Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Research databases are the best way to find journal articles for your assignments. Databases contain thousands of full text articles that range from general research or review articles to very specific subject topics and research studies.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many excellent research databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for occupational therapy.
Hint: You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Use keywords to search for a topic
Do not use questions to search for a topic
Basic things to remember when searching:
- Spell everything correctly.
- Use synonyms and think of other terms to represent the concepts
- Combine main topics with AND (for example: television AND violence)
- Databases are not as intuitive as Google or other search engines.
Databases for Occupational Therapy
Online Journal Finders
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 21,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Google Scholar can help you find journal articles available on the Internet.
Off Campus Access
To access articles in databases when off campus, you will be prompted for your Blackboard Username and Password. For more information, refer to this Remote Access guide.
Journals at Towson University
Occupational Therapy students may use Towson University's Cook Library to find occupational therapy journal articles.
Students must go to the Cook Library. You may not use their databases or access materials off campus.
First check our databases; if we do not own the journal then consult Towson's journal list.
Remember--CCBC librarians will help you to locate materials that we do not own!