Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.
Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.
The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.
To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases
This is where you will find articles on specific topics in trade publications, scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines. To get the best results, use keyword combinations and phrase searching (" ") - see the box to the right for more tips.
Use this database to search for newspaper articles and other popular sources for current events, consumer information, etc. and other information related to OSHT. This database also contains the International Journal of Occupational Medicine & Environmental Health and Professional Safety.
Academic Search Premier
This database contains many academic and trade publications for research in mechanical engineering and industrial safety, including articles from Applied Occupational & Environmental Hygiene, Occupational Health, Archives of Environmental & Occupational Health, Professional Safety, Toxicology & Industrial Health, American Journal of Public Health, and PS: Preventive Maintenance Monthly.
Use this database to search for health related topics like ergonomics and occupational hygiene.
Business Source Premier
Use this database to find articles on small business issues and company profiles.
Another health article database - a good source for patient safety information, among other health related topics.
How to Read a Scientific Journal Article (that handout from class)
Off Campus Access
To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access
Searching with Keywords
The best strategy for searching databases is to identify your keywords - such as CONSTRUCTION and CRANE and safety, or DRYWALL and DUST and HEALTH. Adding the words safety, health, workplace, industrial, regulations, or general terms to indicate the workplace field such as construction are good anchors to ensure you will pull articles from the right field. Remember to consider synonyms - choose the words that are used by the standard-making organizations.