On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
-
Asian Americans
by
"Compared to many existing texts on this subject, which tend to take a rather historical approach, this book focuses on more contemporary Asian experiences. Thus, Min has provided a new tool for those of use who have looked for adequate material to teach current Asian American trends in advanced undergraduate courses in the sociology of race as well as in ethnic studies. Encompassing a variety of perspectives from prominent scholars makes this book a valuable device to examine the less visible aspects of Asian Americans' lives. Students and educators alike would certainly benefit from diligent study of this text." --TEACHING SOCIOLOGY, reviewed October 2006 by Etsuko Maruoka, SUNY-Stony BrookOffering a broad overview of the Asian American experience, Asian Americans provides an accessible resource for all students interested in the expanding and important Asian American population. While historical information is provided for each group, the main focus is on the variables and issues that impact Asian American life today. The scholars who author the chapters look at topics such as labor force participation and economic status, educational achievements, intermarriage, intergroup relations, and settlement patterns. Photo essays help to enhance the presentations.Key Features:Covers the Asian American population as a whole as well as individual ethnic groups, i.e. Korean Americans, Indian Americans, etc. Covers theories as well as providing sociological data to illustrate issues for Asian Americans as a whole and as individual groups. Visual essays on the following topics provide powerful illustrations of the text content. Filipino Americans Japanese Americans Korean Americans Chinese Americans South Asian Americans Southeast Asian Americans Economic Adaptation Second Generation Experiences Updated to not only include information derived from 2000 Census data, but also has a focus on the second generation experience.
Call Number: E184.A75 A84325 2006 -
The Economics of Race in the United States
by
Brendan O'Flaherty brings the tools of economic analysis?incentives, equilibrium, optimization, and more?to bear on contentious issues of race in the United States. In areas ranging from quality of health care and education, to employment opportunities and housing, to levels of wealth and crime, he shows how racial differences among blacks, whites, Hispanics, and Asian Americans remain a powerful determinant in the lives of twenty-first-century Americans. More capacious than standard texts, The Economics of Race in the United States discusses important aspects of history and culture and explores race as a social and biological construct to make a compelling argument for why race must play a major role in economic and public policy. People are not color-blind, and so policies cannot be color-blind either. Because his book addresses many topics, not just a single area such as labor or housing, surprising threads of connection emerge in the course of O'Flaherty's analysis. For example, eliminating discrimination in the workplace will not equalize earnings as long as educational achievement varies by race?and educational achievement will vary by race as long as housing and marriage markets vary by race. No single engine of racial equality in one area of social and economic life is strong enough to pull the entire train by itself. Progress in one place is often constrained by diminishing marginal returns in another. Good policies can make a difference, and only careful analysis can figure out which policies those are.
Call Number: HT1521 .O33 2015 -
Income Inequality
by
This volume focuses on the increasing evidence of income inequality. It analyzes if income inequality is a problem in the U.S., what causes it, how race, gender and ethnicity affect income inequality, and what should be done about it. Essays are arranged in a pro versus con format to provide readers with more than one intelligent viewpoint. Essay sources include Steven J. Markovich, Ariane Hegewisch, Claudia Williams, Signe-Mary McKernan, and Ronald Brownstein.
Call Number: HC110.I5 I477 2016Publication Date: 2015-12-22 -
Reparations
by
Should descendants of slaves be compensated for the suffering their ancestors endured? Should the losing side in a war be forced to pay the victor? When modern-day states confront long-ago atrocities, is acknowledgement and an apology enough? This fascinating examination of reparations offers opinions by leading experts on such past injustices as the Holocaust, the slave trade, the Armenian genocide, the forced relocation of Native Americans, and the Imperial Japanese Army's comfort women. An asset to any library, Reparations takes on the very uncomfortable issue of how governments and individuals can reckon with sins of the past.
Call Number: E185.89.R45 R469 2017Publication Date: 2017-01-01 -
The Wealth Gap
by
Depending on whom you ask, the gap between rich and poor in the United States is widening. Is income inequality in America a cause for concern, or is it, as some experts assert, necessary for a functioning society? What is the government's responsibility in attaining a more equitable distribution of wealth? This well-balanced anthology tackles big questions like "Is the American dream still attainable?" and "How should income inequality be addressed?" with articles from a variety of viewpoints that will help readers understand how we got to this point, what can be done to change things, and potential effects on our future.
Call Number: HC110.I5 W43 2017
Online at CCBC Libraries
-
Chosen Capital
by
At what moments and in what ways did Jews play a central role in American capitalism? "Chosen Capital" addresses this question head-on by exploring Jews' impact on American capitalism as both its architects--through their participation in specific industries--and as its most vocal critics through their support of unionism and radical political movements. Essays are contributed by a stellar list of scholars.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
by
"In more than 1,800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 1,2000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the US and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance, and this work is designed to bring vetted and accessible facts and analysis to experts and students as well as lay readers. "
Publication Date: 2013-02-15 -
Entrepreneurship and Self-Help among Black Americans
by
This long-awaited revision of a classic work traces the unique development of business enterprises and other community organizations among black Americans from before the Civil War to the present.
Publication Date: 1991-01-01 -
Race and Retail
by
Race has long shaped shopping experiences for many Americans. Retail exchanges and establishments have made headlines as flashpoints for conflict not only between blacks and whites, but also between whites, Mexicans, Asian Americans, and a wide variety of other ethnic groups, who have at times found themselves unwelcome at white-owned businesses. Race and Retail documents the extent to which retail establishments, both past and present, have often catered to specific ethnic and racial groups. Using an interdisciplinary approach, the original essays collected here explore selling and buying practices of nonwhite populations around the world and the barriers that shape these habits, such as racial discrimination, food deserts, and gentrification. The contributors highlight more contemporary issues by raising questions about how race informs business owners' ideas about consumer demand, resulting in substandard quality and higher prices for minorities than in predominantly white neighborhoods. In a wide-ranging exploration of the subject, they also address revitalization and gentrification in South Korean and Latino neighborhoods in California, Arab and Turkish coffeehouses and hookah lounges in South Paterson, New Jersey, and tourist capoeira consumption in Brazil. Race and Retail illuminates the complex play of forces at work in racialized retail markets and the everyday impact of those forces on minority consumers. The essays demonstrate how past practice remains in force in subtle and not-so-subtle ways.
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
-
Arts & Humanities Database
Articles on arts including visual arts, architecture, design, music, literature, and theatre,
and humanities including history, philosophy, and cultural studies. -
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about humanities topics like arts, history, language, law, literature, philosophy, and politics.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, images, and primary sources about many subjects.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
-
Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.