Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can you decide whether to use a website or not?
Ask yourself the following questions
And then decide if the website is a great resource or not.
How recent is the information?
How recently has the website been updated?
Is it current enough for your topic?
What kind of information is included in the resource?
Does it provide information valuable to your research topic?
Is content of the resource primarily opinion? Is it balanced?
Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
Are there advertisements on the website?
Who is the creator or author? What are their credentials?
Who is the publisher or sponsor? Are they reputable?
What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
Purpose/Point of View
Is this fact or opinion?
Is it biased?
Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?
This site contains maps, literature, documents, books and other relevant material concerning the past, present and future of historic cities.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
From the University of Texas Libraries
Ancient World Mapping Center
The Ancient World Mapping Center promotes cartography, historical geography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, although it also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts.
Internet Archive Text Archive
The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
World History Matters
World History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.
HyperHistory is an expanding scientific project presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, time-lines, and maps.
eHistory is managed by the Department of History at The Ohio State University, in collaboration with the Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching and the OSU Web Media Collective
Internet subject directories can help you find excellent and authoritative websites on all subjects. Internet Public Library is one of the best.
Alternatively, use Google Scholar to find better websites-- it finds relevant work across the world of scholarly research.