new perspectives on comparisons of the intersection of economic and environmental crises of these two periods. Integrating a unique blend of disciplines, it plans to demonstrate some possible ways of escaping our malaise, approaches that were begun but never fulfilled in the 1930s,that were raised as possibilities by popular movements but never allowed onto the political agenda, or approaches that were simply unforeseen in an earlier era. Thus, the book presents a set of guideposts, some beneficial, some cautionary, for the future.
Publication Date: 2013