Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.
Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.
The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.
To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases
Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:
Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720
You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
Articles on early childhood, primary, secondary, and higher education, and multilingual education, and health education.
Articles on primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Articles on nursing and allied health.
Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
Suggested Subject Headings
To get you started here are some Subject words associated with American Sign Language:
- American Sign Language
- Deaf or Deafness
- Deaf--Means of Communication
- Deaf Culture
- Deaf Education
- Hearing Impaired
- Interpreters for the Deaf
- Sign Language
- Visible Speech
To find more specific aspects of ASL, combine terms to search. For example:
- "american sign language" AND communication
- "american sign language" AND children AND deaf
- "american sign language" AND education AND deaf
- "american sign language" AND history
In order to search for a phrase--put that phrase in quotation marks.
- American Annals of the Deaf
- Deafness & Education International
- Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
- Sign Language Studies
- Volta Review
Off Campus Access
To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access
During your college career your instructors will expect you to find "scholarly" articles. What does that mean? It means that now that you are in college you need to use academic resources for your papers and projects.
Try this "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" for more information on how to identify a scholarly article.
Scholarly resources have been reviewed by experts to see if they are worthwhile or not.
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
Plus it is always important to evaluate those resources that you do find. Everything is not equally great. You need to use only the best sources for your paper--the better the sources the better the paper, and the easier to write too!