Library Databases
Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.
Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.
The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.
The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.
To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases
Help!
Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:
Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425
Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720
You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology topics including criminal justice, gender studies, racial studies, social services, and social work.
- Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Articles on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on literary criticism, and biographies of authors from many countries.
Off Campus Access
To search databases and obtain articles off-campus, students must log-in with their library user name and password.
To create a password follow this link: Login To My Library Account
For more information see: Remote Access
Finding Articles
During your college career your instructors will expect you to find "scholarly" articles. What does that mean? It means that now that you are in college you need to use academic resources for your papers and projects.
Try this "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" for more information on how to identify a scholarly article.
Scholarly resources have been reviewed by experts to see if they are worthwhile or not.
Plus it is important to evaluate those resources that you do find. Everything is not equally great. You need to use only the best sources for your paper--the better the sources the better the paper, and the easier to write too!