It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Transportation, Distribution and Logistics: Supply Chain & Logistics
Enterprise Supply Chain Management by Vivek SehgalENTERPRISE SUPPLYCHAIN MANAGEMENT Integrating Best-in-Class Processes Is supply chain management all about forecasting? Or is it just a warehousing and transportation function? Demystifying the mystery supply chain management is for many, Enterprise Supply Chain Management: Integrating Best-in-Class Processes offers a comprehensive look at the role of this field within your own organization. Written by industry leader Vivek Sehgal, this book invites you to evaluate your current supply chain practices and leverage its best in class concepts to your own challenges. Drawing from the author's abundant research and analysis, this resourceful book shows how to manage a supply chain across an enterprise, encompassing technological, financial, procurement, and operational issues. You will find in this book a thoroughly functional view of supply chain, so you can readily understand the meaning of processes and where they fit into your company's big picture. This essential book covers: A primer on supply chain and finance Elements of a supply chain model The scope of the supply chain Demand and supply planning Supply chain network design Transportation and warehouse management Supply chain collaboration Reverse logistics management Supply chain technology Whether you are a business manager, an IT manager, or a supply chain student, if you are looking for more of a comprehensive understanding of what each of the supply chain processes in your organization brings to the table and how each functions as part of the whole, Enterprise Supply Chain Management: Integrating Best-in-Class Processes is for you. Immensely functional on all aspects of supply chain management, this guide clearly explains how each process works and the relationships among them, allowing you to start implementing best-in-class approaches in your organization.
Call Number: eBook HD38.5 .S44 2009
Global Supply Chain Management by Matt DrakeThanks to the development of internet- and network-based information and communication systems, virtually every product and service produced today has a supply chain that extends around the globe. For the last twenty-five years, companies such as Wal-Mart, Dell, and Toyota have enjoyed strong competitive advantages in their respective markets as a result of their world-class supply chains. As the supply chain increasingly lengthens, managers at all levels of the organization must understand the unique challenges of working with suppliers and customers located around the world--and the opportunities that can build new competitive advantages. This book will introduce readers at all levels of experience to cutting-edge methods and strategies for global sourcing and global distribution through the discussion of current research and case study vignettes from companies in every corner of the world.
Call Number: eBook HD38.5 .D724 2012
Global Supply Chain Security by James GiermanskiIn this timely work, James Giermanski describes the advent and development of security operations in the global supply chain, outlining the respective contributions of governmental and nongovernmental stakeholders to this worldwide concern. Global Supply Chain Security explores the potential impact of port-related catastrophic events in the United States and their effects worldwide, concentrating, in particular, on the United States' contribution to global container security. Offering insights on deficiencies in U.S. policies, Giermanski underscores the vulnerabilities in the supply chain that U.S. government agencies have ignored, avoided, and even denied. Global Supply Chain Security treats both the terrestrial and maritime borders of the United States, reserving for special analysis the threat to the nation's southern border of hazardous materials or materials in transshipment or in-bond, as well as the questionable leadership exhibited by the Department of Homeland Security in its diagnosis and treatment of these threats. Finally, Giermanski covers the important role played by the private sector and the off-the-shelf, innovative products that have been introduced to supply chain management and security.
Call Number: HE199.A2 G54 2013
Green Supply Chain Management by Joseph SarkisThis monograph focuses on the issues facing sustainability in supply chains. Specifically it provides an overview of green supply chain management (GSCM) and the management of technology within this context. The topics include the operational and technological activities and characteristics of GSCM management. Organizational greening activities that play a role in GSCM operations are presented. The monograph also provides functional activities of the GSCM which include supplier management, internal operations management, logistics, and reverse logistics issues. Managerial considerations related to planning, justifying, and implementing GSCM and the respective technologies provide some insights into management decisions that will be faced in this environment. The references and bibliography provide a dozens of additional readings for those interested in this emergent and complex issue.
Call Number: eBook HD38.5 .S274 2014
Managing Commodity Price Risk by George A. ZsidisinEvery business is exposed to financial risk stemming from commodity price volatility. Risk exposure may be direct from the prices paid for raw materials needed for operations or indirect from higher energy and transportation costs. The purpose of this book is to provide an approach that organizations can implement to manage commodity price volatility and reduce their exposure to financial risk. This topic is important for current and future supply chain professionals due to the significant direct financial effects that price volatility has on profitability, organizational cash flow, the ability to competitively price products, new product design, buyer-supplier relationships, and effective negotiating.
Call Number: eBook HD38.5 .Z755 2012
Supply Chain Planning by Matthew J. Liberatore; Tan MillerIn todayOCOs competitive global economy, a firmOCOs market position and bottom-line financial performance is closely linked to its supply chain performance. All too often considerable managerial resources are directed toward planning activities and processes with little in the way of tangible results and outcomes. What supply chain executives require is the know-how to efficiently and effectively direct their planning activities so that the results lead to better business decisions from the long-term down to day-to-day operations. In this book, the authors present proven, practical management frameworks and techniques to support supply chain operations management and planning in private industry. These frameworks describe supply chain strategic planning and project selection techniques, integrated manufacturingOCodistribution planning and scheduling approaches, performance measurement and balanced scorecard methodologies, customer logistics and inventory deployment decision support systems, and other well-tested management frameworks."
Maritime Logistics by Dong-Wook Song (Editor); Photis Panayides (Editor)Contemporary practice and scientific innovation consider the logistics aspects of shipping or maritime and seaport operations as one of the most important areas for future development of competitive advantages in business and for study and research. This book is the first of its kind, adopting the innovative approach of dealing with the overlap between shipping, ports and logistics and covering the current issues having a significant impact on the industry. It brings together leading authorities in the field to consider for the first time maritime logistics, and in doing so it defines the area, registers its boundaries and contributes to its development. Contributions cover holistically a broad range of major topics at the forefront of practice, research and scholarship in the shipping and port industry in terms of its relevance to logistics management. Topics include: CSR aspects of maritime logistics; green, sustainable and environmental issues in maritime logistics; network development of shipping and ports as major players in the industry; security aspects of maritime logistics and supply chains; IT in maritime logistics; and, supply chain oriented port and its performance.
Call Number: eBook HE571 .M37 2012
Advances in Maritime Logistics and Supply Chain Systems by Ek Peng Chew; Loo Hay Lee; Loon Ching TangThis timely book discusses the recent developments in maritime logistics, an important specialized area for the global economy. It includes issues such as the recent economic crisis, port competition and development, and provides insights and trends relating to these issues. Consisting of renowned researchers worldwide, the primary objective of the book identifies some of the new problems and challenges faced and innovative solutions to address these problems.
Call Number: eBook HE571 .A363 2011
Ports, Cities, and Global Supply Chains by James Wang (Editor); Daniel Olivier (Editor); Theo Notteboom (Editor); Brian Slack (Editor)Global trends in policy and technology related fields are rapidly reshaping the port industry worldwide. International in scope, this volume provides multidisciplinary insights into the role port cities adopt in dealing with global supply chains. Throughout the book, concepts of strategic management, supply chain management, port and transport economics and economic and transport geography are applied to offer an in-depth understanding of the processes underlying global supply chains and associated spatial and functional dynamics in port-cities. The book also discusses policy outcomes and implications relevant to port-cities positioned in different segments of global supply chains.