Academic Development 101 (ACDV 101)
Is a first-time college experience course designed to familiarize students with the Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC), CCBC academic pathways and programs, and transfer opportunities. The course fosters the development of decision-making skills and learning strategies linked to higher education success. Students explore occupational choices within this environment and develop an educational plan to guide them through their CCBC experience. This course is an orientation requirement for all credit certificate and degree-seeking students who are new to college, and students should take it in their first semester at CCBC.
CCBC Career Services
-
CCBC Career Services
From identifying your career interests to landing a job, CCBC offers an abundance of resources for your journey from student to professional.
Career Services provides career counseling and job search assistance to current and prospective students, alumni, and community members. -
CCBC Career CoachCCBC Career Assessment to learn about yourself and Career Coach will give you career suggestions based on your interests. Browse CCBC programs.
-
Work at CCBCWith excellent benefits, competitive pay, wide-ranging employment opportunities, and an exciting work environment, CCBC may be exactly the employer you’ve been looking for.
Search for SPECIFIC OCCUPATIONS on these Websites
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A U.S. Department of Labor publication, the handbook provides information on all types of careers including working conditions, training, earnings, and outlook. This is the first site to check for career information!
Search for a specific occupation or browse through a list of occupations. -
O*NET OnLine
Use this site to search for skills, educational requirements, and salary information for a variety of occupations. -
LearnHowToBecome.org
Choose your career and find updated information with this interactive website. Each career guide provides career seekers with in-depth data and information curated by experts in their fields. Learn how to nail an interview, find the perfect job, become a manager, transition to a new career and more. -
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Career information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics -
Career Outlook
If you’re interested in being self-employed, BLS data can help. Find out which occupations are projected to have job growth in self-employment from 2016 to 2026. -
Career One Stop
This site "provides national, state and local career information and labor market data." Includes "career tools, career reports, videos, a career resource library," and more.
Research careers using these CCBC Library Databases
-
Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window
-
Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books on topics including literature, health and medicine, science, careers, and history to start your research. You can use an essay from a book on your topic.