Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Nutrition for the Older Adult by
Reorganized and updated with the latest data in the field, the Second Edition of Nutrition for the Older Adult introduces students to the unique nutritional needs of this special population. Designed for the undergraduate, the text covers such important topics as the physiological changes of aging, weight and nutrition problems in older adults, diet and cultural diversity in older adults, macronutrient, mineral, and vitamin requirements for older adults, and much more. With an added emphasis on health promotion, Nutrition for the Older Adult is an essential resource for students in the fields of nutrition, nursing, public health and gerontology. - New full-color design and art program!- Updated content reflects Healthy People 2020, MyPlate for Older Americans, and 2010 Dietary Guidelines- Contains examples with actual patients and nutritional disorders that are seen in the community and clinical settings- Discusses changes that commonly occur naturally with aging, so that it is understood that disease is not a natural consequence of growing old- Presents the diseases that occur often in older adults and includes nutritional elements that may contribute to the problems or are part of the solution to the problems
Call Number: TX361.A3 B47 2016
Childhood Obesity by
Childhood obesity has tripled in the United States since the 1970s, leaving many of America's children vulnerable to long-term physical and mental health issues. In an attempt to understand what is responsible for these swelling statistics, a number of health professionals, school administrators, government officials, and cultural experts have examined the possible culprits. This informative edition explores a number of those perspectives, urging readers to use essays and articles as the basis for further inquiry and individual assessment. This book examines the role of government, the responsibilities of parents, the health care costs of childhood obesity, fast food and food marketing, as well as physical activity as it relates to childhood obesity.
Call Number: RJ399.C6 C47213 2016
Nutrition Care for the Older Adult by
This updated edition carries on the tradition of providing sound and practical guidance for new and experienced practitioners on all aspects of food and nourishment for ageing adults. Whether residing at home, in assisted living or in a nursing facility, older adults have unique nutrition needs. Like the previous edition, this hands-on reference encompasses the total perspective on person-driven nutrition care of older adults, from nutrition and disease states to regulatory compliance in health care settings. Among the many timely updates addressed in this edition are: Strategies for implementing the updated Nutrition Care Process. Understanding and developing systems to implement quality assurance and performance improvement. Changes in Medicare and health-care reform resulting from the Affordable Care Act are addressed. A new section on emergency preparedness - and an important addition that reinforces the need for practitioners to develop a plan for maintaining care during an emergency or disaster.
Call Number: RA999.F65 N88 2016
Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding by
Explaining the practical implications of new discoveries in "life-course biology", Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is an informed resource on factors that affect offspring development. The impact of parental lifestyle and behavioural choices influence not only fetaldevelopment and birth outcomes, but also postnatal development, yet guidance on appropriate diet, behaviour, and exposures during pregnancy is often confusing and contradictory. With accessible explanations of the latest scientific research, and clear summaries and recommendations, this book is avaluable and authoritative guide for all levels of health care providers.The authors provide an overview of the background evidence, highlighting the importance of lifestyle choices prior to and during pregnancy. In-depth discussions of nutritional and lifestyle factors that impact on pregnancy and offspring outcomes are based on the latest research and exploration ofkey scientific studies. Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is a manual offering both scientific and clinical evidence to empower health care providers and ensure they have the information necessary to confidently care for prospective and new parents.
Call Number: RG559 .G58 2015
Nutrition Through the Life Cycle by
As one of the most respected nutrition life cycle texts in the higher education market, NUTRITION THROUGH THE LIFE CYCLE, Fifth Edition uses current research to explain the nutritional foundations necessary for the growth, development, and normal functioning of individuals in each stage of the life span. Filled with resources to guide your study, the Fifth Edition brings clarity to key concepts as well as addresses new research on the roles played by healthful diets, nutrients, gene variants, and nutrient-gene interactions. This text is written by an expert author team, this text benefits from a broad range of normal and clinical nutrition expertise from registered dietitians and researchers, meant to help you understand all the major concepts. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Call Number: QP141 .N88 2014
Streaming Video
- Nutrition for the Older AdultThis program explains what it means to “eat right,” examines the special nutritional requirements of older adults, and considers food-related health concerns that can affect nutritional status later in life. In addition to detailed food and fluid guidelines for healthy living, the following are addressed: nutrient deficiencies common to the aging adult; malnutrition-related conditions such as osteoporosis, anemia, and dehydration; and physical and mental factors that may contribute to an unhealthy decrease in food intake. Ideal for nursing assistants in long-term-care facilities and for home health aides. Designated for 2 contact hours of continuing nursing education. A viewable/printable facilitator's guide is available online. (24 minutes)
ProQuest Central
Online From CCBC Libraries
Pediatric Nutrition by
The new eighth edition of this bestselling AAP policy manual on pediatric nutrition has been significantly updated and includes many new contributing authors. This valuable reference covers how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence. This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition. New in the eighth edition: New chapter on Pediatric Global Nutrition Other chapters have been completely reorganized, based on new information from publications in nutritional science and new evidence based guidelines recommending changes in practice. New policy statement on sugary drinks, and new clinical reports on food insecurity, fruit juice consumption, non-nutritive sweeteners, fish and shellfish consumption, and use of donor human milk for the preterm infant Updated growth charts for preterm infants after birth including BMI.
Publication Date: 2019
Diet Information for Teens by
This print and online resource provides consumer health information for teens on diet, nutrition, weight control, and related medical conditions.
Publication Date: 2016
Childhood Obesity in America by
A century ago, a plump child was considered a healthy child. No longer. An overweight child is now known to be at risk for maladies ranging from asthma to cardiovascular disease, and obesity among American children has reached epidemic proportions. Childhood Obesity in America traces the changes in diagnosis and treatment, as well as popular understanding, of the most serious public health problem facing American children today. Excess weight was once thought to be something children outgrew, or even a safeguard against infectious disease. But by the mid-twentieth century, researchers recognized early obesity as an indicator of lifelong troubles. Debates about its causes and proper treatment multiplied. Over the century, fat children were injected with animal glands, psychoanalyzed, given amphetamines, and sent to fat camp. In recent decades, an emphasis on taking personal responsibility for one's health, combined with commercial interests, has affected the way the public health establishment has responded to childhood obesity--and the stigma fat children face. At variance with this personal emphasis is the realization that societal factors, including fast food, unsafe neighborhoods, and marketing targeted at children, are strongly implicated in weight gain. Activists and the courts are the most recent players in the obesity epidemic's biography. Today, obesity in this age group is seen as a complex condition, with metabolic, endocrine, genetic, psychological, and social elements. Laura Dawes makes a powerful case that understanding the cultural history of a disease is critical to developing effective health policy.
ISBN: 9780674281448Publication Date: 2014
Databases
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
