Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
"If the video does not appear, please log into Blackboard."
First Invasion: The War of 1812
Just 30 years after the closing days of the American Revolution, an immature United States faced annihilation by its parent.
Arts & Humanities Database
Articles on arts like visual arts, architecture, design, music, literature, and theatre,
and humanities like history, philosophy, and cultural studies.
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical articles about people in the news, arts, literature, sports, and history.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Primary documents as well as essays about historical topics and people.
Articles about many topics for more advanced research.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Articles and scholarly essays, historical newspaper articles, primary sources, and timelines you can use for African American topics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Sun
Primary source articles covering the politics, society and events of the time period 1837 - 1992.
Salem Press eBooks
Books on topics including literature, health and medicine, science, careers, and history to start your research. You can use an essay from a book on your topic.
U.S. History in Context
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States.
War of 1812 Websites
A Guide to the War of 1812 - Library of Congress Primary Documents
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the War of 1812, including manuscripts, broadsides, pictures, and government documents
Includes information on the flag, a quizz, interactive flag, the song and more from the Smithosonian.
War of 1812 - Smithsonian
America went to war against Great Britain to assert its rights as an independent, sovereign nation. Includes videos, images of artifacts and exhibits.
War of 1812 Web Site
an account of the land engagement fought during the crucial campaign by John Pezzola. Includes army life, battles, weapons, biographies, forts, uniforms and more.
Maryland Historical Society’s Collections of the War of 1812
Here you will see paintings, photographs, manuscripts, decorative arts pieces, lithographs, and more.
MARYLAND IN THE WAR OF 1812
Includes Prelude to War,Chronology of the War, and Maryland citizens during the War. Created by the Maryland State government.