Research Guides: Hip-Hop: Articles

Library Databases

Research databases are the best way to find quality information for your assignments.

Databases are not websites--they are the official online versions of magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and books.

The thousands of full text articles can be about a specific subject or can be good to start general research on a topic.

The CCBC Library subscribes to many databases. This Guide includes some of the best to use for this subject.

To see all of the databases that we own follow this link: CCBC Databases

Need help finding articles? Call the Library Reference Desk:

Catonsville 443-840-2730
Dundalk 443-840-2592
Essex 443-840-1425

Need technical help?
Call Library Tech Support 443-840-2720

You must allow cookies on your browser for many of these databases.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Hip-hop articles can be found by combining a 3-way database search within Humanities International to include Academic Search Premier and Masterfile Premier. Online access to: Words Beats & Life Journal, Rolling Stone magazine and Hip-Hop Generation magazine. A SmartSearch can also be used.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes article content from Ethnic Newswatch, GenderWatch and coverage on hip-hop topics from various cross-cultural studies publications.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Articles and scholarly essays, historical newspaper articles, primary sources, and timelines you can use for African American topics.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Many articles are available on the history and culture of hip-hop in the United States and globally.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of many scholarly, cross-cultural studies journal articles. Hip-hop issues, topics and concepts are widely covered.

To find articles in databases off campus, log-in with your CCBC user name and password. For more information see: Remote Access